We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth each dollar spent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Excellent. Only one thing to consider as a negative point: the spa was not clean when I tried to use and apparently the pool is not heated.
10 minutes walk to central station, staff very friendly, spacious, clean and very modern room. Worth every dollar spent. I recommend, mainly if you are visiting Sydney for tourism.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almeidab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear almeidab,

Thank you for your recent review.

It is wonderful that you found our apartments to be excellent. As you mentioned, our convenient location coupled by our friendly staff and spacious apartments, makes us a great choice for travellers, whether it is for business or leisure.

Please accept my sincerest apologies that that you found the spa unclean when you tried to use it and the pool temperature too cool. Our pool and spa are cleaned on a daily basis and pool temperature set at 28 degrees; however I have passed your comments to our pool technician to ensure they continually monitor these areas.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,899 - 3,905 of 5,692 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in the Meriton Campbell Street on a recent trip to Sydney, We booked a cube, it was clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was very helpful, taking time to share information about the city. I only have positive comments to share about our stay, the accommodations and staff were wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for your recent review.

It is wonderful that you found our apartments to be a “Great Place” to stay. Meriton provides clean and spacious apartments with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. I am glad you were able to experience the comfort of our apartments.

Lisa H, thank you for your kind words and we thoroughly look forward to hosting your next Sydney visit.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in the studio apartment in December for 2 days prior to a cruise out of Sydney. The accommodations were quite spacious and the price was below most mid-range hotels. In addition, there was a small washer/dryer - very convenient. The area is close to some reasonably priced eating places. I found Australian restaurant prices to be quite high compared to our US standards, sort of on par with NYC. It was helpful to have the small kitchenette to make our own breakfast in the morning and to store soft drinks. Staff was always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Wanda J,

Thank you for your five star review.

It is pleasing to read that you found our apartments to be spacious and reasonably priced for Sydney. As you mentioned, our convenient location coupled with our helpful staff and competitive prices, makes us a great choice for travellers whether it is for business or leisure.

We look forward to welcome you back the next time you visit Sydney.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

+: I loved having a washing machine and dryer since we were on a round-the-world trip. They provide detergent but no washing nets for your sensitive or small stuff, just for your info. The free bus on George Street (just around the corner) was great, though it runs only till 4 pm and takes an eternity to reach Circular Quai with all the tourists hopping on and off. But, hey, it's free. The hotel is located in Thai-town, so you can even order Thai food in, the menu is in the apartment with the hotel documents. Very convenient. The other thing we loved was that we could cook our own food. We bought it at Coles, which was a 5 minutes walk. There are a lot of healthy options, which I was very happy about because I prefer to eat vegan.

-: Our bathroom was smelly. The smell came from the drain on the floor. We asked twice to fix the problem because after they first tried it wasn't any better, after the second time it was better for a few hours, in the end there were only two nights left with my birthday in-between, so we didn't bother anymore though the problem wasn't solved. We know we could've changed rooms but we had a lot of packing and unpacking on our RTW trip, so no more wanted. Besides the smell, the bathroom itself somehow didn't match the rest of the apartment because it wasn't a cozy, bright room like in other 4-5 star hotels. I never felt comfortable in it. The bedroom and living room were much nicer and more modern.

I would stay here again mainly for the laundry facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomcat1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Tomcat1983,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay.

It is wonderful that you found our apartments to be modern, fully equipped and spacious. As you mentioned, our convenient location makes it easy to visit all of the amazing sights Sydney has to offer. It is also pleasing to know that you were able to experience the free Sydney shuttle bus 555, which makes it easy to travel throughout the city.

It was however disappointing to read that there was a smell within your apartment. I have spoken to our Housekeeping Manager who is working with his team to ensure that each apartment is thoroughly checked before our guests arrive to make sure this does not occur in the future. Please accept my sincerest apologies if this issue made your stay uncomfortable as we always want our guests to have a comfortable stay.

Tomcat1983, thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street in the future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is the perfect base to see Sydney! Smack in the middle of Chinatown. For shopping freaks, Paddy's Market is outside the door. If you want culture, the Capitol Theatre is opposite. And for seeing Sydney, 20 mins by foot to Circular Quay or take one of the many busses from directly around the corner. The sky view rooms are great. Lots of space, clean and well equipped! Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank kenandaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear kenandaxel,

Thank you for your review.

It is fabulous that you found our property a perfect place base in Sydney. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located within the city which makes it easy to see all of the amazing sights Sydney has to offer.

Thank you for you kind words and recommendation and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Sydney.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Everything was perfect: the appartment (spacious, clean, comfortable,all the necessary equipment, free wifi), the location (close to the CBD, Central Station ...), the value...
Hard to find something better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stéphanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Stephanie_67203,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street.

It is fabulous that you had a perfect stay with us! As you mentioned, our convenient location coupled with our fully equipped apartments and competitive prices, makes us a great choice for travellers. I am happy you were able to experience this all.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in the Meriton Campbell St on a recent round Australia trip. We booked a 'cube' room where the bedroom is sectioned off from the living accommodation. This was a terrific place to stay for 5 days.

Check in staff were very helpful, they had time for you and told us not only about the apartments but also what to do and how to get around in Sydney. Meriton is not a hotel so they don't take your bags to the room, there aren't small (overpriced) shops in the foyer. But who needs these types of features?

The apartment was fantastic. We loved the cube and whilst it cost slightly more than a conventional room it was just funky and practical as well. The bathroom and large shower were well appointed the laundry room/cupboard was a blessing after travelling for a number of days. The lounge dining area was really nice and had everything you could want for a few days.

Meriton Campbell isn't the most convenient location for the tourist sights of Sydney. But there is a free bus to Circular Quay about 100m from the front door. You pick up the circular tour bus from the same bus stop which does Sydney or there is one to Bondi etc. you are about 2-3km from Circular Quay so there can be quite a lot of 'foot slogging'. However, we took the view when booking it that the price was so much less than comparable hotels and apartments nearer Circular Quay or in the Rocks that we could take taxis everywhere and still be substantially in pocket.

Overall we would definitely recommend the apartments.

Room Tip: Go for a cube room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Graham J,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street and thanks for your recent review.

It is wonderful that you found our apartments to be a “terrific place to stay” for five nights. Meriton designs our apartments for comfort and living. With a fully equipped kitchen and laundry within each apartment makes our guests feel at home, while travelling away from home. I am happy you were able to experience our spacious apartments.

It is pleasing to read that our staff were helpful with providing you with information of things to do and how to get around town. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay and I am happy they were able to assist you.

Being within walking distance to Darling Harbour and having transport options close by means that getting around is simple and with the assistance of our friendly reception team you can visit all of Sydney’s amazing sights at ease

Graham J, thank you again for your recommendation and we thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 179 in Sydney
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,389 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $147 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement take over as you make your grand entrance into our chic lobby. Be invited into luxury by our exceptional Guest Services staff, onsite 24 hours a day. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, spread across a remarkable 39 floors, which all feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings. Promising better value than a traditional hotel, our oversized Studio Suites, larger than the typical hotel room, offer a kitchenette and internal laundry facilities while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of home. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to unwind by watching the city life go by, from the higher floors of the hotel. Indulge in our exclusive spa and sauna facilities, or maintain your fitness with our fully-equipped fitness centre and heated indoor swimming pool. Situated amongst Chinatown, our guests can experience the Asian culture whilst in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing