We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated!”
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Ranked #238 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Has a good situation on the edge of Darling Harbour but does not deliver on quality in either service or food although there is plenty of quantity.Great for the music but not much use for anything else!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRMAGPIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyAGM, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, so glad you chose to come to Hard Rock Cafe when you were in Sydney. We pride ourselves on great food, great service and amazing atmosphere so I’m disappointed to hear that we let ourselves down on two of them on your visit. I have passed your comments to our kitchen team and the managers that were on duty so they can rectify any issues, hopefully we can WOW you next time you come in to see us.

Kind Regards,
Dave Ryan,
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    433
    273
    141
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs uk
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great view of the fireworks”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wanted a view of the 9pm firework display and had to compromise and dine here. We ordered nachos with pulled pork for starters which were great but our mains arrived before we'd finished...Durr! The waitress looked blankly at us when we were annoyed. Aside of this it was ok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoshisMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyAGM, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience, I’m so disappointed to hear your mains came out to quickly while you were eating your appetisers . we could have easily brought them back so you could have enjoyed your starters. For that I apologise.

I can assure you that I will address this with our servers and hopefully the next time your Sydney you will drop in and enjoy the food and service and of course the fireworks.

Kind Regards,
Dave Ryan,
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Loud”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went tonight at my parents request, I like to rock out as much as the next man but it was genuinely like sitting in the middle of a rave.

After fifteen minutes of sitting around not being able to hear each other we walked out and went to a nearby steak house which was much, much better and cheaper.

The waitress also chased us out and tried to make us pay 35 dollars for a drink order she had taken 10 minutes before but not delivered

Save your time, money and eardrums. Not a good representative of what is usually a pretty good chain worldwide

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikeharper1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyAGM, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience, I’m so disappointed to hear you had a less than perfect time with us.

As you know, we pride ourselves on a high standard of food, delivered in an authentic rock and roll setting, so this is not what we expect to deliver to our rocking fans.

I have passed your comments onto the managers that were on duty on the day in question.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I hope you'll come rock with us again in the future

Kind Regards,
Dave Ryan,
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Big servings and loud music”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Love the pulled pork sandwiches. Good beverage options. Reasonable prices. Loud music. Good atmosphere

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyAGM, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Megan,

Thanks for coming to visit us, so glad to hear you had a rocking time! Come back for the food and atmosphere again soon.

Kind Regards,
Dave Ryan,
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We celebrated our 20 th wedding anniversary and chose this restaurant as we were taking our two teenage sons with us and wanted somewhere fun.
The restaurant does not take reservations in advance and run a system that they give you a buzzer that goes off when your table is ready . I have been to hard rick restaurants previously and it did not disappoint . The waiters were good fun having a chat and told us all about the memorabilia around and we had a good look . The food was fabulous . We all had burgers with the extras and it was delicious . Darling harbour view was great and we sat outside on the balcony waiting for our table and it was a great view .

Helpful?
1 Thank tomsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing