We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Darling is a 5 Star for very good reason.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #5 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Darling is a 5 Star for very good reason.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

What an amazing experience, we stayed two nights at The Darling during their winter specials and can not fault them. Valet parking staff brilliant, reception staff brilliant. We were in the Darling room on the sixth floor over looking the pool and city skyline views was beautiful. The room was amazing and luxurious everything was at your finger tips. Bedding perfect. Only upset was the internet was very slow when it did work. I will return to The Darling and go for harbour views next time. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCB1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    151
    46
    9
    18
See reviews for
54
433
43
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay in some of the world's best hotels - and The Darling didn't disappoint ! I booked the hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was fantastic. Our room had a great view of Sydney Harbour and the Bridge ! The bed is huge and comfortable and the block out curtains allowed for a great sleep in ! Towels are bath sheet size and two per person ! Robes were also available. Loved having a Nespresso machine but no milk frother ! Good location next to the casino and plenty of food options in the area. Coles across the road for grocery items ! We were even spoilt with complimentary champagne for a stay. Didn't want to leave !

Room Tip: Darling Room on a higher floor and request the harbour and harbour bridge view ! Worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank King_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

An amazing place to stay in Sydney. The rooms are tastefully decorated, super clean with fresh, crisp linen on ultra comfortable beds. Rooms are extremely sound proof and secure. Every staff member is friendly and obliging. They follow up on every request in a polite manner. The lobby is beautifully decorated with fresh flowers. It is located close to the city centre and airport with taxis at your doorstep 24 hours a day. I have not tried their spa facilities or had breakfast so I cannot rate these but I do know the breakfast prices are really reasonable and the spa facilities look cool. The Darling is a luxurious Sydney Hotel with a selection of classy restaurants next door. Definitely the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aruni1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for 1 night for a conference at Darling Harbour and got a weekday special rate via their web site, including valet parking.

Had reservations about staying in a Casino Hotel, noise, smoke etc, but experienced none of this because it's detached from the Casino itself.

Had a fantastic room, with bed & bathroom etc. all beyond expectations. Staff were great, friendly and very helpful. A great central location within walking distance to tourist and business areas.

I cannot fault this hotel from this stay and I would happily return again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Claims to be a 5 star hotel, and in terms of the hard product, it is quite solid. Rooms are spacious, and amenities are good.

Service is however a little indifferent. Staff appear to lack enthusiasm or passion for their roles however.

An okay experience overall, would be fine to return, but wouldn't rush into doing so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieinCHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stay here most times when we come to Sydney and I love this hotel. The concierge are fantastic, I find the staff at reception a little hit and miss but I can live with that. The rooms are great and the beds are amazing - beautiful and big with the best pillows. When we have the chance we happily cuddle up in the bed all day. I've never ordered Room Service so I can't help you there but there are a few good food options down in the Casino or plenty if you want to go for a walk. Gorgeous Molton Brown bathroom amenities and dual head showers. We spend a substantial amount of time in hotels and this is one of the very few I actually look forward to staying in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The wife and I stayed at The Darling to celebrate a new job. I was a bit hesitant at first as we always stay in the city but the restaurant we wanted to go to was booked out so we thought that we would try something different.

What a change - from the moment we drove in, from the valet parking through to reception we were welcomed like seasoned guests. The happiest and most professional hotel staff I have struck.

We arrived a little early and our room was not ready so we mucked around in Star City for a little while the room was readied. When the room was ready they sent us a text, nice touch, when we got to reception that informed us that we had also been upgraded to "the Amore" - sweet.

The room was divided into 3 separate rooms - The lounge room is big, modern furnishings with a sort off 80's opulent (martini shaker) modern theme and is large enough to host a cosy cocktail party. There is a separate bedroom area with a comfortable king bed and a huge TV and then a large bathroom area with a spa tub for 2, rain shower and twin normal showers. The spa had a view of the city and harbour bridge and was relaxing at night looking at the lights with a bottle of champers.

The only down was the pillows are that soft style and we did not notice a pillow menu that some hotels have, that would have been nice. Also they might need some anti slip on the bath area tiles. A little bit of water and I went flying - luckily no damage or broken glass just a stiff and sore hip the next day.

Apart from that we could not fault the place - Star city has lots to offer as does Darling Harbour which is only a 2 minute walk so we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller*******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything - from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLING Our spa has 16 private rooms - including an intimate couples suite - and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing