We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chefs Gallery

Chefs Gallery
Reserve with
Chefs Gallery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #175 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Chefs Gallery is a Sydney Chinese dining experience like no other. Its exceptional menu presents masterpieces from all corners of China in a sumptuous kaleidoscopic explosion of fresh and exciting flavours, textures and aromas. At Chefs Gallery we embrace the Chinese cultural heritage of sharing meals - where dining is casual in its structure with no designated entrees or main courses. Instead, our Chapas (Chinese style tapas) offers an extensive range of creative dishes with a modern twist that are specially prepared in delicious small portions for sampling and sharing with family and friends. Among these are some traditional and familiar dishes that have also been given the Chefs Gallery Chapas treatment. The signature Chefs Gallery fresh, handmade noodles take centre stage behind the glass-walled kitchen. Patrons can watch the culinary theatre as balls of special noodle dough are transformed to form the finished twists of delicate noodles, in a blur of dexterous hand movements by the master noodle chef. From traditional noodles to new flavours like spinach and squid ink, these silken strands are all freshly prepared, being pulled, split and folded in minutes and cooked specifically to your order.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Went on a recommendation and was not disappointed. Great food and well priced. Loved the open kitchen but disappointed with the one hour table limit. Will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgoniBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefsGallery, Manager at Chefs Gallery, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Pleased that you had a pleasant dining experience, and we thank you for your understanding and cooperation regarding time limit.

If you have a minute, please like our facebook page: facebook.com/ChefsGalleryRestaurant
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    191
    57
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dumplings!:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I've wanting to go to this place for a while! I went on a Monday night with a friend so thankfully didn't have to wait long for a table. The interior is lovely and the open kitchen was so interesting to see! The waitress that helped was superb- when I explained that we were dining here for the first time she took her time and explained the whole menu(which was a bigggg selection!) and my gosh very happy with her suggestions as we both loved all food served. We had a sampler platter, roti roll with pork, jiajangmen, pork ribs and lovely dessert! The dessert were themes Halloween- too cute to eat! The dumplings were one of the best ive tasted! i think we orderes too much though! Def recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaeN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefsGallery, Manager at Chefs Gallery, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many other delicious and great-looking dishes for you to try next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
508 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“One of the Best Chinese Restaurants Ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We strolled past this beautiful place a few times on our way from the hotel to Darling Harbour and back. At our fifth or sixth time we couldn't resist it and walked in. The place was packed (Good sign already....) and we were given a number on the tiniest slip of paper we had ever seen.
After a 15 minute wait we were seated. It turned out to be well worth the wait!!
The restaurant is very nicely decorated and the kitchen is open for viewing (Through glass windows) which was fascinating, especially the fresh noodle preparation!!
The menu was beautifully presented and extremely varied. We shared a few starters and some main dishes.
Whatever we ordered was incredible. The spicy won-ton soup was huge and delicious. The roasted duck was divine. The vegetable pot-stickers were exquisite. These are just a few of the dishes that come to memory. Everything was first class and beautifully presented.
I dare say this was probably one of the best, if not The best Chinese restaurant I have ever visited. Don't Miss It!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the site of our first dinner on arrival in Sydney. It was very busy and we ended up sitting near the door on a chilly evening but that was okay. We all enjoyed our meals, noodles or rice with chicken or pork. Yummy. Dessert was interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ledunkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Food for a Decent Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I don't personally know how authentic the food is, but its definitely good. Its also slightly cheaper than most Sydney restaurants in terms of value for money. Anyway, try to make a reservation, usually its full. Also get the dumplings, they are adorable and you'll thank me later.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tamim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chefs Gallery also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Chefs Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing