We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Best Deal in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #9 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a GREAT place.
Very clean (it's new). Nice staff, rooms were huge (we had a 1 bedroom). Full kitchen, washer and dryer. Lots of TV channels and taxi pickup right outside the building.

Right in the heart of Chinatown. Near buses and a few blocks from the train stop.

Nice heated lap pool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngSeaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear AngSeaWA,

Thank you for your fantastic review!

It is always a pleasure to hear from satisfied guests.
Im pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Meriton are now also on the Goldcoast and Brisbane as well as 8 locations across Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of your many locations sometime soon.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,102 - 5,108 of 5,828 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent location - walking distance to Chinatown, public transport.
A few doors away from one of Sydney's favourite cheap eats - Chat Thai.
Amazingly it was pretty quiet considering it was right in the heart of CBD. No noise coming from the traffic beneath.
Apartment smelled like new (only opened a year ago), and everything was pristinely clean. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment.
Downside - (1) bed was a tad too soft (not firm) (2) housekeeping did not replenish hand/bath soaps.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calendula1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear calendula1801,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our location ideal.
We are located right in the heart of the action. An ideal springboard to dive into all Sydney has to offer.
I am also pleased you enjoyed your apartment. As you have mentioned they are brand new and offer all the creature comforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Pros: Very new, clean, modern and spacious, especially the bathroom, excellent kitchenette with dishwasher, full size fridge, microwave and even stove top. Great location, close to train stations, the free city shuttle and to shops, restaurants, cafes, etc. Service was pleasant, was offered an 11am checkout when asked which was nice*

Cons: Only very minor issues - the elevators are painfully slow, the shower head was a tiny water saving one with little to no pressure, was offered the later checkout yet we still had a knock on our door at 1030am asking what time we were checking out.

But overall would definitely stay again, great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddy255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Maddy255068,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like our apartments ticked just about all the boxes.

I am glad we able to assist with a later checkout also. Sometimes it is the little things that make a big difference.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our 11 locations in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhys Adams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room was excellent.

The bed was so soft that the girl friend slept on the couch and I slept four hours a night and woke up screaming.

Our vacation was ruined.

I will not stay at Meriton.

They have received complaints and do nothing. The most horrible hotel experience in Asia.

Room Tip: Check to see if the bed sucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Kent B,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us, and found our beds uncomfortable. I would like to discuss this and your entire stay further with you. Would you please contact me via 'tripadvisor@meriton.net.au'

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Location's of utmost importance to me and this was located in an excellent location. It was in the city but along a street where traffic is not too crazy. We practically walked everywhere! One of the famous Thai restaurants, Chat Thai is located just a feet away from us.

It has an indoor swimming pool and gym facilities for anyone who wants to work out a sweat.

It also houses everything; from the dryer to the washing machine and it had all the appliances needed for one to whip up a feast (if required). Very chic and modern layout.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Piao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear PiaoLee,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback and High reccommendation.

Location is everything and as you said you can walk everywhere from Meriton Campbell St. There is also a number of transport options right at our door step.
We are surrounded by some fantastic restaurants serving all kinds of cuisines.

Location coupled with brand new Chic apartments and friendly staff, your sure to enjoy a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Think outside the box while visiting Sydney. Enjoy the comforts of Meriton's Serviced Apartments instead of a cramped hotel room. The staff was helpful, the views spectacular, and the apartment spacious. The next time we're in Sydney, we're definitely staying at Campbell St.
There's even an airport shuttle available. Kudos to MSA and Tim Doyle for an outstanding property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEW03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear DEW03,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

It is always very rewarding to read such positive feedback.

Hotel accomodation has changed and Meriton have experienced first hand guests moving from the old style small hotel rooms to our Large apartments built for living.

I am thrilled we were able to tick all of your boxes and i'll be sure to pass on your praise to Tim.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our 11 locations in the near future.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The good:
- we had a cube apartment which was great and spacious and far better than a hotel room!
- gym facilities
- kitchen adequately stocked with utensils
- good selection on the telly
- location - for a short stay for tourists, it's not the perfect place, which for me would be closer to the harbour, but it's pretty damn good still, and still accessible. A longer walk down to the water with shops all the way. It is in the heart of china town and backpacker hostelville though. Still, good enough to be a plus point!

The bad:
- thought the housekeeping was lacking and they didn't do much in terms of replacing anything
- that little nugget of "$100 fine if you don't take out your trash on your last day" - luckily I had read someone mention it on Tripadvisor - as they make you sign their terms and conditions of which this is one - and then sneakily don't give you a copy to take away! And it's not displated anywhere else!! I think that is just a terrible way to try and make a bit of extra money on their part

The ugly:
- none

Would I recommend or stay again?
YES!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonder2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Wonder2006,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your Cube apartment, it certainly is a fantastic accomodation option compared with a regular hotel room.

Just to clarify, we do impose an extra cleaning charge should the apartment be left in an unexceptable condition. This is to cover the addition costs of cleaning.

General use of an apartment will not incur this charge.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 181 in Sydney
3,294 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $111 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement take over as you make your grand entrance into our chic lobby. Be invited into luxury by our exceptional Guest Services staff, onsite 24 hours a day. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, spread across a remarkable 39 floors, which all feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings. Promising better value than a traditional hotel, our oversized Studio Suites, larger than the typical hotel room, offer a kitchenette and internal laundry facilities while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of home. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to unwind by watching the city life go by, from the higher floors of the hotel. Indulge in our exclusive spa and sauna facilities, or maintain your fitness with our fully-equipped fitness centre and heated indoor swimming pool. Situated amongst Chinatown, our guests can experience the Asian culture whilst in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing