We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressive at this Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Impressive at this Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Check in was quick and fuss-free. My studio room was of a good size. I tried the washing machine and dryer, they work. Location is great, I ate at the Thai restaurant three times in a week. Five minutes walk to Town Hall train station. Incidentally the airport train stops at Town Hall station if you are familiar with the city. Free internet for up to 6 devices! And good connection speed as well. Staff was helpful. My airport shuttle was slightly late and they helped me by tracking down the driver. Room was generally clean. Now I am being fussy here considering this is a number one hotel on this site. There were two light brown stains on my bed sheet. The first day I left it alone thinking it will be gone when they change the it the next day. But it happens they don't change bed sheets everyday and the stain was with me for three days. Also, they charge for bottled water. I had taken for granted that two bottles are given free everyday as in most hotel. Not that they charge a lot so it was not a big issue. I am still very impressed though, just wish they had gotten a perfect score from me :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mengami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mengami,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to see you found our apartments accommodating and ideally located. As you mentioned, location is great! With buses and trains around the corner, getting around to the city is no trouble at all.

Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the stains you found on your bed linen. Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping manager for further investigation.

Overall, I am very happy you ended your experience impressed. Meriton certainly strive to provide the best in accommodation so again, thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,857
    1,198
    112
    29
    25
See reviews for
731
2,756
395
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was searching for a place to stay in Sydney for a week in early March 2013 and decided to settle on the Meriton on Campbell Street. My wife and I stayed there from March 3 to March 10 and we were extremely happy with the place. These are the reasons:

The location is excellent because it is: 1) One block from the Capitol Square light rail station where we boarded the light rail to various places including Darling Harbour, Star Casino and Central Station for connections to city trains; 2) One block from the bus stop to go to Circular Quay and The Rocks; and 3) closed to plenty of restaurants and shops near by.

The amenities are great! Our apartment looked very new, was clean, everything worked and the Wifi was fast and free.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We had bought some shuttle tickets for a ride back to the airport from the hotel at the end of our stay. When we realized the shuttle was late, we wanted to get a refund and take the taxi to the airport instead and staff was happy to refund our money.

There was a nice size safe in the bedroom where we kept our passports and money and that gave us a piece of mind.

What can be improved? I really can't think of any. Thank you Meriton for a great stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Bo C,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

I was so delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hold a convenient location with George Street right on your door step. Transport is no trouble at all.

As you mentioned, our apartments are very well-equipped that come with our complimentary selection or guest amenities. I was also very pleased to read you found our staff friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

Bo C, again thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Don't let the name apartment steer you away. This is a hotel but with a kitchen and laundry! Our room was great and beautiful. Laundry was a plus too. Free wifi and great friendly service. Very quiet too. Next to China town for great food and easy walk to the harbor and other areas. Also very safe areal. More centrally located than a lot of hotels we saw.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Duke 1969,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Meriton Serviced Apartments certainly are leading the accomodation industry in a completely new and exciting direction. Having the convenience of a fully operational Laundry and Kitchen in each apartment really does allows our guests to feel right at home!

Thank you again for taking the time to review your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again some time soon.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The best room ever that I have experienced in Sydney - The Meriton Cube Room. Absolute value for money and very very comfortable and luxurious.

- Great Location - Corner of Campbell and George. 5 minute walk from Central station. So just a 25 min travel time from the airport to the hotel if you take the Airport Express
- Staff is accommodating. Although we would have welcomed a walk-in morning check-in at 9.30 am, but I am sure they must be constrained with no rooms available
- Everything in the room functions and is provided for. The laundry and dryer were welcome options especially in the middle of a two week trip

Improvement:
- We didn't quite understand why housekeeping would everyday just do a basic service without even washing our glassware or basic cleaning of the drawing room. We just found a note saying that if you found a full service, let us know

Would definitely stay here especially if the price stays as attractive as 175 AUD all inclusive per night

The early check-in would have certainly earned full points for customer delight and I would have ranked it 5.

Room Tip: The higher the better! and definitely go for the Cube room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagerAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Agree with the other comments -an excellent place to stay when in Sydney - close to many of the sights, and right next to George Street. The bus stop for the free shuttle to Circular Quay is right outside. The large room was modern, clean and high quality. Addded bonus was a washing machine, seperate dryer, as well as a dishwasher. Only odd thing was the lack of a microwave - it seems that in a couple of rooms this is the case, but the reason was not clear.
Staff were friendly. Free WiFi (up to a generous limit). Can recommend the Thai restaurant next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear sgjsn,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It is great to read you found quality and convenience in our apartments. It is unfortunate not all our apartments currently feature a microwave, however this is something we have identified as important and the management team are working towards rectifying this senario.

Sgjsn, thank you again for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our group of 4 couples stayed here in mid January, 2013 for one night before boarding the cruise ship. We picked the location because it is well situated: not far from centers of attractions, right next to the main road with many transportation options, close to Chinatown and right across from the FREE inner city circle shuttle bus (#555) stop. The neighborhood is not upscale, but that was fine by us. The staff was very friendly and when we arrive early from the airport, let us check into our room. Since it is an apartment, you get a sitting room, small kitchen with appliances. The rooms were all very clean and all 4 couples were quite pleased with the accommodations. The room price was very reasonable for this high cost of living city (compared to US), especially there was a good discount when we booked. It was an easy walk to Chinatown (about 3-4 blocks) and took full advantage of it.

Room Tip: I paid a bit extra for the 'cube' configuration since it provided an enclosed, even though o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YL_GongGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear YL_GongGong,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

As you mentioned, our apartments offer all the comforts of home and convenience of city living at excellent value for money. It certainly sounds like you and your friends enjoyed your time here, which I was very pleased to read.

I was also pleased you were able to check in to your room earlier than 2pm. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our front desk staff.

Thank you again and from the team at Meriton Campbell Street we wish you a safe onwards journey.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location in Chinatown, good restaurants, fantastic service. This was our last hotel before heading home, pool and work out facilities were welcomed. Fantastic Thai restaurants 100 meters from the entrance. Washer and dryer in the room were a bonus. Walking distance to Central train station so it was perfect for what we needed to do our last couple of days.

Definitely recommend any of the Meriton hotels in the area!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuincytheCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear QuincytheCanuck,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and your apartment. As you mentioned, our apartments are located central to all needs when away from home. Some of Sydney's best kept secrets are all a stone throw from our front door.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Campbell Street and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
et the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped gymnasium and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Campbell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing