We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Boca Argentinean Grill - CLOSED

Boca Argentinean Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great little restaurant in a beautiful old terrace house. We had a mix meat platter for 3 which we all enjoyed. The food was excellent service was slow considering the restaurant was empty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nufc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Downhill”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The first time I visited Boca I thought it was the closest thing to an Argentinian Grill I had seen outside of South America. For that alone my first TripAdvisor review was very favorable. I have come back about four times since then and finally I felt it was time to write an updated review..
I feel disappointed. This is a place with a winning proposition that either rested on their laurels or simply have lost their edge.
The service was kind but lazy and not efficient, making us wait a long time, bringing the wrong stuff to the table, messing up the order. I do not need to feel treated like a prince, but I do want to feel like the staff cares.
You would not mind if this was a cheap and cheerful type of place - but we are talking top bucks here for overpriced meals. To start we had a platter of cured meats to share. It came to a hefty $27, bread not included. The meat selection was of the cheap kind, without any trace of the best stuff like parma style jamon, etc.
For main we ordered one of the specials - the slowly cooked suckling pig ($48 a portion). Now, I am from a place where suckling pig is one of our traditional dishes, and I can tell you that this one was underwhelming and far too dry and non succulent for being a slowly cooked meat. Completely overpriced.
The best thing of the meal was the Malbec, but Boca cannot take credit for it. They can however take credit for charging it like the rest of the menu.

Big piece of advise to Boca's management: take a step back and rethink. Time to change back to the start.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cramped and small tables”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Went with husband and another couple. Couldn't fit us in so we waited 20 minutes. I'm not a smoker so sitting just inside with a smoking table just out a window was painful. Ordered the meat tray. We could hardly fit 2 share platters on the table and 2 of us couldn't move our chairs. Potatoes came at end of meal. Food wasn't terrible and our friends who we came with love it here but it wasn't for us and we wouldn't go back any time soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waitermorebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Could very easily be so much better”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A wonderful atmosphere in a fantastic old terracehouse that makes you feel you are in Buenos Aires. But our food was cold, the service ilaughable, in that they could not remember or deliver simple orders (and they took notes!). Could be so much better, particularly as the food has flashes of brilliance and all they need to do is to sort out simple basic things like delivering hot food and employing competent wait staff. They should be ashamed of the experience they served up to us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hidden treasures on this menu (its not ALL about the meat).”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Boca looks great from the street and proudly advertises lots of bbq style meat dishes. Not being in the mood for a meat extravaganza I scoured the menu for alternatives to the house specialities and to my surprise I put together a great selection with variety, flavour and, in my opinion, excellence. The smoked trout was amazing. Beautifully cooked and well presented, it did not feel like a poor cousin to the steak platters which are the faves here. We also tried the eggplant stack, a salad and (of course) the lamb platter for one. All of which were brilliant, the lamb was perfectly cooked and the coriander seasoning was just right.
For desert we went with the traditional Argentine pumpkin dish and the quince tart. The pumpkin creation was a triumph. I'm definitely going back. Value for money was pretty good by Sydney standards. If you're hungry you won't be disappointed especially if you feel like sharing a meat platter. We observed the meat platter for three being consumed on a nearby table and it looked like a feast.
Thumbs up for Boca!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Argentinean Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing