We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not so nourishing - price and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of nourishing quarter

nourishing quarter
Ranked #945 of 5,393 Restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Sydney
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not so nourishing - price and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went their for a birthday dinner and had high expectations. Being vegetarian we always look forward to trying new vege restaurants. We found the two sitting option very inconvenient. You had to come around 6pm or after 8.15pm. One is too early and one too late for a week night with children.

The food was not brought out at the same time. So we would get one main delivered at time so everyone had to wait a while for other meals to arrive. Also I think the food is overpriced especially entree. Three small rice paper rolls cost $14.

We went to Harvest in Balmain for my birthday where the prices are similar but the service and food is far superior.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MyThoughtsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Not impressed with the service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Having been to NQ before, I was excited to take some family and friends to try the good vego food. We were seated in the corner of the room and forgotten for most of the evening. The waitresses did not know the dishes very well and brought our entrees and mains out all together so the dinner felt rushed. We were not offered any drinks or desserts as they had forgotten to order more cakes.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nutritious and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and i came here on recomendation and were very happy with our experience. The restaurnant is very small so a booking is necessary. I enjoyed the food , It is very fresh healthy and very refreshing ! I think you should try this restaurant at least once ( especially if quality and nutrition are one of your priorities ) to get the vibe of it all and perhaps you will be plesently surprised like myself and will go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 934katem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The food is very good. We were all very happy with our meals.

Unfortunately the restaurant is poorly run, the waitresses don't smile and are at times rude. 2 people at our table received their meals 40minutes later than the other 2. The menus are falling apart as well as some of the furniture. They also ran out of 3 meals on the menu and instead of informing you prior to choosing your meals it is left to you to notice the advisement written on a small chalkboard on the wall.

The tables are too small to fit the entree plates provided as well as entrees. The waitresses are too clueless to think of bringing the entrees out one at a time so they can rotate them and thus fit them on the table. Instead they took one of our entree plates and replaced it with the entree, defeating the purpose of providing entree plates to begin with.

Just for laughs they display bottled juices at the bar but if you would like to have a juice, good luck, they don't actually serve them.

To conclude, excellent food, but the rest is a shambles.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Guilt free and yum food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My friend had suggested me this veggie place and we loved it. We were at the outdoor backside which was cosy and intriguing with gramophone playing, mismatched crockery and a few vintage style boards, books n decor.
Service was excellent and the food very healthy n tasty. The rice rolls, dumplings and amaranth grain dishes are a hit! :) Its in the same concept of Iku whole foods but with a diff variety and a lovely dine in experience.

Plan to try the lettuce pockets next time....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piu1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed nourishing quarter also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to nourishing quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing