We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out”

Convict, Castles and Champagne Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.86*
and up
Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour
Ranked #91 of 341 Tours in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I went out on the convict, castles and champagne tour, I chose this tour over others because I have a strong interest in Australian history and learning about convict stories etc, to be honest the tour didnt not focus on convicts as much as I had hoped but was still very informative and a lovely day out. As another review said you will fall in love with the boats quaint charm and lunch on Goat island is enjoyable and sufficient amount of food- all in all i would recommend this tour for everyone, toursist and locals and all ages will find it an enjoyable day out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank olyander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    69
    16
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to spend a sunny day”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I have never been to Goat Island but what a treasure in the heart of Sydney!my wife and I hade a great day with all the history. Lunch was great and so was the view from the island. I would highly recommend this even if you live in Sydney as we do.

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Before this cruise we had never heard of Goat Island ... we had a fabulous time. Our guides were lovely and knowledgeable and the stories on the history of the Island and the inhabitants were really interesting. The drinks were aplenty and the food was good too! Highly recommend!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This cruise is a must!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is an absolutely brilliant day out!
From the moment you step on the boat you fall in love with its quaint charm. The tour guides are excellent, and tell the story of the Island and its inhabitants with such passion that it is hard not to enjoy. The views are simply magnificent, undoubtably the best place to take in Sydney harbour, along with some brilliant photo opportunities. The buffet lunch is simple but very ample and tasty, and the champagne is constantly flowing... I certainly got my money's worth and more.
An unmissable day out for holiday makers and sydneysiders alike!!

Helpful?
Thank KerriLouise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Best offered by Tall Ships Inc”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This tour is the best of several offered by a group called Tall Ships Inc. It departs from Campbell's Cove for a short jaunt to Goat Island, where participants have lunch and then get a guided tour of the island. Then, after a brief circle around Sydney Harbor, they return to the Cove.

The Goat Island tour is interesting, though our tour guide walked a bit too briskly for the older crowd. She delivered a reasonably thorough canned presentation, but couldn't answer some basic questions (e.g. Did any convicts ever escape?) outside her script.

Food was decent, though beef was well overcooked and salads were mediocre at best. Good prawns, adequate drinks.

The ship itself is a wooden scow that must be a nightmare to maintain. Nevertheless, it rode reasonably comfortably on choppy water.

Look for discounts--e.g. groupon, living social deals--and you will receive fair value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pentwater--summerjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Convict, Castles and Champagne Tour also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Convict, Castles and Champagne Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing