We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can do one tour, do this one!”
Review of Kangarrific Tours

Kangarrific Tours
Ranked #1 of 91 Food & Drink in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It's not only a wine tour, but a wildlife, chocolate, cheese and beer tour! A day trip from Sydney, try some amazing wines at small picturesque boutique wineries, as well as visit a chocolate factory, taste some local cheeses and visit a brewery. Our morning tea with kangaroos, koalas and other native animals is a very special experience too with sightseeing in the beautiful Hunter Valley countryside. Private tours are also a specialty for families and/or friends. Join us! Would love to have you along. Sydney city tours are also available.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you can do one tour, do this one!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Well organized, smooth running and FUN. Sam does an outstanding job! What I liked was after a very short time, it felt more like you were out on a day trip with a long time friend than with a bored tour guide. We visited a wild life park that was outstanding, three great winery's, a boutique chocolate factory, a cheese shop and a micro brewery. Each stop was fun and informative. Though the focus is as a wine tour, I can say even if you do not drink this is still a great value for your money and time. The scenery and other tour aspects alone were worth the investment. This was one of the highlights of two weeks in Australia. I would do it again the next time I get "down under".

Highly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FarAwayFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    45
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fabulous day for a great price”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We had such a good day with Sam on this tour.... Really does pack a lot in without feeling rushed at all - getting up close to some amazing Aussie wildlife, chocolate factory, three wine tastings (two of which are chosen by Sam depending on what those on the tour like drinking), cheese tastings, amazing lunch venue and options, and a brewery! Well worth it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Customized & Great Guide”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This tour was perfect. The guide asked us what types of wine we liked and he then took us to vineyards that specialized in that wine. So it was “customized” to some extent. He had great recommendations and I learned a lot from him and the owners of the vineyards. He is also a bit comical, which makes the ride much more enjoyable. I would and have highly recommended this tour to my friends.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CVail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Day Trip!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Sam was incredible! We had a week in Sydney/Noosa and I must say, this was the best full day we had on our visit. My girlfriend and I had such an amazing day playing with the local animals, a quick stop tasting chocolates, heading to the local brewery, and most importantly, visiting some boutique wineries of the Hunter Valley. As many mainstream wines in this region are available in the local bottle shops and found internationally, it was great to visit some of the smaller, high quality producers. The intimate setting we had at each cellar door really allowed us to dictate the conversation and desired conversation/experience. Sam really tries to figure out what kind of grape the majority prefers, and tailors the experience around these preferences. So DON'T BE SHY! If there is something particular you have been wanting to try and or purchase to take home, Sam is incredibly knowledgeable in Hunter Valley varietals. I would say if you are looking for a pure winery trip this is NOT the tour for you. However if you are looking for a Hunter Valley Wine tour with 3-4 quality boutique wineries and several activities along the way all for under $100, how can you resist?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun day out”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Recommend this as a great day trip out of Sydney. If you are over the crowds, noise and shopping, a trip to the Hunter Valley is great fun with Sam. My family group were not really wine drinkers, but we did learn a lot about the Valley and the varieties of grapes grown, and were converted to some really nice wines, which we purchased. Our favorite stop was to the cheese shop, lots of yummy cheese to taste and buy, and a great hamburger lunch next door. Sam is very informative about the Valley and happy to answer any questions. We had a great group on the bus from different countries, and all chatted and got on well for the day. Sam was very kind and dropped us off at our accommodation when we returned. Saved us a long walk home.
Thanks again Sam.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tubbie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangarrific Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Kangarrific Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing