We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived a little early for Check in but that was alright as we were able to go buy some groceries at the Coles supermarket a short walk away. Check in went smoothly and our 1 Bedroom Apartment was spotless and spacious. It was a little farther to the major sights then expected but that was alright as the weather was beautiful and the walk was great and there was lots of history along the way. The apartment was always spotless upon our return from our outing. The bed was very comfortable. The view wasn't what we were hoping for but for the amount of time that we actually spent in the room it didn't really matter. Overall everything about it was excellent and would highly recommend it. Thanks Meriton for a great stay for our first time in Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Lucy T,

Thank you for your fabulous review.

Our Apartments are located in the south of the CBD near China Town, which is close to Darling Harbour but as you mentioned some tourist attracts are a longer walk away. The next time you stay with us, why not take advantage of the free CBD shuttle bus number 555, which loops the city from Central to Circular Quay throughout the day.
Once again Lucy T, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,718 - 4,724 of 5,640 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first time stay at the Meriton apartments . We had a studio on the 19th floor for four nights in February. We chose this chain because of the great reviews and the size of the room compared to other studios. We were not disappointed. Its a great place to stay and not surprised of the great reviews. Tyson was particularly helpful . If this is representative of the Meriton chain we would thoroughly recommend them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our Skyview room (3805) was bright, clean and comfortable and modern. Well-furnished with comfortable bed, nice kitchen area and flat screen TV in lounge and bedroom. I was pleased to note that there was a small amount of washing powder / dishwasher tabs etc provided.
Long balcony and floor-to-ceiling windows that ran the length of the apartment which provided a great view, although as it was facing south-ish, it was of the parts of Sydney that you'd be less interested in seeing! No view of the harbour or main downtown area. Still spectacular though and my son enjoyed watching the planes come into land at the airport.

The apartments are well-located next to George Street and the free shuttle bus which runs all the way down to Circular Quay. Chinatown just around the corner. Starbucks across the road if that's your thing and a 7-11 just nearby. Whole bunch of other shops, bars, restaurants and supermarkets in very easy walking distance. Central Station is about 5-10 mins away

On a less positive note, despite politely requesting a 'high' Skyview floor both at the time of initially booking and in two subsequent phone calls, my young son and I were given the lowest Skyview floor possible (Level 24) on check-in, whilst a couple who arrived at the same time were given an apartment on Level 37! I was pretty disappointed in this and, although the reception staff were both pleasant and polite, it was only after some 'pushing' and digging my heels in that they relented and agreed to find us an alternative room.

One other thing to note, the Meriton Campbell Street provides storage of your bags and access to the pool area / towels after check-out, which is a nice (if not unexpected) touch. Be warned though that there doesn't appear to be anywhere to change other than the toilets off of the pool area, which were obviously rather wet and unsuitable for changing / leaving bags in as there was nowhere to sit or hang anything up. There may well be proper changing rooms somewhere but we couldn't find them! :-)

These quibbles aside, the Campbell Street is an excellent choice for a trip to Sydney

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davega2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Davega2234,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

As you mentioned, the hotel is located in China Town, which means there is an abundance of restaurants and shops located throughout the area. Please accept my sincerest apologies in regards to you check in experience. I can assure you that this is un-characteristic of our staff and I have passed on your comments to ensure we always assist with any requests guests have as much as we can.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check in was easy. Staff obliging. Room exceptional value. No view to speak of but it was clean, nicely appointed and quiet.
Check out was also very quick and easy.
No parking is the only issue however, guests are able to park at the Meriton Kent St or accross the road in the Campbell St car park, it is good but @ $60.00 per night it is almost the cost of the room.
We came to Meriton on a strong recommendation from our daughter who stays quite frequently.
We were certainly not disappointed.

Room Tip: We were on 11th level. Very quiet. Loked at the pool on level.10 looks very nice, maybe next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalyngra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear kalyngra,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, Meriton Campbell Street does not have guest parking on-site. We recommend to our guests to park at Meriton Kent Street for a discounted rate of $35.00 over night, which is a short walk away in the CBD.

Thank you again, for choosing to stay with us and please pass on our thanks to your daughter for her returned service. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice apartments, well furnished. Excellent service from reception staff, especially Shaun. Location is 30 metres from George Street, although the far end of George Street if you want to be near Circular Quay or Town Hall. Coles supermarket a short walk away for food supplies.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac75scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear mac75scotland,

Thank you for your recent review.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments onto Shawn, as it is comments like yours which continue to motivate our staff to provide excellence in service.

Again mac75scotland, thank you for your comments and on behalf of the staff here at Meriton Campbell Street, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the vast reception, we were bowled over by this place. The receptionists were all really helpful & polite and gave us advice on how to get around the amazing city of Sydney. We had a 'standard' room on the 32nd floor which was decorated & kitted out to an extremely high standard and having your own washer & dryer was a massive bonus too. The apartment gave us everything we needed for our 5 night stay and was suprisingly quiet. The location was second to none with George St on your doorstep so lots of bars, restaurants & supermarkets nearby and only a 10min walk to Darling Harbour and 20mins to Circular Quay (however, there is a free bus not far from the apartments which takes you there too). There is no doubt we'll be staying here again on our next visit to Sydney!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear lisamerton

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am pleased to read you found our apartments accommodating and suitable for your trip to Sydney. Our apartments are designed for living, so it is great to hear you found the in-room facilities convenient as well.
As you mentioned we do have a convenient location. George St is right on our door step and we are surrounded with transport options to take you in any direction.
It is also great to hear you found a reception staff helpful as well.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards
Rhys A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed here over the long Australia day weekend, and the place is fantastic. It's extremely well equipped and there's a pool, gym, spa and sauna. Though the spa was a little gross and quite small.

The place was really clean with modern decor, and the beds were pretty comfy. It was super close to China town, so it was great for eating, but a little far from city centre to do shopping. But it was close to public transport so it wasn't too bad.

We had a great experience overall, except when we left. We decided to hire a shuttle bus to the Airport through their reception since it was practically the same price as taking the train, and it was going to pick us up from the hotel. On the morning we were leaving, we waited for the bus and we thought it was running a little late and got a little concerned and contact the reception. The reception informed us that the booking didn't go through, and we were quite furious as we were worried that we were going to miss our flight.

I'm not sure what happened, but apparently the booking didn't go through. Although, they refunded our bus ticket, but I felt that they didn't take enough responsibility. We had to take a taxi due to being tight for time. I think at least they should have pay for some of our taxi fare. They were blaming the Bus company, but we bought the ticket from the apartment. It's their responsibility to ensure that this doesn't happen.

I think if you're planning to stay here, don't bother with the Airport Bus shuttle. You're better off finding your own way to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kwoylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,352 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $136 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement take over as you make your grand entrance into our chic lobby. Be invited into luxury by our exceptional Guest Services staff, onsite 24 hours a day. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, spread across a remarkable 39 floors, which all feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings. Promising better value than a traditional hotel, our oversized Studio Suites, larger than the typical hotel room, offer a kitchenette and internal laundry facilities while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of home. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to unwind by watching the city life go by, from the higher floors of the hotel. Indulge in our exclusive spa and sauna facilities, or maintain your fitness with our fully-equipped fitness centre and heated indoor swimming pool. Situated amongst Chinatown, our guests can experience the Asian culture whilst in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing