We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couples holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #77 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“couples holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

me and my husband stayed for 5 nights on the do not disturb deal, everything is walking distance
bed was so comfy, we heard kings cross first night nut only cos we left the window open when we closed it we couldn't hear anything, all in all a good trip would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    371
    153
    30
    22
See reviews for
53
344
125
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you are young and looking at having a bit of a weekend out I recommend this place highly! the bed was amazing and straight out into Kings Cross, short walk to the city and Oxford st. Was easy to get anywhere in Sydney since Kings Cross Station as just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGM101291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Well and nicely renovated clean hotel in Kings Cross. If you want to look for a hotel that's not overpriced in Sydney, and yet close enough to the CBD area, this is probably one of them that I would recommend.

Kings Cross Train Station is also within close walking distance.

The hotel offered a "Do Not Disturb" Deal which is reasonably more affordable. The deal is that for the reduced rates offered, there won't be any housekeeping Services.. But if you run out of coffee, tea and other amenities in the room, you can always get them from the lobby!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

An innocuous looking entrance just off Kings Cross in a good location for that area of Sydney (15 mins by tube to the harbour). Hotel was clean. Room was on the small side and bathroom was tiny. Giant shower cubicle (the shower was great) meant you banged your knees when on the loo and could barely stand in front of the sink. The room did have a window, but it was squashed in the corner overlooking a narrow dark alleyway from which you could barely see the sky. It did let the noise of the drunk singing people on the very busy street outside echo around the room at 3am however! It followed the irritating trend of assuming people in hotels don't like to be able to see what they are doing with inadequate lighting. Bed was very large and comfortable. On the day we had a lie in and left the do not disturb on the door it appears by going out at lunchtime we lost the chance of clean towels and a made up bed as despite the sign on the door asking for the room to be cleaned we came back in the evening to find noone had been in. A well priced hotel, and it was in a good location for us, despite the irritations noted above.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarenceAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would raise this rating to 4/5 if this hotel would sever its association with the airport shuttle service it uses (which unfortunately went by the fairly generic name "Sydney Shuttle", variants of which are used by several companies). I stayed at the Bayswater twice, and 3/4 trips to/from the airport I used the trains, which worked fine. Unfortunately the last time I tried using the shuttle (which is slightly cheaper, and I thought would be easier as it's door-to-door). I booked the night before, but it was over half an hour late - by the time it _arrived_ at the hotel, I could have been at the airport if I'd used the train. After my waiting 40 minutes, up pulls an unmarked white van... yeah, that's not sketchy at all. (I saw several marked airport vans from other shuttle companies on the way, so it's not liked unmarked is the standard.) The rude and brusque driver at one point stopped the van and walked away with no explanation, and was gone for 8 minutes - not picking up anyone, no obvious reason. The passengers just sat there looking at each other, wondering if we were going to make our flights. The unsafe, reckless driving didn't appear to make up much time, given the weird detours we went on.

Apart from that... the hotel itself is pretty good. Small room, but adequate if you don't need floor space. The room was comfortable and clean - you may be worried given the appearance of the street, but this hotel is nice inside. However, I was pretty annoyed that the bedroom and bathroom floors don't line up, and it's not a full step, either - it's just ~2cm offset, hard to see but plenty to stub your toe on. That's just stupid. I asked for a quieter room, got one in the back, and the noise wasn't bad at all, even on a Saturday night. That said, this is Kings Cross, and if you're looking for a quiet, pleasant neighborhood, look elsewhere. The hotel is easily accessed from the Kings Cross rail station, but you will have a transfer trains if coming from the airport. Decent restaurants are nearby.

Circular Quay (Opera House, Sydney Harbor Bridge, the wonderful botanical gardens) is within walking distance if you don't mind a bit of walking. You can also go on the train. Despite not being the greatest neighborhood, Kings Cross didn't actually feel unsafe, certainly not during the day.

I might look elsewhere if I were to visit Sydney again, but that's because of the location rather than the hotel. It's probably hard to do better than this place for the price. If they severed all ties with that awful shuttle service, I'd happily recommend the hotel. (Note that they work only with this one shuttle service, so they really have selected this one - awful - company out of all the shuttle service available in Sydney.)

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room (in the back) to help avoid some of the Kings Cross noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G6p6742m11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent stay at the Bayswater, good location in kings cross close to the train station and also only a 15 minute walk to the centre. Hotel is very clean and housekeeping was everyday. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Small double room was ample size for one and contained fridge, coffee/tea facilities, TV.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulblue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We original chose the Bayswater because of a deal they were offering, but I'm glad we did.
Hotel is right in Kings Cross as from there we could walk or train to everything we wanted.

Staff were really helpful and I'd like to say a big thank you to the lady working nights (didn't get her name) she was really good.

Rooms are small, but really you don't need a lot of room when you should be out enjoying the town.
Kings cross can be noisy and our first night there a room on our floor got kicked out for bring the party back to their room, but that isn't the hotels fault. Overall in the room we were in I didn't hear a lot of the night club noise.

I would stay here again when going back to Sydney.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#99 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#136 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#104 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#69 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,992 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Property: The Bayswater Sydney
Address: 17 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing