We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully presented, relaxing and friendly, helpful staff.”
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented, relaxing and friendly, helpful staff.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at The Darling a number of times since it opened.
With beautifully presented rooms and staff that are always more than happy to help, we will not stay anywhere else.
We have ordered room service for breakfast and dinner on a number of our stays and I must say that it's the best room service food we have ever had.
Overall our stays have always been faultless and every staff member we have encountered has gone above and beyond to ensure our stay here is memorable. Thankyou Renato for your generous upgrade during our current stay. It was certainly appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelz707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Kelz707,

It’s nice to know that you have been staying with us at The Darling since the opening in 2011 and you’ve had a memorable stay each time. We love that you consider our rooms to be beautifully presented and highly regard our friendly staff members who go above and beyond, including the chefs who cook the wonderful food from on our room service menu.

It’s wonderful that Renato was able to enhance your last stay with an upgrade, the least we could do to thank you for your loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to The Darling!

Until we meet again.

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    155
    46
    10
    19
See reviews for
58
444
44
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the darling 3 times now and have been amazed every time, and not wanted to leave. From the smell when you enter the lobby to the rooms and the amazing spa, it really is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We will return every opportunity we get.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacintac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Jacintac123,

Thankyou for being a Darling frequent guest! We are so glad to read that we have been consistently able to meet your expectations. Our lovely scent of jasmine, white tea and eucalyptus through our lobby helps make The Darling distinctive.

The Spa at The Darling is one of the many great services that the hotel has to offer. It truly is a hidden gem with an amazing team.

We cannot wait to have you stay with us for the fourth time at The Darling.

Until we meet again.

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night and were amazed at the service provided at midnight which is when we checked in. Front desk staff Erin and Echo were great. We had lovely champagne and strawberries delivered to our room which was nice. The hotel is very fancy modern and clean and staff friendly. It was raining when we were there and they provided an umbrella for us when we went outside. Because it was our wedding I had my wedding dress and they even provided me with a dress bag to put it in! Top notch and cannot wait to go back again many more times. Worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Klara P,

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Darling on your wedding night! We are glad to see that we helped to make such a special occasion more memorable for you and your husband. It’s lovely to know that our front office agents, Erin and Echo, provided exceptional customer service for you and that an umbrella was provided to help you escape the rainy weather.

We would love to see you and your husband again sometime in the near future - perhaps for a one year wedding anniversary?

Until we meet again.

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2014

From the moment we entered the lobby we knew we were onto something special. My wife, who at first had reservations about staying at the casino had a complete change of heart by the end of our short stay.
Everything was was beyond our expectations and no request was too bothersome. Last of all we were always greeted with a smile by the front desk in particular one chap Renato Sionillo took the time to explain to us the layout of the hotel and what places we should see in Sydney.
We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Jon S,

It’s lovely to read that you and your wife’s expectations were exceeded as soon as you walked into the lobby of the hotel. As you discovered, as an entertainment destination, there is more to us than just the casino.

Our front office team are always striving to be friendly and helpful and we are glad you were able to experience this, especially from Renato.

We are glad to know that you plan to come back to stay with us at The Darling. We do hope that next time you have the opportunity to make sure your stay longer!

Until we meet again.

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Darling does everything a luxury hotel of this type should - but no more. I've also given it a one star rating as in my opinion, the lack of free WiFi is frankly an act of sharp practice. In this day and age, if a three star hotel can provide free WiFi, then a hotel that has pretentious to be much better, should do too.

Other gripes - for some reason no toilet brushes and only a shower, no tub which again, seems basic for an establishment that wants to be considered at the top of its game.

Next time I will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halfpint_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Halfpint_Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to comment and noting that The Darling provides luxurious services. We appreciate your comments in regards to the wifi charges. The Darling’s management team are in the middle of arranging the wifi to be complimentary for our hotel guests.

The layouts of our standard rooms include a shower with an option of a European wand or rain shower. We do hope you change your mind and stay with us again as we are certain your expectations will be met by our Jewel Suites. As we have housekeeping to service the rooms daily, we tend to not provide toilet brushes, however the suggestion has been taken into consideration.

We appreciate your feedback and again, hope to be able to give you a warm welcome back to The Darling in the future.

Until we meet again.

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Weekend getaway in Sydney staying in one of their Jewel Suites. Oh my goodness. Exquisite appointments. The separate living space and the standalone bath tub are great relaxers. The bed was so comfortable. Abundance of dining choices from food court with din tai fung for dumplings, rubs and steaks, chargrilled meats and shish kebabs, Adriana Zumbo for sweet tooth. Black by Ezard for meatheads. Of course, there is more dining choices inside the casino. We chose to eat at Sokyo for Japanese which really crowned our stay.
Requested noon check out. Have booked our next stay in a couple of weeks (and I live in inner eastern suburbs!).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ntrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear VaultHair,

We are glad you decided to stay at The Darling for your relaxing weekend getaway and loved our Jewel Suites. It is great that you had the opportunity to try the various types of cuisine that the Food Arcade has to offer and even indulged in Adriano Zumbo.

As Sokyo is in the lobby of The Darling, we are pleased to know that you were able to have a memorable dining experience which further enhanced your stay. They certainly push their skills and creativity to the limits when designing their menus!

We are so glad you booked another visit and look forward to seeing you back at The Darling in the next couple of weeks!

Until we meet again.

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Absolutely cannot fault this hotel. The concierge, Dean, I think, was fab in helping set up the room for a special occasion. Room had best technology, was spotlessly clean and the bed was fantastic. The jacuzzi was also an excellent feature! Didn't manage to test out the pool but had a lol around and again it was spacious and spotless. I cannot imagine how someone could fault this hotel and give it poor reviews. Hands down, it was the best hotel I ever had the pleasure of staying it. This is genuinely 5 stars!

Room Tip: Pay that extra few dollars for a jacuzzi bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Michelle F,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on The Darling’s five-star services! It’s wonderful to know that you did not have any faults about the hotel during your stay. We are sure Dean was more than happy to provide a memorable experience for you on your special occasion – thank you for acknowledging his services.

The next time you stay with us at The Darling, you must make sure you spend an afternoon relaxing by our white tea and eucalyptus scented pool!

Thank you also for acknowledging the effort our Housekeeping team put into making the rooms spotless. They certainly are amazing!

We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.

Until we meet again.

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller*******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything - from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLING Our spa has 16 private rooms - including an intimate couples suite - and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing