We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Convict, Castles and Champagne Tour

Convict, Castles and Champagne Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.48*
and up
Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour
Ranked #86 of 338 Tours in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our day on the tour. It was made more enjoyable by our tour guide Brendan who knew his information very well and imparted it to the tourists in an entertaining, amusing fashion. We enjoyed delicious food, lots of champagne and a lovely cruise on the best harbour in the world. The rest of the crew were very helpful and courteous. We would highly recommend this tour as a wonderful way to learn more about our history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    69
    16
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun tour, despite the heat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We took the Harbour Cruise and Walking Tour of Goat island on January 18, 2012 which turned out to be the hottest day in Sydney's recorded history. Needless to say, the walking tour was dangerously hot, but we soldiered on with lots of water. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and interesting, the lunch quite satisfying. It was definitely nice to return to the boat for a cooling trip around the harbor before returning to the pier. So glad we did this trip despite the heat!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must if you are visiting Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My best friend and I did this cruise and it was fantastic from start to finish. We had a fantastic guide called Brendan who not only tells you interesting facts as you explore the island he delivered it with such a sense of humour that everyone was involve and having fun. If you are prone to sea sickness i wouldnt not do this cruise as the boat ride can get rocky when the weather is not the best but this didnt faze us and we had the time of our lives on this cruise. P.s The lunch they provide you with is amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank amyandbrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent day spent with friends learning some history of our wonderful city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had a lovely experience today on the Convict Castles and Champagne tour operated on Sydney Harbour. It was a great day, lunch was really good and the wine, beer, soft drinks etc were available on the return ferry rides and during lunch. Everything was included in the cost, so it was a very affordable day out. The walk around Goat Island was very interesting and the friendly guides gave us a great insight into its history. The old buildings are amazing, all the sandstone coming from around the harbour itself. The views from the island looking back at the Harbour Bridge and the city itself are amazing and it gave us another aspect in which to enjoy our remarkable city. After our walking tour around the island we spent the last half an hour in the ferry doing the loop of Sydney Harbour around Fort Denison and then back to Campbell Cove. We booked the tour through Travel Zoo and got a pretty good discount, it was excellent value. The length of the whole experience took three hours. Would recommend this tour to our friends and family or anyone visiting Sydney.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“History with a glorious backdrop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Goat Island sits right in the middle of Sydney Harbour, with the very best views of the Harbour Bridge and the Sydney skyline. However, until recently, it was "off-limits" and difficult to visit, even for locals. This tour opens up this interesting island and gives a fascinating insight into Sydney's convict past. Our tour guide, Gaz, made the history come alive, with anecdotes that few Sydney-siders will have heard before. The whole tour was great value including an adequate lunch, a guided tour of the island, and a trip around the harbour (with commentary), in an historic ferry boat; not to mention the free champagne, wine and beer! All in all, this tour is a great half-day out for all age groups--families, groups of friends and tourists. We visited on a cloudy, rainy day and enjoyed every minute, so do not be put off by the weather. On a bright sunny day the views would be fabulous. The island tour is easy walking but walking shoes are recommended. Good bathroom facilities are available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SienaK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Convict, Castles and Champagne Tour also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Convict, Castles and Champagne Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing