We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!!”

City Sightseeing Sydney
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.36*
and up
Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
$40.36*
and up
Sydney Shore Excursion: Sydney and Bondi Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #130 of 342 Tours in Sydney
Attraction details
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This was the biggest waste of money when we were in Sydney. Sure, some of the buses are new but the ones we experienced were dirty and in very poor condition - on one of them there was a rotten old apple on the back and water flooded inside when it was raining. When inside the bus (which we had no choice as it was raining) you could not hear a word of the commentry as the engine was so loud which to be honest was not even worth hearing most of the time. When we did get chance to sit on top and hear it, it was poorly timed (the driver must control when it plays) and inconsistent. We were so unimpressed with the service that we asked for a refund both to a person and in email, we have yet to have any sort of response. Please take my advice and take the free walk tour. It's a relatively small city and if you are able you can do most of it on foot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    16
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walk or use public transport”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My girlfirend and I used this service to get around the city. They claim a 24 hour ticket, but the last bus service is at 7pm. The staff was very rude, the audio commentary was very poor and the bus itself was in bad condition regarding the price paid.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose-Rlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Do this as last resort ”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been on city sightseeing bus tours before and found them to be a good way of seeing a city quickly. However, the canned commentary was worse than useless! It would cut half way through, repeat things 3 times, and generally was quite boring.

The best way we have experienced this tour is round New York where the guides are continually talking in time with where the bus is- if it's stuck in a jam then they find other nuggets of info. Also, you can ask them questions about what you have heard or seen.

If you're here only a short time (hours) then perhaps it's still worth it, but otherwise I'd do a walking tour or just check it out yourself with the help of some guide books!

Helpful?
2 Thank ang186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great way to get a feel of the city”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I took the wife and kids on this tour reluctantly (I thought I'd be bored), but I was wrong to be hesitant about going.

It was a fantastic way to see Sydney and the prerecorded commentary was so insightful.

I managed to get some great pics of interesting sights. And being able to hop on and off the busses around Sydney was a great help too.

Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dreadful!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

They advertise every 15-20 minutes, well we waited 45 minutes! We passed 1 bus that had broken down and ended up getting off ours as the back doors wouldn't close and the alarm was going off constantly. The commentary was worse than useless, never matching up to where we were, and jumping ahead just when it started getting interesting. Total rubbish, they don't tell you anything interesting. We have been on city sightseeing tours in Dublin, New York and San Francisco and enjoyed them but this was just plain awful. Don't waste your money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Sydney also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing