We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern clean and spacious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Modern clean and spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Meriton Campbell St after reading reviews on Tripadvisor for a business trip.
The rooms are large and well equipped and the free wifi works well.
The location is on the edge of Chinatown and as such is surrounded by Asian restaurants. There is a Starbucks across the road as well as convenience stores and banks etc close by. However I did not find a supermarket to allow me to buy food and make use of the well equipped kitchen.
The location is convenient to the city and for access to the Eastern and Northern suburbs.
All in all pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goingnutsinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Goingnutsinchina,

I was very happy to read how convenient your stay with us was and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We certainly do command a great location in Sydney CBD and transport to all Sydney has to offer are right on our door step.

I apologise you could not find a supermarket when you were here. Our local supermarket is located inside World Square Shopping Centre located 1 block away from the apartments. Our friendly reception staff are always happy to assist with guests enquiries.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. Meriton Campbell Street, we look forward to welcoming you back again some time soon.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,584
    1,095
    94
    25
    20
See reviews for
638
2,555
365
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Terrible from check in taking to long, to the mildew smell in the bathroom. We were run around to two rooms before our final one.
. Then on checkout the four elevators being serviced at the same time left us waiting on our floor for fifteen minutes, just completed my overall poor experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisAmarfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear ChrisAmarfio,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay.

I was disappointed to read of your experience with us. Your comments with regard to check in and the smell in your bathroom do seem very out of character. Please be assured I have forwarded your feedback to relevant department heads for review.

I apologise again with regards to the lift delays during your check out. As I mentioned to you during your check out this was a one off incident due to essential maintenance. We in fact had 2 of 4 lifts out of order for approximately 10 minutes. It is unfortunate that it was during this time you were attempting to check out.

Once again my unreserved apologise for this inconvenience.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Recently stayed at these apartments and overall they were very good. The location is awesome, right in China Town and a block away from Market City. Located amongst all the main shopping areas in downtown Sydney too.

The room was the most oddly designed room I've stayed in before, the entrance to the separate shower was so narrow with the way the door swung open that it was physically impossible to get into it, which is a shame because it looked decent. The rest of the layout was also slightly odd with strange furniture choices, positions and decor, as well as a small bedroom compared to other rooms in the apartment.

A good balcony to sit out on and watch the city which is great, and the staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed them. The checkin and checkout process was really fast and easy too.

The bed was ok, it was one of those beds with two mattresses put together on a single base. The bedroom though was not very soundproof and one of the nights the people in the next room felt the need to talk at the top of their voices from about 02h00 to 05h00 which pissed me off cause their balcony was right by our bedroom.

Nice pool, spa and gym facilites that I used, the pool area is great. The spa looked a bit dirty so I didn't get into that.

Would I stay here again? yes. The location and price are good. Is it going to be my first choice? no. I'd recommend it to friends and family going to the city though :)

Room Tip: The higher the better, the concrete city views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crytos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We chose this apartment based on trip advisor reviews and I'm glad we did. We had a good sized flat that was perfect for our 4 day trip to Sydney. Our party of 4 had 2 flats. Both flats were absolutely spotless with not a speck of dust to be found.
The check in staff were very friendly. I also appreciated that the desk was always manned, not what I expected from a serviced apartment.
As we were there for 4 days, we knew we would not get a linen change but again, did not expect the daily room service - beds made and toilet cleaned with towel change if required.
These apartments are in a great location, restaurants and shops on the doorstep and Darling Harbour a 10 minute walk.
If I'm ever lucky enough to be able to visit Sydney again I'll book here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hells23bells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place was brand and new just amazing except the pillows where the worst I have have ran into at a hotel. They where thick and hard. I can't believe they use them there.This place was a fully equipped apartment. I wish we had stayed here the first time we where in Sydney. Ask for a floor on the top. There is a lot of construction going on but we didn't care. Not a lot of restaurants around, but what there is they are very good. Pool and gym where nice even though we didn't use either. Got the place from booking.com for a very reasonable price for what you get.
LOVED IT. Would go back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmxmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had a long business trip to Sydney and was looking for a few basics - washing machine (!), location and gym. Campbell Street apartments fitted the brief and delivered! Extras included super clean, balcony, kitchen, decent size flat screen, king size bed, security, location and the list goes on. I am a light sleeper and I slept soundly for my 11 nights. I had all the comforts of home in a neat, compact one bedroom apartment that was comfortable and very serviceable. Plus, just out the door were some great Asian restaurants, shopping was (very) close and even Darling Harbour was only 10 minutes away. Staff were professional and when I had a minor problem, it was dealt with really quickly (barely had time to get dressed for a visitor!). I used the gym a lot and the pool and spa seemed popular. If you need somewhere in a great location and facilities to give you options, I recommend these apartments as they are well priced and slick!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank checol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear checol67,

Thank you for taking your time to review Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell St. It is great to hear that our corporate guests are making great use of our facilities which do cater for those who like to cook and relax in our oversized apartments.

Thank you for your comments on our location, Our apartments are situated at the southern end of the CBD right by Chinatown. This location has you mentioned offers a great range of Asian restaurants, shopping and bars.

I will certainly share your kind comments with the team and hope to welcome you back to Meriton again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked Meriton Campbell St based on the TripAdvisor rating and we were not disappointed at all. From arrival to departure -- a total of seven nights -- it was an excellent experience. Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. Particular thanks to Jean whose attention and assistance on our arrival was what you would expect at a 5-star hotel.

The apartments have all the key amenities. Kitchen was very functional for the week, bed and furniture was comfortable, washer/dryer were much appreciated. Pool was great, spa and gym were ok; only used spa once (just before closing) and it really needed cleaning. We used the gym daily, but is somewhat limited in equipment, and wouldn't handle more than 3-4 people at once.

As for the neighbourhood, there is a Coles supermarket one block away in World Square, a Woolworths a few blocks further at Town Hall. Many small restaurants in the area, Capitol Square and a Starbucks across the street. Chinatown and Market City are also 1-2 blocks away. Easy walk to Central Station, Parks, CBD, Darling Harbour. 20-minute walk to Botanical Gardens, Museums, Circular Quay, Rocks, Harbour Bridge, Opera House. All very convenient. Not cheap or easy to park if you have a car; better to choose Meriton Zetland if you're driving. Taxi fare $45 to/from airport in average traffic. Airport shuttle can be arranged.

View wasn't great -- wasn't much at all -- since Cube Apartment floors are lower. We overlooked back lane and the adjacent office building was very close. Some might not like the lack of privacy. Didn't bother us.

Overall, for this type of apartment accommodation and price, it is easy to see why it is ranked #1 in Sydney CBD. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cube apartments are worth considering for $/m2, but come at a cost of any type of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rycarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear rvcarse,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I will definitely pass on your kind words to Jean who strives to make every guest feel welcome. I am pleased to note that you experienced this first hand.

Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell St is conveniently located close to places such as World Square. As you have mentioned which provides guests with all they could need whilst travelling away from home including, but not limited to, supermarkets, restaurants and popular tourist attractions.

May I suggest on your next visit to book one of our 1 bedroom Sky view apartments. These apartments are located on our higher floors and command spectacular views west over the city.

Rvcarse, Thank you again for reviewing your experience and we hope to exceed your expectations again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Rhys A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
et the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped gymnasium and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Campbell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Meriton, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing