We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three working weeks made to seem like a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent three weeks here from 15 Feb to 7 March 2013. I was here for work so I did not think too hard about restaurants and entertainment when planning. However, this turned out to be be my all time best away-from-home work experience. It was great to have my own kitchenette so I did not have to eat out all the time, especially at breakfast. I much preferred it to a hotel. The location was lovely: a previous reviewer described it as "gritty"; absolutely not true. The place itself is luxurious and the restaurants around are far from gritty, they are excellent. There are numerous pharmacists, shops, liquor stores and restaurants around. Darling Harbour is a 10 minute walk and Circular Quay is ready accessible by buses. Central station is a few minutes walk away. The gym is good, the views are spectacular, the staff is great and the cleanliness is outstanding.

Room Tip: Floors 30 and above have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrakashP494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear PrakashP494,

Thank you for such a glowing review.

We certainly aim to provide a home away from home environment for our guests and this is particularly important for a traveller like yourself being away from home for an extended period. I was thrilled to read this has been your best trip away.

It looks like the fully equipped apartment, location and wonderful staff were the highlights of your trip.

We look forward to seeing you again next visit.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,705 - 4,711 of 5,640 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights in Feb. We stayed on the 30th floor, the view is spectacular. The room is spacious. We love the open concept of the kitchen and has been enjoying our breakfast every moning at the balcony. There is free WiFi in the room and surprised to find even Italian channel on the TV. The washer and dryer with compliment detergent makes our stay even more comfortable. Across the road is Starbucks where we can still have our morning espresso like home. The free shuttle bus stop that goes around the main sight seeing points is less than 5 minutes from walking. The Central Station is close by and we can take the train to explore outside the city. We joined a daily free tour of the city and the meeting point is just walking distance. Outside the hotel to the right is a Thai massage place where they give you an honest and reasonable massage. If you like Japanese food the Umi Kaiten-Zushi is 5 minutes walk away at Pitt St (corner of Hay and Parket); If you like Chinese and seafood, the Hingara at Dixon Street, Haymarket is very good and reasonable. We are Catholic and the Roman Catholic Church is 2 minutes walk way and the church is beautiful. Since it was Chinese New Year, there were lots of celebration around the area. We completely enjoyed our stay at this location and if we have to come back, we will certainly stay here again.

I agree with one of the previous comments that the pillow are a bit too high. Having said that everybody has their own preference. When I saw that comment, I brought my own pillow so that really helps.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked the Meriton on Campbell street after reading a few of the review here on TA, we also compaired it to a lot of other places as it is far from the cheapest place to stay.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to base oursleves for our Sydney stay, being right in the heart of China town allowed us to take a leasurly walk each night and check out the many places to eat, of which we never had a bad meal.
And being right across the road from the Capitol theartre was a bonus.

The coffee shop next door to the Meriton served one of the best coffees that we had during our stay, although their breakfast was ok.

The appartment was so quiet that we asked if there was anyone else on our floor, it turned out that the place was fully booked (Mardi Gras weekend).

Do yourself a favour, if your looking for a quiet, well setup place, within walking distanec to everthing, including the harbours, then you really can't go past the Meriton, well worth paying the extra money for.

Gary

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gstevens14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location. A bit expensive but totally worth it. All the amenities of a Hotel, but like being at home. Very spacious. Full kitchen and laundry. Very attentive and professioanl staff (thanks Lorainne!!!). Grocery store a block away (1 block north on George, at a huge shopping center). Very conveniently located to the Train Station (if you flight into Sydney and do not have a very heavy suitcase, you can take the train from the Airport to the Central Station and walk to the Hotel. There are also free buses during the day that will drop you in the corner of the Hotel (Campbell and George) from the train station. Starbucks accorss the street. Grayline pick up nearby (for those day tours you may want to take). Sydney is a fascinating city and there is sooo much to do you will probably be on your feet all day long. Tha'ts when having a room at the Meriton comes handy. Very clean, quiet, safe and centrally located. You'll be glad you stayed there. Enjoy!!!.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIACRUISER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Don't miss out on staying at this property. It is a first-rate apartment hotel! The staff was friendly and helpful. The cube apartment far exceeded my expectations. Lots of room, drawer and closet space, laundry inside the apartment, and free Internet! I had made my choice to stay here based on the prior guests reviews. And those reviews proved to be accurate. It is centrally located and convenient to access transportation to anywhere around Sydney. I will most definitely stay here the next time I'm in Sydney..or wherever there is a Meriton!

Room Tip: I had a cube apartment that faced Campbell near the corner of George Street. It was quiet despite be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Kelly C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.

I was thrilled to read we exceeded your expectations. We certainly do provide wonderful product which is reflected on Trip advisor. I was pleased to read you found previous review very accurate.

Together with the staff here at Meriton Campbell St, we look forward to welcoming you back here or at one of our other 10 locations.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The property is very clean and efficient. There isn't alot near it other than Asian restaurants and no bar to hang out in near by. Starbucks across the street is nice. Good showers, nice bed but the living room furniture is a bit stiff and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Keith K,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read you found the property clean and efficient.
As you have mentioned we are located practically in China town. It is a bustling end of the city. We are surrounded in restaurants, shops and bars as well has being very close to the new Darling Quarter.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back some time soon.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It was a very convenient stay. The location is fantastic and the rooms are clean and serviced everyday. There were tons of eating options around the property at any given hour. It is also conveniently located near Darling Harbour (10 min walking distance). I did not really have to interact with the staff, but they could answer my queries whenever I had one. They could have more information on things to do in Sydney in the rooms or at the reception though. Overall a very good place to stay for business travelers. It would also be a good option for those with kids I believe.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floor and facing George street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sambasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Sambasing,

Thank you for your 5 star review.

It is nice to read you enjoyed a very convenient stay with us.
We certainly are well located and surrounded with plenty of shopping and restaurant options.
Couple this with our brand new and well equipped apartments and you have an excellent accomodation option for everyone from the business traveller to families.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,352 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $136 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement take over as you make your grand entrance into our chic lobby. Be invited into luxury by our exceptional Guest Services staff, onsite 24 hours a day. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, spread across a remarkable 39 floors, which all feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings. Promising better value than a traditional hotel, our oversized Studio Suites, larger than the typical hotel room, offer a kitchenette and internal laundry facilities while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of home. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to unwind by watching the city life go by, from the higher floors of the hotel. Indulge in our exclusive spa and sauna facilities, or maintain your fitness with our fully-equipped fitness centre and heated indoor swimming pool. Situated amongst Chinatown, our guests can experience the Asian culture whilst in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing