We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegas night in Sydney”
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed mid week for a Las Vegas experience in Sydney. Very swanky hotel, modern urban chic. One of the best hotel pools in Sydney. Spacious rooms, everything controlled electronically and good decor. Attentive service from staff. Local cafes for an interesting breakfast. Will be back for another city break.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for The Darling
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 892 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

Booked a standard room at a spciel introductory rate. What a fantastic experience. All staff were polite, friendly and attentive. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite which was sensational. Too many features to mention all but luxuriously comfortable and well appointed.

Room Tip: Recommend the Suites
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

It's been a long time (well, never in Australia), since I have had such a good spa experience. Okay, the prices are up there but the experience is unforgettable. From the moment you get off the lift at the 2nd floor you are in heaven! The receptionists are friendly and welcoming, then there is a greeter who takes you to the changing rooms (big, airy, spotlessly clean and luxurious), and then if there is time you're led to a dim lighted room with comfy day beds and a scented face towel to put over your eyes (make sure there is as they ask you to fill out a questionnaire with GREAT questions such as 'how much talk do you like during your facial/massage - (none for me), how much pressure do you like (gentle, firm, hard) etc. which saves you having to speak up during your service and just relax! The facial I had was $135 for 45 minutes but it was worth every cent. The therapist gave me a foot bath and scrub plus massage before settling me onto the incredibly comfortable facial bed. Facial consisted of deep cleanse, scrub, then a delightfully scented massage (pressure points on face), a face mask and then an eye massage. I almost drifted off. After, if I had time i could have showered in the lovely bathrooms using the complimentary Molton Brown haircare. Hair dryers etc. are provided if you need them. I was so relaxed i couldn't wait to get home to bed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank adventuress2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

You notice this hotel is different right from the moment you arrive at the front door and one of the helpful staff escort you right to the check in desk. They're obviously going for super-friendly Australian informal service, which we are quite happy with, as long as it remains efficient. Georgia on the front desk was certainly super-friendly, very chatty, but still remained quick and efficient. For some reason we were upgraded to a Jewel suite instead of the Darling room I originally booked, and what a pleasant surprise. On the 8th floor we had a great view of the pool which looks like it would be a real party venue if only the sun would shine. Absolutely loved the room - everything about it from the decor, the bathroom, the Molton Brown goodies, the Nespresso machine, the blackout blinds, the two teles, etc etc. I would highly recommend the hotel for parents who want to escape their children for the weekend (under 18's not allowed by the pool)... mind you none of the staff looked much over 18. As it was not busy (constant gloomy weather and rain), the staff had nothing to do but hang around and gossip and chat, and they are all so young and gorgeous it's like being in a nightclub. (note to management - tell them to keep their voices down when guests are trying to relax and read the paper - the odd very loud "shhhhhhhhh" from one of the older crew doesn't really do the trick!). Still, I don't want to complain too much as despite being very old and crusty (over 45), we really loved the cool and groovy atmosphere of the hotel - the interior decor is truly inspirational. Only thing that might concern some international guests is that there is no in house breakfast available other than room service, and their flagship restaurant is not open lunchtimes or Sunday nights. Bit unusual for a 5 star hotel. But being in Pyrmont there are lots of groovy eating options nearby, so not a huge problem. Stay here for the pool, proximity to Casino and Momofuku (although we were underwhelmed by our meal), and the up to the minute decor and great rooms. A+

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susansthermomixup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were looking forward to staying at Sydney's newest five star hotel. I called The Darlings 1800 number to make our reservation and reserved a suite for our two night stay. On arrival our reservation could not be located and turned out to have been made for another hotel operated by the Star Casino. We were advised that The Darling was more expensive to their sister hotel with a suite being more than double our rate and were graciously offered a standard room at our booked rate. On checking later this rate was still some $50 a night more than the best internet rate for this room on these nights.

The hotel is quite modern and although the staff are casually dressed the hotel has a business feel. The room amenities were very nice, however these rooms don't have a bath and although the space saving bathroom makes the room more spacious the lack of privacy could be an issue.

Being so new there are some teething issues, tissue paper along the top of the door will stop the wind whistling.

Not quite the romantic getaway we were expecting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eccles777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

the hotel itself is very nice. modern and functional. staff were excellent. my mother and i booked a twin room and on check in were taken to level 6. the room itself is nice enough..a little small but with all the mod cons. unfortuntely we realised the bathroom was totally open plan..as in stepping out of the shower and you are near the bed.. no privacy whatsoever. ok if its a romantic situation, but not with family. strange because a twin bed configuration room would mean you could be with some one like a friend or assosciate. anyway we asked for a privacy screen of some sort and reception said it wasnt possible due to oh&s concerns. i accept this, but what to do next? reception kindly offered a wheelchair friendly room which provided far more privacy. they handled the problem well. even concierge commented that this was the style of modern design for hotel rooms and can be problematic at times...if we had known this we would have booked elsewhere just to avoid the hassle. maybe the hotel should mention this ontheir website..other than this problem the darling is great....for couples..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fattyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Combining our work Christmas party and a luxury night at the Darling, we were not let down nor disappointed. From the moment we entered, staff treated us like Barack Obama on a flying visit to Sydney. The room was simply luxurious and all controlled by the TV remote. Lighting, blinds, air conditioning were all at your finger tips. Be warned to order your 6 styles of pillows in advance as we had the least firmest available which did not assist our sleep that night . Only in the morning, did we find a menu detailing a smorgasbord of pillows that could be ordered from House Keeping. Be warned the assortment of goods to purchase are booby trapped electronically. Any items that are removed from the fridge to inspect are automatically debitted to your account . The expresso coffee machine provided, was well received whilst in our luxurious bath robes. We will be returning in March for a dinner and theatre show on our wedding anniversary in April.

Room Tip: Hints. Keep the air conditioning at 18 to 19 degrees at night and order your type of pillow in advan...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 178 in Sydney
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 178 in Sydney
2,520 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Address: 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $241 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darling is located at The Star Sydney and is a key feature of Sydney’s leading entertainment destination. The hotel was designed as a stand-alone structure, with its own arrival experience, amenities and alluring personality. Housed in a distinctive inverted glass tower resting on a sandstone podium, the hotel features 171 stylish and spacious rooms, suites and penthouses, a 25-metre outdoor heated swimming pool, world-class cuisine and an indulgent day spa. The Darling is honoured to be the first Sydney hotel to be awarded a prestigious Forbes Five-Star rating. A Forbes Travel Guide Star Rating is the most coveted award in the global luxury travel sector. Properties awarded Five-Stars are considered outstanding and are often iconic with virtually flawless service and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing