We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5 star but still ok.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star but still ok.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Darling experience just wasn't 5 star for me compared to other 5 star hotels I have stayed in. Staff at the front desk were spiritless and unhelpful. Upon checking into our room there was a wedding dress on the bed that was not ours! If I was the Bride looking for my dress I wouldn't have been happy...

There is no privacy with the shower or toilet. Really don't know what facilities were on offer other than the spa...? Pillow menu was good, room service breakfast was also pretty good. Location was good, we were able to walk to Westfield easily. Bar was good too, expensive but good.

A nice 4 star hotel, but think it is a stretch calling it a 5...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovefeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminFerry, Director of Front Office Operations at The Darling, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review ilovefeta. I was disappointed to hear that you experienced some lapses in service and will of course follow up with my team.

Throughout the entire Star complex we offer a wide variety of services from the Sydney Lyric theatre, fine dining options with hatted restaurants as well as a world class gaming and entertainment floor.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back so that you may experience the service i know we can deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    153
    46
    10
    19
See reviews for
57
440
44
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went there with the big family, so there are 5 kids and 7 adults. We arrange coach for daily transports around Sydney. The location is close to Darling Harbour, although not as close as Novotel, that's located en-route the train to Darling Harbour.

The hotel is adjacent to a mall that houses Star Casino, everynight the limousine line-up in front of the hotel is an entertaining view for the kids. Plus the mall has decent foodcourt, ranging from Din Tai Fung Noodles to Flying Fish (with wide range of seafood), to Ribs and Steaks, which is very convenient for dinner.

Breakfast is served at Garden Buffet, right across the Casino entrance, and sumptuous as well as has a wide variety of food.. including an ice-cream machine that makes these kids high on sugar.

The room is spacious, with a separate bathroom/sink area with separate lightings. The hotel is equiped with RFID throughout the room doors and elevators, for guests' safety.

We got a connecting rooms with our kids on our first stay, thanks to the help of one Indonesian concierge (I regret not taking down his name). However, we were assigned non-connecting room on the second stay :( ....

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sienny595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminFerry, Director of Front Office Operations at The Darling, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the trip with your family. The wide choice of dining options is one of the many reasons people choose to stay with us, that and the fascinating people watching as you mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Darling to further exhibit the service we are famous for.

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatte Yattah, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our second visit to The Darling and the place still seems brand new. I love the cloud like bed and the Pillow Menu. The rooms are actually nicer in person that in the photos - probably a first. The lighting in the bathroom is a bit dim, but you will find a lighted makeup mirror in the wardrobe so crisis averted! We had a lovely view out over the pool. The staff were really above average and went out of their way to be helpful. The valet parking attendants deserve a special thank you. Don't forget to pop into Zumbo for treats to take on the road with you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPenny_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminFerry, Director of Operations at The Darling, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our bed, we paid particular attention to the comfort of the bed when deciding on a fitting product for The Darling.

I have also passed on your thanks to the valet team who work hard to make your stay as seamless as possible.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back to The Darling the next time you feel like being spoilt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a fine hotel that is linked to The Star casino / entertainment centre.

There are some nice touches throughout, from the automated blinds that open upon arrival and can be operated via the television, to the dual head shower. This would be expected from a brand-new 5-star resorted which is targeted at high-spending gamblers!

The things that let the place down were the open bathroom, the menu in the television didn't work very well, the place is very dark in the hallways (a bit like a casino), a view of nothing significant from the main window, and there didn't seem to be a direct way into the casino without going through the casino food court first.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmo_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminFerry, Director of Operations at The Darling, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The team and I were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are currently undertaking some work to improve the speed of our in-room entertainment system, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

When you return i recommend reserving one of our Jewel Suites which has an amazing view overlooking Sydney City. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Got upgraded to a suite (perhaps because it's my first visit). Excellent position in Darling Harbour - also good for runs through to the harbour bridge and circular quay. Great rooms, great tech in the rooms. Stayed a couple of nights on business.

Room Tip: Pool facing gives you a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biff3ridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminFerry, Director of Operations at The Darling, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you Biff3ridge for taking the time to review us.

It was exciting to hear you received a complimentary upgrade and that you enjoyed every component of the room features.

Both the team and I look forward to seeing you again whether that be for business or holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

While most people go on vacation some of us have to work.... performing on cruise ship!
"The Darling" was great coz it helped me to meet a "Darling" she lives n Sydney the rooms where very nice an the hotel was great staff very helpful food was also good......would stay again if i was passing through!

Room Tip: too many hotels since....touring "musso"singer/stand-up comedian/poet! the only view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wylie J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I booked the darling for my financé's birthday and we were extremely pleased with the hotel and services. The hotel lobby looked amazing and we were welcomed with a smile. We stayed at the adored suite which really was WOW!
The views were fab and the spa bath overlooking the city was a highlight. The room was incredibly clean and comfortable. We had room service the following day which was great and we then went on to the spa which again did not disappoint. I would definitely recommend the darling for a night or 2 of luxury and would 100% stay there again. A fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room, facing the harbour/ city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirst_870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller*******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything - from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLING Our spa has 16 private rooms - including an intimate couples suite - and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing