We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I booked the darling for my financé's birthday and we were extremely pleased with the hotel and services. The hotel lobby looked amazing and we were welcomed with a smile. We stayed at the adored suite which really was WOW!
The views were fab and the spa bath overlooking the city was a highlight. The room was incredibly clean and comfortable. We had room service the following day which was great and we then went on to the spa which again did not disappoint. I would definitely recommend the darling for a night or 2 of luxury and would 100% stay there again. A fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room, facing the harbour/ city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirst_870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    149
    45
    8
    16
See reviews for
50
402
40
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Design of lobby and room is usually the first thing to see- and I loved it. Service was excellent, room ( junior suite) was simply great, bathroom spacey and comfortable.... As a special thing I can highlight the linens in bed! Egyptian cotton of perfect quality - only the perspective of amazing breakfast made me out of the bed.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just got back from 2 night stay at this hotel - The Darling. My partner and I visited this hotel a coiple of months ago. We were impressed how polite and pleasant the staff are at all times.A short walking distance to Casino. Housekeeping always kept the rooms well cleaned and tidy at all times.We ate at the star ciy buffet restaurant, the food was average and afterwards tried our luck at the casino for the second time. I don't gamble but my partner said that good luck comes in threes so we did. We were lucky for the secomd time around that we ended up winning about a thousand dollars. .We were a bit tired but happy (after staying for so long in the casino),but it was always nice knowing the hotel was nearby and we could go back and rest whenever we wanted to.I Would n't mind coming back as long as they have good price packages on offer and try again my luck - as they good luck comes in threes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is amazing. We stayed from Sunday through to Thursday in a Jewel Spa Suite. We were overlooking the pool area and had a view of the bridge and some of the city. At night all the lights in the city and on the boats were spectacular. The marble bathroom with his and hers basins, the huge spa bath, the walk in robe, the bedroom with large TV, and the lounge with built in bar area, were all awesome. The service was great...every night with turn down they left a little gift for you. The only down side to this hotel is its location. Darling Harbour is just beautiful but the casino is a bit of a draw back. We went to the Garden Buffet for breakfast and it was quiet most days, a bit pricey though. Dinner was a different story, it was so busy and a lot of the diners there were rude and pushy. Dinner was not a pleasant experience. I would suggest trying one of the many restaurants on the harbour...Braza Brazilian Restaurant was amazing. Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UltraV73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay here for 3 days. The room was nice, great bed, bath, etc.

The pool looked beautiful, but it was Aussie winter so I didn't get to swim.

They had a swanky looking bar as well in the lobby.

Location, is not for me. A depressing casino full of badly dressed Chinese tourists and a mall. Maybe that's your scene, but not mine.

Breakfast was better than average but in another building by the casino.

Breakfast and wifi are extra and overpriced as is the standard these days with nice hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm pretty sure this is a brand new build, and it shows, everything is exceptional. It would have to be one of the loveliest places I've stayed in. Sexy moody lighting in the foyer with stunning modern metal wall art. Staff Jayson at check-in was professional, efficient and personable. Upon opening the door to our room, the lights come on and curtains open as if you are on stage. Everything is automated and you can operate & do so many things with the TV remote. The fit-out of the room is like your "dream home", timber panelling, wallpaper murals, recessed TV, work-bench. Shower has both the hand-held head thinging and the rainshower option. Be aware that the rooms all on one side overlook the outdoor bar/pool, and the windows are not mirrored and you can see right in!

Room Tip: The vast majority of the rooms have a similar outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoursarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Watched the Pink concert at the Entertainment Centre and stayed at The Darling with my partner. What a remarkable experience! We were treated like royalties from valet to reception. The jewel suite was so high tech with those gizmos plus the view of the harbour.

Room Tip: Always booked a jewel suite with spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saml123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,675 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | at The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller*******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything - from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLING Our spa has 16 private rooms - including an intimate couples suite - and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing