We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #83 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bayswater Hotel during our stay in Sydney.

This was the 6th stop on our RTW-trip and we arrived in Sydney, coming from Auckland on a Saturday evening. Since we only got to the hotel at 10 pm the nightclubs were already booming and streets were filled with (semi-) drunk party people. Having compared hotels and reviews on Tripadvisor we came prepared for some street noise and crowded streets and this was exactly what we got.

We both are in our mid-twenties so we enjoy some good nightlife but nevertheless asked for a room as high up and as far to the back as possible We got a room on the third floor at the end of the hallway (I think the room number was 312).

This kept away the noise from the Bayswater Road but apparently there is also a street in the back so still heard people yelling all night. I can’t imagine the windows being double glass as we could follow every conversation (and my English isn’t that good) and I assume reviews would be more positive if they just made this improvement.

Rooms are clean and had everything we needed except for a safe but are really small and although there is a big closet in the corner, there is little space to put your bags.
Especially if you use the bench at the end of the bed to put your decorative pillows)
About 3 feet on both sides of the bed and 4 feet between the door/writing desk and bed.

Since we were only staying here for 5 days and didn’t plan on spending a lot of time in our room, we didn’t unpack and it didn’t really bother us but I can imagine it being inconvenient for longer stays.

Bathroom is comparable with the room itself: clean and everything we needed but I don’t think a big guy would be able to take a comfortable shower as there is barely any space to move around. I understand housing prices in Sydney are high and hotel rooms are smaller than the ones you will find in other cities but even our room in New York was bigger and they are quite famous for having small rooms.

Staff was friendly, helped us out whenever we had questions,were obviously well aware of the noise problems and did their best to be of service.

In a nutshell:

PRO:

· 10/15 min. walk to Botanic Gardens and a bit further to city centre

· Kitchenette and internet (2 computers) available in lobby

· Plenty of information on tours and trips

· Friendly and helpful staff

· Lots of restaurants, bars and clubs around

CON:

· (Bath)room is way to small

· A lot of street noise in the room (no double glass)

· No complementary Wifi (not even slow-speed)

· No safe in the room



For the nightly rates you pay at this hotel I think at least the last 3 con’s should be taken care of. After all new windows, a safe and a minimum of connectivity don’t cost the world and would improve guest’s comfort tremendously.

Room Tip: Top floor and somewhere in the middle should block out noises from the streets at both sides
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
There are newer reviews for The Bayswater Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I found this hotel to be very convenient and well worth the price. Although the room was a bit small, the décor and trendy furniture made up for it. It is walking distance from the train and buses making it very easy to get around. After 11pm, you also need a swipe key to enter the building, so it almost impossible for random people to walk in and out. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They also have computers and a microwave near the lobby. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel if your looking to have a cheap yet enjoyable time in Sydney!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolo232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Bayswater is an extremely good value hotel right in the heart of Kings Cross. You can't beat it for location although bear in mind that brings with it a bit of overnight noise - even on the higher floors. From the hotel it is an easy 15 minutes walk to the city and just two minutes to the train station.
The room was compact but fine and yes, the bathroom is small but adequate. King Deluxe room had a huge bed which was very comfortable. Hotel guests can make full use of the fitness centre right beside the hotel.
For me one of the highlights was the little well equipped kitchenette on the ground floor where we could make our breakfast and sit and watch the news or use the internet. Wifi must be purchased but the fixed computer is available for use.
Staff were friendly and helpful and stored two bikes for us overnight while we were cycling.

You can do much worse than the Bayswater if you are looking for cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Small bathroom, shower door doesn't open very far before it hits the toilet! And tripped on the step into bathroom many times! Good price. Plenty of great food nearby. Can walk to cbd. Great for a night or two. Bring your earplugs, it's noisy area on a Saturday night. Woke to the awful, strong smell of cigarette smoke from outside our window, yuk!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra and Aaro... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Be aware this is in the red light district, but it's only a block from the train system, so you can get where you need to go quickly. The hotel staff are most kind and helpful, and the beds are comfortable. There are great coffee shops just steps away, as well.

Room Tip: Get one away from the street if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at The Bayswater Sydney for 5 nights with my partner and I have nothing bad to say about the place.
After reading other reviews we came to expect a smallish sized room and some street noise but otherwise our stay was nothing short of awesome. We stayed in the Deluxe King Room and I've never seen such a big bed.
Great location with everything within walking distance or a short train/bus ride away.
Lovely and helpful staff with daily cleaning making our trip that much more enjoyable. Would have no hesitation staying here again! 5 Stars

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear of the hotel are quieter away from street noise Deluxe King Rooms have huge size...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at the Bayswater with a group of my classmates for about two weeks. The friendly staff was always accommodating and the rooms (while on the smaller side) were very clean and comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located down the street from the Kings Cross station, which made it especially easy to travel around the city. I'd definitely book a room at the Bayswater for future trips to Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 178 in Sydney
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $93 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing