We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Hotel in Sydney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #4 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
SYD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

3 nights stay at The Darling made us definitely addicted to this Hotel
Junadi the concierge is The Best
thank you for your assistance while we faced trouble in Sydney hospital
very good room
fabulous pool
and very convenient Cafe court
We will be back and try a suite this time

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    151
    45
    9
    17
See reviews for
52
426
41
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Darling for 3 nights in February 2013. I had emailed the concierge ahead of time because I wanted to have a picnic delivered to reception for my partner's 30th birthday and wanted to make sure that would be ok. I had also enquired about buying a bottle of wine from the hotel to have added to the picnic. I was assured that would all be fine and taken care of.

Upon arrival the hotel staff were excellent. They very subtly called someone from their customer service team, who also quite politely asked if he could talk to me away from my partner in case the picnic was a secret. Even though our room was not ready yet, we didn't mind because we were going to the park for a picnic anyway. Within an hour the hotel had messaged me to say our room was ready so as not to interrupt the picnic with a phone call.

When we returned the Darling staff had upgraded our room to a Jewel room that had an amazing view of Sydney Harbour and was very spacious. We were shown to our room and shown how the tv could control the AC, the curtains and the lights.

The pillow top bed was super comfortable and the rain shower head was amazing. The room was quiet and spacious. The pool was really refreshing on a warm day, and a late night getting back to our room where we ordered room service could not be faulted.

When we were leaving there was a VIP arriving with a four car entourage that was greeted with a huge number of hotel staff. Even though it was difficult to get a taxi and then have one reach the front valet area of the hotel, the front desk staff seemed genuinely worried at how long we had had to wait and went out of their way to have a taxi meet us.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Darling again and I can't thank them enough for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_A_C_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Customer service was exceptional. Rooms very nice with luxuious robes and slippers available and valet parking attendants excellent. Loved the signature scent that you notice as you enter the lobby- nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very stylish Hotel - but doesn't look like a hotel as it seems to be part of the Star complex. Bedding in the room is very luxurious and comfortable. Would recommend this Hotel although not cheap. One negative though, the electronic mini bar says it will charge to your account if anything is removed / lifted for more than 30 seconds. A bit stupid I think.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect of this hotel, since it is part of a casino complex. We visit Las Vegas quite frequently and this was very different. The rooms are in a completely different part of the building. They are modern, clean, and well-appointed. We had a suite with a large sitting/kitchen area, bed facing the view of the city, and very large bathroom and walk-in closet. The complex has a "food court" with many types of food you can buy, then sit in various seating areas. They also have many fine dining restaurants. We were able to visit one (Balla, Italian). The vibe was low-key and the food was very well-prepared. The hotel is a short walk across the pedestrian bridge right into the heart of Sydney downtown. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed only one nite but the best i have ever stayed in - nothing to compare - it is luxurious - everything about it is fab and the staff are so wonderful too! So modern, clean, ultra comfortable. Massive ensuite too. Beautiful Chocolates arrived at our room within a few minutes of arriving - a wonderful surprise ! The pool was perfect - and a lovley hot spa too. Location is great - just a few minutes walk from Darling Harbour and only a little further into the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Any room - maybe some have better views of eg the harbour bridge then others but all excellently app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the The Darling for a "girly" weekend away and were extremely impressed. The staff at reception and concierge desk were both happy and helpful. The decor and surrounds were beautiful. We only had a standard room and again the room was lovely. There are 2 minor issues though,first with the electronic mini bar in the fridge we were unable to purchase our own water from across the road at Coles and keep it cold. Also the bathroom gap - the shower door opens right where there is a gap in the wall straight into the eyes of anyone who may be sitting on the bed watching tv. I do love the open plan bathroom but some sort of "privacy screen" would have made it perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammiibris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#6 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller*******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything - from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLING Our spa has 16 private rooms - including an intimate couples suite - and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing