We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and a great central loction.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #9 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived just before 9am, hoping to be able to drop off our bags. We were greeted by friendly efficient reception staff who gave us the very welcome news that our room was ready and we could check in straight away. After an overnight flight from Singapore with virtually no sleep we were extremely grateful. We had a studio room and it was very well appointed as others have said. I don't think I can add anything, but would like to reiterate just how comfy the bed was and what a great location the apartments are in. The reception gave us a great map which we found very useful. We used the free bus (555) once or twice its very frequent, every 10-15 minutes and runs from Circular Quay to Central Station. You are in the CBD and are really in the middle of the places you are most likely to want to visit. Free Wi-Fi was a big plus and the Coles supermarket less than 5 minutes away was also very handy. China Town is across the road and Darling Harbour a 15 minute walk. On the second part of our stay, (sadly in another hotel) we purchased a MyMulti 1 train zone travel card which is excellent value $43.00 (June 2013) valid from the CBD and bounded by Bondi Junction, Chatswood, Croydon, Canterbury, Bardwell Park and Rockdale unlimited travel on all government and private busses (not airport) government ferries and light rail services There are loads of restaurants and bars nearby, but we weren't affected by any noise. On a particularly tiring day we ended up in the Thai Restaurant next door where we had a very reasonably priced and tasty meal. Unable to comment on the spa or pool as we didn't have time to use them. My only regret is that we had planned our trip a bit better we had only booked our first 3 nights with plans to go off to Melbourne, Adelaide and the Blue Mountains with no set date for a return to Sydney apart from being there for the Lions game. However, we then left it too late to get a booking for our return and unfortunately for us they were fully booked.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over-40-and-fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Over-40-and-fussy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Campbell Street, and thanks for your review.

It is fabulous that from the moment you arrived to when you departed you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you were able to check into your room before our guaranteed check in time of 2pm. We understand it can be quite tiring after a long flight this is why our team endeavours to fill early arrival requests if available.

As you mentioned, we are located conveniently within the city, making it easy for travellers to see all of the amazing sights Sydney has to offer.

Over-40-and-fussy, thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,455 - 4,461 of 5,734 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

There is a reason this is top for Sydney on google reviews and tripadvisor. The room was massive, the small things had been thought about, and they had 5 channels of sports. You could plug your ipod into their (relatively decent) sound system, and order from 3 local restaurants for room service at decent prices. I could go on - it was a very good place to stay

The only negative was that on the last day, my girlfriend was ill. I asked to extend checkout from 10 to 11.30 so she could sleep in, which they kindly agreed to. However when we packed I discovered I'd forgot to dry my washing. I asked for another 30 minutes from reception to put them in the dryer, which they told me would cost $50. I explained I'd have to walk around with a sopping wet bag of clothes all day, and that I was happy to leave the room and pick them up when dry (to prove I wasn't pulling a swift one to stay longer). They refused. I thought that was a bit rough

Other than that one experience, it was a fantastic place that I'd recommend and use again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravelSitePhobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear TravelSitePhobic,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

It is pleasing to read that you found that Meriton Campbell Street was a great place to stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience on the day of your departure dampened your stay. Meriton does have a late checkout policy in which charges apply for an extended checkout, but I have passed on your feedback onto our team to ensure that they treat every situation individually to ensure our guests are satisfied.

TravelSitePhobic, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Campbell Street and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fantastic Bang for the buck. Right in the heart of Chinatown with a ton of great Chinese food options. Based on the rate I expected less and got more than I would expect from a Hilton, which is where I usually stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Dudefeast,

Thank you for your review.

As you mentioned, Meriton Campbell Street is located close to China Town. With an abundance of restaurants within the area one will be spoilt for choice for dining options during your stay with us.

We look forward to hosting your next visit to Sydney.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed in a studio apartment for 2 weeks and it was perfect. It is new, clean and it has the best beds and pillows! It also has a great pool on the lower levels. It is close to everything including Chinatown, shopping, darling harbour and central train station. I will definitely be staying here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Jill295,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

It is wonderful that your stay was perfect. Meriton designs our apartments to benefit travellers. With a fully equipped kitchen and laundry and as you mentioned, a comfortable bed, we are a great choice whether you want to stay a night or stay a while.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great hotel, have stayed at a number of other Meritons (all of which were great) but this one is a cut above the rest. Highly recommended, will definitely stay again. Beautiful and classy inside and good value for money in the Sydney CBD.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Katie S,

Thank you for your recent review and for your returned service with Meriton Apartments.

It is pleasing to read that your stay was above your expectations. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay and that our facilities are well maintained, I am glad you were impressed with our efforts.

Katie S, thank you again for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Campbell Street, and we look forward to hosting your next visit.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

First time I have stayed in an apartment rather than a hotel and what a fabulous experience it was. Location was really good, one minute walk to the free shuttle bus up to Circulat Quay, two minute walk to the tram for Darling Harbour and right on the doorstep for Chinatown. Accomodation was spotlessly clean, huge comfortable bed and tea/coffe/milk replenished on a daily basis. Staff were really good, had a minor problem with the in room safe-sorted by a very helpful chap within minutes. Big thanks also to Tim on reception, a credit to the organisation, was very helpful, gave loads of useful information on Sydney and really did help us enjoy our week there.

Room Tip: try the Thai restaurant next door-very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear David T,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and for your kind words.

It is fabulous that your trip to Sydney was enjoyable and this was enhanced by staying with us at Meriton Campbell Street. It is pleasing to read that our staff were very helpful, especially Tim. I will be sure to pass on your praise, he will be thrilled! It is comments such as yours which motivates our team to continuely strive to deliver excellent service to our guests.

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel and on behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your visit Sydney.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location! Location! Location! Came to Sydney for the Boat Show! Darling Harbour short walk away, so ideal for us! Also Paddy's Market, Chinatown, George St for buses and shopping, supermarket a block away, Central Station 10 mins away or quicker by catching light rail in next street. Soho apartment was truly spacious with all amenities and daily servicing, free wifi, great pool and spa. Staff always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StCissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear StCissie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

As you mentioned, our location is great for travellers. As we are located conveniently within the CBD it makes it easy to find something exciting to do within the area and with a selection of transport options close by visiting greater Sydney is simple too.

StCissie, thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Kimberly R
Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 181 in Sydney
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,421 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 181 in Sydney
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $123 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement take over as you make your grand entrance into our chic lobby. Be invited into luxury by our exceptional Guest Services staff, onsite 24 hours a day. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, spread across a remarkable 39 floors, which all feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings. Promising better value than a traditional hotel, our oversized Studio Suites, larger than the typical hotel room, offer a kitchenette and internal laundry facilities while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of home. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to unwind by watching the city life go by, from the higher floors of the hotel. Indulge in our exclusive spa and sauna facilities, or maintain your fitness with our fully-equipped fitness centre and heated indoor swimming pool. Situated amongst Chinatown, our guests can experience the Asian culture whilst in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing