We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Friendliness”
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very modern and luxurious hotel, exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff and super modern room, Nespresso coffee machine is a nice touch that I have only seen in 5 star Dubai hotels, Astral Tower rooms look very dated in comparison, highly recommended, will stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: Higher you go the better the view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimbaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi KimbaAustralia,

We were glad to read you enjoyed your stay and that the modern ambiance appealed to you. Thank you for acknowledging our staff who try so hard to make an impression on our guests.

We continuously strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and have scheduled plans for an exciting refurbishment of the Astral Tower and Residences commencing in the next few months.

Until We Meet Again

Dx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for The Darling
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 892 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here on the 13th March 2014 as part of our company's awards night at the Star function centre. I booked a standard Darling room which was one of the higher level rooms with a view out to Pyrmont. I would consider myself pretty fussy when it comes to hotel rooms and would rate this as a great room considering it is a standard room. It is modern, well appointed, very clean and the floor to ceiling glass windows creates a great feeling. The shower is a highlight, not only large but has a great rain water style shower head.

Service was great, when we arrived we drove up to the hotel and were immediately greeted by a member of staff to unload our car and check in was quick and thorough.

The only downside to the Darling I would have to say is the buffet restaurant for breakfast. It is fairly basic although there is a reasonable amount of food on offer.

Room Tip: I chose a high level room, was a great outlook over Pyrmont.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Pokorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Peter_Pokorny

Thanks for sharing feedback in regards to your stay. It is great that your Awards night was held in our Event Centre….nice and close.

We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your Darling room. On a side note we do offer room service for breakfast if you would like to stay in the comfort of your room.

We will be sure to share your positive comments with the Darlings.

Until We Meet Again

Dx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The view overlooking the Sydney Harbour and Opera House was fantastic. I loved the bathroom with floor to ceiling windows. Great service, beautiful rooms, perfectly located within Darling Harbour area.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Harbour
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeTheGirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

First impression is of a stylish modern hotel. But it is lacking the every day usability eg the only accessible power sockets are next to the sink in the bathroom, where do you plug the phone charger in? If you crawl around the floor there is one behind the bedside cabinet. Nespresso coffee machine good idea? Where to plug it in? crawl around the floor again and there is a socket under the table. A simple kettle would be much easier and usable. Designer coffee cups without proper handle that slip out your hands. Cocktail glasses and shaker why? A minibar stocked fall of drink which you can't remove for more then 30 sec without being charged. Where do you put the milk that is supplied with the coffee machine once opened there's no room in the fridge. A lighting control system that takes the first night to understand how to use it, first day my room was not made up because I pushed the "Leaving Room" button when I left the room because in actually means "Leave room do not make up". I could go on with the little niggles there were so many, individually nothing to worry about but put together they were very frustrating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

the bed is nice n comfty .. stayed 2 nyts at 12 floor courtyard view ,, wish i had harbour view it will be perfect but its ok was bz at that time.,Good location. friendly staff., kinda pricey but theres always a way to make it cheaper hehehe (coles os always handy, across the road cheaper water than inside the hotel)

Room Tip: 12th floor with harbour view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Im not sure if all readers are aware of the practise of "finning" sharks, ill let you do your own research, but in summary its a barbaric slaughter of sharks for their fins, the rest of the fish is disposed of overboard. Its a shameful "custom". While staying at the Darling I opened the room service menu to find "shark fin soup". This is unacceptable in a western country, I will never stay here again. The hotel itself is dark and uninviting, catering for a specific type of client that frequents casino's, the tv's loop Chinese language shows and I felt like I was intruding. Not good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thehurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, can't speaking highly enough of the experience. Check-in was smooth and professional. Mark, the Concierge, was unbelievable. He sourced Moët & Chandon Ice Imperial prior to our arrival and delivered this to our room on time as arranged. Dinner at Sokyo (now our 2nd time) was extraordinary as expected. Wonderful staff, perfect atmosphere. Overall The Darling certainly delivers on all fronts, the premium price is well worth the experience. We live in Sydney and this is certainly our preferred location for a short break or celebration.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,313 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 178 in Sydney
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 178 in Sydney
2,517 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $241 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darling is located at The Star Sydney and is a key feature of Sydney’s leading entertainment destination. The hotel was designed as a stand-alone structure, with its own arrival experience, amenities and alluring personality. Housed in a distinctive inverted glass tower resting on a sandstone podium, the hotel features 171 stylish and spacious rooms, suites and penthouses, a 25-metre outdoor heated swimming pool, world-class cuisine and an indulgent day spa. The Darling is honoured to be the first Sydney hotel to be awarded a prestigious Forbes Five-Star rating. A Forbes Travel Guide Star Rating is the most coveted award in the global luxury travel sector. Properties awarded Five-Stars are considered outstanding and are often iconic with virtually flawless service and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing