We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service and Ethics”

The Eight Modern Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #1,391 of 5,943 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $24 - $63
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Ethics”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first time at The Eight and we bought their Groupon Yum Cha deal to try their food, however, we waited for 30 minutes because the waiters kept telling us that the food is on the way when we asked them. Finally we decided to go directly to the cashier to check our order ourselves, and found out that it was not placed, and had to wait another 15 minutes before we were served. The waiters were rude and impatient and ignores your call for service. Given that they forgot our order and our 45 minute wait to be served, we were still expected to pay extra for the tea because the manager's response was, "Everyone buy voucher, very busy everywhere. Must pay for tea".

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    74
    46
    15
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“first class yum cha”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

By any standards this has got to rate amongst Sydney's best Yum Cha eateries, ideally and centrally located in the heart of Sydney close to Chinatown and Central Station and only a few minutes walk to the Queen Victoria Building. The food is professionally prepared and served not to say delicious,the serving generous and the staff very courteous. Wine is a little expensive so stick to beer and soft drinks. Tea is a must. Try the roast duck and pork. The dumplings too are wonderful and prepared in the dining room. All in all well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This restaurant is on the third or fourth floor of Market City in China Town therefore its not that easy to find if you dont know its there. We went with someone who works in the area. This is a very popular restaurant with Chinese families as the place was nearly full. The food is great and reasonably priced. Well worth the effort to find this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GummyShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 970 helpful votes
“The new Yum Cha place to be.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Eight has always been a bit pricey for a Yum Cha House, but its value has been steadily rising. We find ourselves thinking "The Eight" for Yum Cha these days. The food has always been delicious. These days there are plenty of food trolleys so the dishes roll by quickly and smoothly.This place has become the place to be for Yum Cha, so much so that you have to take a ticket and queue up, regardless of what day of the week it is. I always go for the dumplings and The Eight does great dumplings, so that makes me very happy. If you look around you see that the place is patronised more than 90% by the local Chinese community. In my book that says this is where you come for chinese dumplings in the Sydney CBD. What I like about this restaurant, besides the fabulous food, is that it is next door to a cinema complex, it sits in a context of three floors of boutique shopping and then if you go down another floor you are in Sydney's main market: Paddys Market. Beneath that there are 4 levels of affordable parking and not only all of that you are already in the heart Chinatown! Across the road from Paddys is a small window in a wall where you can queue up for a bag of "Emperor's Balls", deep fried pastry balls of sweet custard. A fantastic way to finish Yum Cha. And if that doesn't make you happy, how about this, you are right across the road from the Monorail and on the same side of the street as the Tram that runs between Sydney's Central Station and Lilyfield in Sydney's Inner West. A winner whichever way you look at it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peking duck, order of the day”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went here after reading a review from a guide on Eating around Chinatown. My daughter has a real love of Peking duck so of course this was our main reason for going. The duck was out very quickly and served to us at the table. It was served as pancakes and then taken away and returned as San Choi Bow. Both were beautiful.
The service was quick and efficient, maybe too efficient. We noticed there was always someone waiting over your shoulder to serve in an instant. For some this could be disconcerting, but was fine for my family.
Overall a great experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eight Modern Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Eight Modern Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing