We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice ice cream!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato Messina

Gelato Messina
Ranked #1 of 99 Dessert in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $63
Cuisines: Italian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Description: Artisan Gelato Store Locations -Darlinghurst Shop 1/241 Victoria St, Darlinghurst NSW 2010Surry Hills389 Crown St, Surry Hills NSW 2010The Star Casino Cafe Court, Level G, 80 Pyrmont Street, Pyrmont NSW 2009
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice ice cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Being an Italian I'm quite demanding and strict in evaluating the quality of ice creams. I was skeptical and unsure whether to try it or not, but I have to admit that this ice cream is really nice! I was also surprised by the size of the cup, which was quite big for the priced I payed :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zmyrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,231
    375
    81
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Wow saw all these people walking up the street eating ice cream. Thought I would check it out. It was to die for, so many wonderful flavours, so rich and creamy. Service very quick, good value for money. No wonder they were lined out the door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Flavour Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

You know this is great gelato when there are always masses of people waiting summer or winter. Soooooo many flavours to choose from and they are all delicious. Also check out their AMAZING cakes made from the same delicious gelato.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank janwholeboxndice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing to eye and tongue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fabulous presentation and variety and taste to match. Flawless

Take away great also. Can buy large or individual servings, works for party or just a treat

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fivestarsandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Everyone kept telling me how good messina's gelato was but I wasn't sure it could be "that" good!!! IT IS...... I'm in love!!! Best ice cream in the world ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandatheNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Messina also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Gelato Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing