We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Tea Room”
Review of The Tea Cosy

The Tea Cosy
Ranked #38 of 7,513 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Splendid afternoon tea loved the knitting needles and wool. Could have sat for hours. Excellent choice of teas with delicious scones, jam and cream. President Higgins from Ireland had visited two days before us. I would highly recommend for a relaxing morning or afternoon tea.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Passenger688712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 334 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

Stumbled across this lovely quaint tea room while browsing the wonderful craft market . Absolutely fantastic . The scones were freshly made and are made constantly through the day . A little black board says when the next batch are due out .
A good selection of leaf tea which came with a lovely tea cosy on to keep warm . A very nice selection of open and closed sandwiches, the afternoon tea was delicious .All in all a fantastic little spot .
Thank you

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank drajab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

We had a Devonshire Tea each. The scones were amazing and the apricot jam was something special! Service was good and fast. Very cute atmosphere. Would go back for sure.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank GillBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Two delicious and very satisfying lunches for my wife and me. The Ploughman's lunch was excellent and very good value - the cheese scones were superb and a good selection of accompaniments. My wife's Galway salmon was also excellent and generous - she couldn't quite manage the last mouthful of the fourth half cheese scone, smoked salmon, cream cheese and capers. Tea was good too and was leaf tea served in pots with strainers. The place is almost a museum and fascinating in itself - where else do you get to practice your knitting whilst waiting for your order to be made!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

This place has a great atmosphere about it. Full of vintage furniture, decorated tea cosied teapots decorate the stairwell, and a basket of wool and knitting needles available on every table to pass the time. I enjoyed the Tea cosy sampler with delicious ribbon sandwiches, and a choice of 4 scones. We decided to try the four available on the day. They came out hot with a further choice of jam to accompany. It was hard to say which was better - the strawberry and vanilla jam or the rhubarb, raspberry and vanilla. You got to finish this with a drink of choice. I decided on an iced mint and lime tea whilst my partner had a milkshake. I loved passing the time in here listening to Doris Day playing through the sound system. It really did feel like visiting my great grandma's house many years ago.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Cosy also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Tea Cosy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing