We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - service subpar”

Verde Restaurant + Bar
Ranked #935 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food - service subpar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My third visit to this restaurant. Food was again excellent, nice blend of Italian and Oz style. However, service was clearly subpar and substandard, as I did not qualify as friend of staff. Friends got olives on the table as soon as they got the menu. Friends were informed about the today's special, I was brushed off "not on Fridays". Friends got refills on glasses of wine (not that I would expect this, but it's frustrating if you're the only one left out).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank swiss_global_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    21
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to ear, great device, well priced, lovely food.

Living only a couple of minutes from Verde makes it a great place for dinner with my wife.

Take the time to try it

Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
412 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“The Calabrian Italian in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

At the end of the working year, with Christmas in the sun beckoning, my partner and I decided to take a balmy Friday night out and enjoy dinner at one of our favourite restaurants.
We call and a table was free, good thing we did as upon our arrival around 7.45pm, the place was packed and diners were being sent upstairs or on a wait list.
A new addition to the glass wall was young Marilyn M looking down on us with a sultry pout.
Verde has been a stalwart of Stanley St in East Sydney for many years and Antonio Ruggerino produces top quality seasonal Calabrian dishes which sing of flavour and simple ingredients cooked beautifully.
After the chilled martinis, we shared an antipasti plate of cured meats with some cheese and olives, simple, fresh and very tasty.
Our main dishes, grilled snapper with papadelle pasta and peas and a barramundi fillet with well-crisped skin on a base of green lentils, spinach, celery and parsley were each just delicious. The local recommended Pinot Grigio went down a treat with the fish.
Dessert was one of those deconstructed numbers, described as "crumbled apple" - which turned out to be rich, fruity and with the ice cream, quite scrumptious!
Great all round for an occasion or just a fabulous meal cooked by a chef who loves cooking!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still one of our favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had not been to Verde for over a year but had spoken highly about it since our last visit. So we were interested to see if it had changed. Happily not. It really is a great Italian restaurant. If you want high prices and stuffy service, this place clearly isn't for you. What it is is what Italian food should be all about. Reasonably simple food done very well at reasonable prices. The wine list is also terrific - not huge, but well thought out at reasonable mark ups. Topping it off is the restaurant itself - cosy enough to have atmosphere, open enough to feel airy and welcoming on a summer's night. We love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The decor is good and very appropriate for the type of restaurant. The food is quite average for the price - nothing special. The waitress we had was very good - very pleasant and efficient - kept our glasses topped up. The welcome we got on arrival was a bit cold - "your table is over there"
Its not bad but for the price we paid I would have expected better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Restaurant + Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Verde Restaurant + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing