We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Ms G's

Ms G's
Ranked #76 of 5,833 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City East
Description: Modern, decidedly Asian and unlike anything you’ve ever experienced before, that’s Ms.G’s. Enter through a door bathed in pink neon to find four floors of unexpected dining; including a graffiti wall, communal tables and even a veggie garden courtyard. Join Executive Chef, Dan Hong, and Head Chef, Paul Donnelly, as they invent dish after mouth-watering dish. Then, explore the upstairs bar and indulge in kooky cocktails, wine, beer and sake.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great dinner a couple of weeks before Christmas with a group of 28, we had the banquet which was fantastic, great staff and a great selection of cocktails

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Napier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    126
    28
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The negatives outweigh the positives.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Being a table of 8 we had no option but to book the tasting menu for the whole table.
Because there were 2 people who didn't eat red meat or shellfish those 2 were allowed to go 'a la carte' as the chef thought that we would not have enough options from the tasting menu. Nice thought but it confused the service as the a la carte couple were left with no food as the tasting dishes arrived.
Overall the service was poor. Drinks had to be repeatedly asked for, requests to have an ingredient omitted from a dish were ignored and the waiter said' don't worry you won't notice it' - we did and it spoiled the plate.
The pork on the bone was 80% bone and only enough pork for 2/3 people at the end of the meal those on the tasting menu were left hungry. We felt not enough of each dish was provided for 6 diners.
The standard of the food was average and no better than other far less expensive restaurants.
Service was un-coordinated and some plates were removed before everyone had finished the course. Even though we were on the later sitting it felt as though we were being rushed through the meal.
Overall a very disappointing experience where the positive gesture of allowing 2 guests to move off the tasting menu was far outweighed by the rest of the evening.
I would not return,as there are many better restaurants in this price bracket.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ihopeithelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food.Great atmosphere.Loved it.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Fantastic asian food with a modern funky twist.Excellent quick service even though the place was packed cant wait to go back, great flavours,good value. Loved it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Fun and super tasty!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Have been 3 times and has not disappointed.

Waiting for a table is a good thing because you get to kick off the night at the cool bar upstairs. Complete with DJ later in the night.

Can't go past the mini crispy pork buns to kick things off. One is not enough, get two each is my tip.

Sweet and sour lamb ribs are awesome, they are main reason I go back.

Spicy pork & tofu egg noodles are my wife's favourite for good reason. This is great endorsement as she is Singaporean and knows her noodles.

Long necks of Coopers go down well.

Service is fun and efficient.

Becoming a big fan of Merivales restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank LJG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I dined with friends on a Friday night. I was pleasantly surprised they had a table (under 8 people you can not book). All the dishes we tried we fantastic, usual flavours, some had a twist on traditional dishes. San Choy Bow was great. but you must try the corn on the cob really sublime. the atmosphere was electric. Really enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ms G's also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ms G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing