We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Smash!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SMASH Sausage Kitchen - CLOSED

SMASH Sausage Kitchen
Cuisines: British, American, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Newtown
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smash!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Enjoyable sausage and mash, traditionally not the most elegant dish, but smash has found a way to elevate this homey dish. Although the sausage could be seen as gourmet the place does not give off the pretentious artisinal sausage vibe. Honest food, honest folk, great experience

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank eherzog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good honest comfort food just like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I love this place! I had been recommended to visit Smash by a few friends and I am pleased to say I visited whilst in Sydney. Yummy gourmet sausages with loads of mashed potato and gravy - you can choose your own flavour of sausage, mash and gravy - I chose Honey Chicken and Macadamia with Parmesan Potato mash and Mushroom gravy plus a side of mushy peas which were great. Left some room for dessert that I shared with my mate and it was also very tasty. The service was also great which is hard to find in many places these days so all round a great experience. I'll definitely be back! Plus a pretty cool mural on the wall :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love it every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Always excellent service from the staff, can't do enough to help but not in an overbearing way, just genuinely friendly people. Love the sausage choices and the sweet potato mash is the BEST! Fantastic atmosphere, relaxed and not pretentious at all. So glad it's close to where I live!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyParkLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty comfort food in a cheerful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Discovered Smash Sausage Kitchen in Newtown by accident, just by walking by. They have a very good website, though.

Three adults (one was vegetarian) tried five different kinds of sausage, three kinds of mash, and one very satisfying serving of roasted corn on the cob (4 pieces). Desserts are large, so two servings of sticky date pudding with ice cream was more than enough.

It wasn't crowded on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FlightAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was a bit scepitcal about going to a sausage and mash restaurant but my fiance dragged me there and I was hugely impressed. You get to choose your own combo of sausage (1, 2 or 3), mash (garlic, parmesan, sweet potato & others) and gravy. They also had some yummy specials.

You can BYO and they often seem to have deals on their website, in the Entertainment Book or on local flyers.

Definitely a cut above your humble sausage & mash (but still the classic choices for the purists). Another great place in Newtown I will revisit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SMASH Sausage Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing