We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Small Place BIG Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Workshop Espresso

Workshop Espresso
500 George Street | Shop RG01A Galleries Victoria, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)
02 9264 8836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 271 Coffee & Tea in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Small Place BIG Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

They say good things come in small packages, The Workshop Espresso must be one of the smallest coffee lunch outlets in the World. Sort of accounts for the long Queues but not just that the coffee is to die for. And then their food menu is amazing Mouth watering presentation and so fresh. Whist it is hard in Australia to find a bad coffee this place makes every other coffee place look second rate. Don't walk by if there is a line it is too good to miss.
Oh, and last but very important the staff are way beyond expectation in their skills, friendliness and cleanliness.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    12
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best coffee frappe in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stopped by Workshop Espresso on a sunny, busy weekday and while it's pretty much just hole in the wall, it was packed with people queuing to be served. The service was really quick and efficient and I didn't have to wait too long for my coffee frappe. The frappe itself was probably the best I've ever had. The coffee tasted extremely fresh and delicious, and blows all other coffee chain frappes out of the water. I wish Sydney wasn't on the other side of the world and I would frequent Workshop Espresso weekly, just for the coffee frappe. Great value for money too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Germione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Loved the coffee, the food and the vibe. Made me feel I was back in Rome. You can either "take way" (or to-go) or sit at a little bar. The staff was amazing efficient and always got the right coffees to the right people The muffins were very tasty. Also had chicken focaccia sandwiches. The cafe marks down remaining food late in afternoon so you know it's fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ERISADIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The best coffee in Sydney.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I haven't eaten here, but it's worth a visit for a decent coffee. I love the vibe here too and the pricing is on par with other places with terrible coffee!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coraliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Decent coffee and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A very popular place with tasty food and a fair cappuccino. Not sure if its popularity is more location based than for exceptional coffee but definitely a great option if you are passing by.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Workshop Espresso also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Workshop Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing