We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a hurry want great food?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xage

Xage
Ranked #674 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“In a hurry want great food?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is not a place to eat at leisure. They get you in fast and you are not encouraged to hang around. However on both of my visits the service has been great, efficient, polite and accurate! Some seating is on benches so you may well find yourself sat next to strangers. The food however is why you come. I had the pork belly and my friend a beef dish. Both were fantastic. I have eaten in lots of vietnamese noodle type places but this has a good deal more substance. It is not cheap but then the food itself isn't. This is well cooked quality ingredients and this is reflected in the price. I have been impressed both visits and so have people I have brought along. On a warm evening this is a great stop off point before setting off to the bars and clubs of Surrey Hills. Recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    44
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
338 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Food ! Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited Xage on a Monday night as it was my daughters birthday and it was bustling with customers. My son in law is a chef and he picked our courses to share and try. The food was modern , interesting and really fresh and delicious. The waiters were very efficient and helpful.
I have eaten at quite a few Vietnamese restaurants and this one stands out as the food isn't the stock standard dishes one would come to expect. Be sure to book as it is popular !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeePodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A little piece of Vietnam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have eaten here twice now and really enjoyed it You can only book if its an early sitting. The staff are friendly and helpful. The menu offers a good choice Portions could be a bit larger
Only real downside is the noise level.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 255060Charlie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Trendy Contemporary Vietnamese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited Xage for dinner one Friday night having been recommended the place by a colleague at work.

It is located in the 'strip' of fashionable bars and restaurants in the heart of Surry Hills on Crown Street.

The place is relatively small with cosy tables squashed close together. It is styled in a contemporary way, unlike the cafe feel of many Vietnamese establishments, with dark furniture and nice artwork.

The front windows are totally open - which makes the place light and airy.

We'd booked a table and were shown it on time - having bought a couple of bottles of wine at the local bottleshop nearby (about a couple of minutes walk South on Crown).

Food was fabulous - like the decor a more modern take on Vietnamese.

We started with spring rolls (deep-fried with chicken and a rich mushroom making a deep flavour perfectly complimented by the dipping sauce, fresh rolls with prawn served with a piquant green chilli sauce, and duck with a sweeter dipping sauce.

For mains we have a prawn coleslaw salad - prawns perfectly cooked on a delicious salad with a skill-fully blended sweet and hot sauce. We also had red chicken with stir-fried rice - the cubes of chicken perfectly moist inside, with a rich rice & veg dish. Lastly we enjoyed the salt and pepper squid - served in a more tempura style, with some perfectly fried veg.

I have to say we really enjoyed the food - and could have done with slightly bigger portions - especially the squid!

All in all $90 - which given the quality of the food, corkage, and place itself was very reasonable.

There are many comments on here about the service - we found it pleasant, professional, and friendly. To give an example when you BYO the team brought perfectly chilled wine coolers. We were brought fresh iced water throughout the meal, and when ordering the waiter let us know that one of our previous choices (a slow-cooked pork dish) was quite fatty - so we had the choice to take it or choose something else.

We'll be back, and would heartily recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidIsMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked a table for 8.30 and had to wait until almost 9 to be seated. Then at 10, with plenty of food still left on the table, was told to pay the bill and leave! Would have minded a bit less if the service up to then had been quick and efficient. Even had to ask where the rice was at one point - and was told they had run out! In a Vietnamese restaurant?! The food itself was average. All in all Sydney has a lot better to offer.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAJLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xage also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Xage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing