We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #245 of 5,835 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Jamie's Italian Sydney is split over two levels with an intimate ground floor restaurant and a mezzanine level featuring an open kitchen so you can watch the chefs at work. With beautiful high ceilings, typical Jamie-style interiors and graffitied walls, it's the perfect spot to tuck into some delcious, rustic Italian food.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Worth it for the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited on a Saturday for my sisters birthday who is a very big Jamie Oliver fan. We got in line (yes a line) at 1115 am and they open at 1130 am, but noon they were packed. The food servings were generous but mine meal was very bland, and while its probably worth a one off experience I don't think I'll be going back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    701
    518
    222
    136
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best value, best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went with my husband and 2 young children. We loved it. Meals were awsome and great value. We thought it might be expensive, being jamie oliver, however we were greatly suprised. And the meals are huge.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“a fabulous experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Friendly...funky....fabulous
Place was packed and super busy yet we felt so special...wait staff fun and friendly and knowledgeable helpful.
Food was delicious and presented beautifully.
What a fun experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Away247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing value for quality food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

There were two of us, so we were unable to book. We only had to wait 15mins to get a table. The hostess was friendly and efficient; the Wait staff were very natural and made you feel comfortable.
The vibe is really bright and trendy (but not pretentious).
The food was very rustic and traditional, yet had a fresh modern twist.
I was extremely impressed with the price point. For a "Celebrity" restaurant, we had an entree each, a side each, a dessert each and a wine and the total bill was $75 ($37.50 each).
I highly recommend.
Infact were having a work girls night there next month.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelene253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Let down, far better Italians in Sydney but this is loud and fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was expecting great things in terms of clarity of flavour, exciting freshness, and robustness of ideas. The dishes were not clear, exciting, fresh or robust. In fact this restaurant reminds me of the plain-Jane tomato sauce-Italians of old that have been rightfully excommunicated from the food-scene of Sydney. Salads were delicous and truffle risotto also very rich and lovely. This is a huge restaurant composed of elongated alley-like industrial-style hallways with plenty of space and beautiful copper light fittings, pick up a Jamie Oliver or Two Greedy Italians etc. coookbook from next to Table 1 and leafing through many neither here nor there recipes may suggest the complicatedness the this restaurant has seemed to attain. The value was not great but there is a good selection of wines (albeit two dessert wines). Depending on yor party size they may be a queue+45 minutes wait. Our wait on a Monday night was only five minutes of queueing and straight to table. There is a greates hits easy-listening/rock soudtrack too if you like to sing along!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 418Fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing