We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meat!”
Review of Chophouse

Chophouse
Ranked #147 of 5,891 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $57
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Chophouse is located at 25 Bligh St Sydney. Designed as a tribute to the old New York steakhouse, Chophouse references a bygone era. Inspired by the industrial & perhaps even a subtle nod to the rawness of the abattoir, the building’s original substructure has been unearthed. |Elements have been stripped back to their raw, primitive nature while maintaining a certain edge & sex appeal. Chophouse is a culinary and visual experience....
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good meat!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very good food, the wines are ridiculously priced and the staff is a bit pretentious but I really enjoyed the food. Pork belly salad issublime.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    139
    51
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Their degustation dinners are out of this world.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

As per my last review, I'll declare I'm clearly a Chophouse fan but what's been drawing us back with 8-10 of our friends each month have been their degustation and Colonial Beef Steak Club nights, which are held in a cozy room upstairs. Their ability to prepare amazing produce sourced directly from primary producers and pair them with superbly complimentary wines is just breathtakingly good. And unlike every other degustation you go to, they're not measly with the portions or the wine. Its great to hear the sommelier and chef for each event go through how each was sourced, their inspiration and how it came together and if you have a specific allergy they'll happily prepare something equally considered for you.
I guess, the only tip I have is if you're going to a CBSC or degustation night here, arrive hungry and leave in a cab!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great downtown location with excellent service (seriously outstanding) and pretty good food. The steaks were cooked exactly as you ordered and the sides very very tasty. A little pricy but considering the location and service it is justified, assuming you like and appreciate good steak.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another good burger”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I am on the chase for the best burgers around. And I am not talking your local takeaway shop burger, but the gourmet burgers that are becoming more popular by the minute in the best restaurants around. So this visit to the Chophouse, I had to try the burger. It was good. Not too big/small. Tasty angus mince on a freash bun. I was also pleased it came with some chips. A lot of places will have the chips etc... as a side. Rating Burger 3.5/5, Outside Seating 4/5, Service 4.5/5. Overall a nice lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben9487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“if you love a chop....”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

this place is great!! the staff are fantastic and the food is sublime. only 1 fault it's a little dark which is a shame because the waiters are spunks and it's hard to perve without being obvious. do yourself a favour and get some meat on your fork.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silvermasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing