We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Sydney”
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #5 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

3 nights stay at The Darling made us definitely addicted to this Hotel
Junadi the concierge is The Best
thank you for your assistance while we faced trouble in Sydney hospital
very good room
fabulous pool
and very convenient Cafe court
We will be back and try a suite this time

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 899 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Darling for 3 nights in February 2013. I had emailed the concierge ahead of time because I wanted to have a picnic delivered to reception for my partner's 30th birthday and wanted to make sure that would be ok. I had also enquired about buying a bottle of wine from the hotel to have added to the picnic. I was assured that would all be fine and taken care of.

Upon arrival the hotel staff were excellent. They very subtly called someone from their customer service team, who also quite politely asked if he could talk to me away from my partner in case the picnic was a secret. Even though our room was not ready yet, we didn't mind because we were going to the park for a picnic anyway. Within an hour the hotel had messaged me to say our room was ready so as not to interrupt the picnic with a phone call.

When we returned the Darling staff had upgraded our room to a Jewel room that had an amazing view of Sydney Harbour and was very spacious. We were shown to our room and shown how the tv could control the AC, the curtains and the lights.

The pillow top bed was super comfortable and the rain shower head was amazing. The room was quiet and spacious. The pool was really refreshing on a warm day, and a late night getting back to our room where we ordered room service could not be faulted.

When we were leaving there was a VIP arriving with a four car entourage that was greeted with a huge number of hotel staff. Even though it was difficult to get a taxi and then have one reach the front valet area of the hotel, the front desk staff seemed genuinely worried at how long we had had to wait and went out of their way to have a taxi meet us.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Darling again and I can't thank them enough for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_A_C_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Customer service was exceptional. Rooms very nice with luxuious robes and slippers available and valet parking attendants excellent. Loved the signature scent that you notice as you enter the lobby- nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very stylish Hotel - but doesn't look like a hotel as it seems to be part of the Star complex. Bedding in the room is very luxurious and comfortable. Would recommend this Hotel although not cheap. One negative though, the electronic mini bar says it will charge to your account if anything is removed / lifted for more than 30 seconds. A bit stupid I think.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassie3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect of this hotel, since it is part of a casino complex. We visit Las Vegas quite frequently and this was very different. The rooms are in a completely different part of the building. They are modern, clean, and well-appointed. We had a suite with a large sitting/kitchen area, bed facing the view of the city, and very large bathroom and walk-in closet. The complex has a "food court" with many types of food you can buy, then sit in various seating areas. They also have many fine dining restaurants. We were able to visit one (Balla, Italian). The vibe was low-key and the food was very well-prepared. The hotel is a short walk across the pedestrian bridge right into the heart of Sydney downtown. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camille45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed only one nite but the best i have ever stayed in - nothing to compare - it is luxurious - everything about it is fab and the staff are so wonderful too! So modern, clean, ultra comfortable. Massive ensuite too. Beautiful Chocolates arrived at our room within a few minutes of arriving - a wonderful surprise ! The pool was perfect - and a lovley hot spa too. Location is great - just a few minutes walk from Darling Harbour and only a little further into the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Any room - maybe some have better views of eg the harbour bridge then others but all excellently app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the The Darling for a "girly" weekend away and were extremely impressed. The staff at reception and concierge desk were both happy and helpful. The decor and surrounds were beautiful. We only had a standard room and again the room was lovely. There are 2 minor issues though,first with the electronic mini bar in the fridge we were unable to purchase our own water from across the road at Coles and keep it cold. Also the bathroom gap - the shower door opens right where there is a gap in the wall straight into the eyes of anyone who may be sitting on the bed watching tv. I do love the open plan bathroom but some sort of "privacy screen" would have made it perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammiibris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,349 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 179 in Sydney
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,548 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $243 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darling is located at The Star Sydney and is a key feature of Sydney’s leading entertainment destination. The hotel was designed as a stand-alone structure, with its own arrival experience, amenities and alluring personality. Housed in a distinctive inverted glass tower resting on a sandstone podium, the hotel features 171 stylish and spacious rooms, suites and penthouses, a 25-metre outdoor heated swimming pool, world-class cuisine and an indulgent day spa. The Darling is honoured to be the first Sydney hotel to be awarded a prestigious Forbes Five-Star rating. A Forbes Travel Guide Star Rating is the most coveted award in the global luxury travel sector. Properties awarded Five-Stars are considered outstanding and are often iconic with virtually flawless service and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing