We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose a 1 bedroom apartment at the Meriton based on the hotels close proximity to Capitol Theatre and we were not disappointed. Great location close to restaurants, cafes, China Town and a pleasant walk into central Sydney. The standard of the room was very good, clean and good value for money (booked direct). Good blockout curtains and minimal street noise allowed for a good nights sleep. Great staff - helpful and polite. Internal bathroom was a little dark and we had a problem with the exhaust fan but this wouldn't stop us from staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was 1810 - away from lifts and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APVCmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear APVCmember,

Thank you for choosing Meriton Campbell Street.

I was pleased to read our location was ideal for the show at the Capitol Theatre. Our apartments are very popular with people visiting the theatre. Being located directly across the road and surrounded by plenty of dining options it makes for a great night out. Overall, I see the apartment itself was comfortable; however, I am sorry to hear of the minor issue with the exhaust fan.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,560)
There are newer reviews for Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,495 - 4,501 of 5,560 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Whole building and room were very very clean, neat and modern. Clean and quality furniture in room. Located in safe area where there are a huge variety of restaurants and cafes and also a broadway theatre across the street. A mall and tons of good shopping stores just around the corner. Would be great for a couple with a baby b/c the room was very quiet with no city noise, you have a full size fridge, you can do your own laundry and there is a dishwasher that could be a lifesaver for cleaning bottles, etc. Everything you could possibly need for doing laundry, dishes, cooking, etc is there. Still impressed with such a good price! Public bus stop is also just around the corner. Pool, sauna and hot tub were very clean and modern. DOWNSIDES: too much furniture for a small room, bed was too soft (for me), shower flooded bathroom floor every time it was used.

Room Tip: If there is more than 2 of you staying reserve a bigger apartment than the studio.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenangPuppyLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear emmakhartsock,

Thank you for sharing your review of Meriton Campbell St. It is so great to read how convenient this stay was for you and I am pleased to know your apartment catered to your every need.
As you mentioned, it can be hard to find the right accommodation for a young family. Our facilities do make life that bit easier when travelling away from home.

As you’ve outlined, the location is ideal for any traveller. Getting around in Sydney all together is no trouble at all. Buses, trains, Rails and ferries are all within moments from our front doors. I am happy to read you took advantage of our in built facilities as well.

Meriton hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Sydney.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at Meriton Campbell for 3 weeks. Emigrated from UK, needed a place that was central, comfortable and complete with amenities, and it fulfilled it. We stayed at the studio apartment with washer and dryer, big comfy bed, kitchenette with hob, microwave, toaster, kettle (no oven so only thing we missed was pizza but able to eat out for this). Gym, pool, sauna and jacuzzi were clean and regularly checked on by staff. Apartment serviced completely twice weekly and mini-serviced daily providing daily replenishment of shampoo, cleaning material, laundry liquid, bed made, etc. All public areas and our apartment very clean, tidy and looked brand new. Staff were very helpful especially Frances who helped with various things, including taking time to help us locate our missing suit carrier after the suit returned from dry cleaning without its carrier! Coles a mere block away, and Chinese supermarket and convenience shop next door, so able to buy everything needed very easily. Location wise - george st on doorstep. Bought weekly multi travel ticket (zone 1-3 depending on travel needs) so commuted via train at central/town hall, buses on George st and ferry via bus to circular quay. Hope this helps!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LYL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

There are many pluses to staying at Meriton:

Within the room
- Hotel room comes with a well-equipped kitchenette (but no microwave oven), kettle and utensils. There is also a washer and dryer (which I did not use), as well as iron and ironing board.
- This is not a five-star hotel, but the room and toilet are very clean, well maintained and well furnished.
- Bed is very comfortable
- There is a large LCD TV with loads of channel, and DVD player.
- The safe in the room works, but read the instructions carefully to reset the pin.
- Overall, the room is spacious, well-kept and modern.

Amenities
- I cannot comment on the pool as I did not use it.
- Room did not come with breakfast, but there are nearby cafes, or you can pack something the night before (coffee and tea are provided).
- Drinking water is provided at $3 each; so cheaper if you go round the corner to Coles supermart to pick up drinks and other munchies (this is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel).
- If you are traveling alone and want to save some bucks, you can book a one-way transport to the airport at A$16 (cab costs about A$40+). Booking is at the reception counter, and the bus will pick you up at the hotel lobby at a pre-defined time. The bus I took came on time.
- Staff at reception are very friendly and helpful; hotel lobby is modern and adequate.

Location
- It is located near Chinatown and Darling Harbour.
- When you come out of the hotel lobby, turn right and almost immediately you are at the busy George Street.
- There are loads of restaurants, fast-food joints, cafes, shops, etc nearby
- It took me about 20 min leisurely walk to the Martin Place area.

All in, I had a very comfortable stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The room I got have a narrow blinkered view (which didn’t bother me as I stayed only 2 nights, and w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Ricky_SG,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Meriton Campbell St. It is great to hear you found your apartment comfortable and suitable to your trip to Sydney. We certainly do stand out from the average hotel with our oversized and well-equipped apartments and I am very happy to know your view on the room, amenities and location were a positive one.

You have mentioned great features of Meriton and our surroundings. The location is brilliant. As you mentioned, the vibrant city of Sydney is right around the corner. To see more of Sydney’s best attractions, why not hop on the Free CBD shuttle to take you there?

Overall, I am pleased to read your experience at Meriton Campbell St was comfortable and we hope to welcome you back when you next return to Sydney.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We chose the Meriton based on previews good reviews on TripAdvisor about the level of amenity, and due its affordability compared to other Sydney accommodation of that standard - but we had some concerns that its location may not be ideal as a base to explore Sydney. Not an issue. We caught the train from the airport to Central and were able to walk to the Meriton. We caught the 555 shuttle bus across the road from the Meriton to Circular Quay. Easy access to electric light rail to Darling Harbor. Walked to Surrey Hills in fifteen minutes.We stayed in a studio room. It was spacious clean, comfortable bed and good quality linen. No restaurant on site but as the Meriton is positioned at the Gateway to China Town, there are many options for dining. We had a great stay, loved Sydney and plan to return in the near future,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear CCH1960,

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and location had exceeded your expectation.

Meriton Campbell Street is surrounded by many transport options allowing easy access for our guests to explore all Sydney has to offer. As you mentioned we are right of china towns door step, so all your dining needs are also taken care of.

CCH1960, Thank you for choosing to stay with Meriton Campbell St during your time in Sydney. We look forward to your next return.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Got a great deal for one of the studio apartments through expedia. Very clean, king bed, massive fridge, microwave etc, with plenty of room for two people to move around. Didn't really use the kitchen as the local restaurants are fantastic, Thai, Chinese (of course given the location), Spanish all within a few minutes walk. The view was non-existent, but for the price it didn't really matter as it's only a 5 min bus ride to the harbour. Would stay there again as we have paid same amount in Sydney for really bad accommodation.

Room Tip: Our room was fine, no view but quiet, on the 20th floor so no street noise!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Pat S,

There is no doubt our studio and 1Bedroom apartments are oversized and spacious for the out of town traveller. Bigger than your average hotel room, you will definitely find plenty of room to relax and unwind in one of our apartments. I am also pleased to know you found our accommodation convenient and comfortable during your time in Sydney.

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. Meriton Campbell St look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Always love staying at a Meriton as I know they will always be comfortable, I know they have kitchen facilities, good TV, bathrooms and I can have a swim in their lovely pools. The Campbell St Meriton didnt disappoint! Just around the corner from my work spot plus will be excellent to stay as the Capitol Theatre is just across the road and so close to some good restaurants, esp Thai.

Room Tip: The lifts are a little difficult - Lobby is on Level 6 not 1...I got very confused!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeM2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear AngeM2381,

Thank you for choosing Meriton as your 1st choice in accommodation and I am glad your first experience with Meriton Campbell St was a great one. The staff and I are happy to know the room was comfortable and the location was ideal for your business in Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next return to Sydney.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,049 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $131 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped fitness centre and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing