We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bayswater Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #74 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just following up on my bad review of the Bayswater, now that I can post again. Everything was fine after they moved me to a room where you could turn round without danger of bruising. Quiet, clean, comfortable, good aircon during very hot weather. Nice coffee at Bayswater Bru next door, a supermarket in the next block, and pretty much every service you need close at hand, including a taxi rank and bus stop just outside the front door. Lee on the front desk was very helpful with extra towels and such. Would return, but not to an el cheapo room organised by the people I was working for. Moral of the story? Pay for your own room and charge it to expenses.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room, not the small ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tortoise3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a better experience than your last! As I say to many guests, we have a plethora of room types to suite all different travel budgets. It sounds like you yourself would have chosen the larger rooms but the company you were travelling for had chosen a smaller room. I'm glad to hear it was all sorted in the end.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Reviews are so important, both to us and to future travellers, so thank you for contributing.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    409
    162
    33
    24
See reviews for
56
369
140
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
738 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived by train from the airport and King Cross station is not far.
The location is not bad but also not very good. I can imagine that an accomodation in the centre is much better.
Anyway, the quality of the accomodation is very high. The only thing is that one night we found a cockroach in the room.
The people of the place are very kind and a good thing is the two PC with internet where you can surf the internet and also do the check in online and then print the boarding card.
The prices of accomodation in Sydney are quite high.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Although there are hotels in the centre of Sydney City, these hotels tend to be very expensive and don't really offer the local feel that we offer up here in Potts Point/Kings Cross. I do hope you got to see why people choose to stay in this unique local area, which is only 1 kilometre out from the centre anyway.

In Australia, cockroaches are not the same as other parts of the world. They don't mean a place is dirty, we just have many bugs and other creepy crawlies in Australia that other countries don't have. Furthermore, when it rains they tend to get disrupted and come out to play :) We do have the building sprayed regularly by pest control, so please know that we are a very hygienic hotel that have passed all government inspections.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Reviews are so important, both to us and to future travellers, so thank you for contributing.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great location, great service, beautiful room. Thanks for a wonderful stay. This is the second time i stayed and i found it easy, very affordable and great location for both evening events and morning breakfast locations. Clean and well appointed rooms and amenities. Love!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, thanks for also using our own Sydney Lodges website to book your room direct with the hotel.

We're so glad you came back to stay again! It's the best compliment you can give a hotel, a return visit! We love having you stay with us, Tamara, and look forward to your next stay with us.

Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here and was initially worried about the location as I was a single traveller but it was excellent. Close enough to be able to walk to and from Circular Quay and Darling Harbour or catch a train from the station opposite. Staff were super friendly and I was lucky enough to have my room upgraded to a very large king and double room. I was at the back of the hotel so the street noise was not a problem and although there are some strange characters around when you walk through the main street I never once felt concerned.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thanks for booking direct also using our own Sydney Lodges website!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Kings Cross is not the scary place people think it is, and we're glad you found this to be so. It's a fabulous colourful area with so much to see and do, it sounds like you enjoyed it yourself!

Thanks for taking the time to review The Bayswater Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

if you are visiting the Kings Cross Night clubs - then this is ideal. I'm glad I had ear plugs else there would have been problems.

The staff were very friendly. All of them. Infact couldn't be more so.

The $12 shuttle was great too. Made life much easier to get to airport.

Close to Kings Cross station too.

They have access to the Gym nearby - I didn't use it but would have if not so busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thank you for booking direct with us using our own Sydney Lodges website!

We're very happy to hear you found the hotel ideal for what you needed.

Thanks for taking the time to review The Bayswater Sydney, we look forward to seeing you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at Bayswater for just 1 night on the weekend, my friend and I shared the King room and it was great. Perfect for an overnight stay! It is so close to all the night clubs, which made it even more perfect for us as we were coming back and forth between the clubs and hotel all night. It is literally 10 meters from The World Bar for all those people who enjoy partying there! Staff were so friendly and helpful, bed was comfy and room was super clean!
thank you so much Bayswater, I will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a back room so you don't get the Kings Cross noise during the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieCollins92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney.

It sounds like you had a great time staying with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for taking the time to review The Bayswater Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan, S Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this hotel, initially for the price. This was our first visit to Australia, and my Hubby and I wanted to visit Sydney for a couple of nights. The room was clean and of plentiful size; the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom more than adequate! Staff were very helpful from the off; if you do book to stay here, contact them for shuttle transfers as they are only $12 each and arrive at the hotel on a very regular basis.

Transport to get around Sydney was in very easy reach from the hotel; the 'Hop on Hop off' bus could be caught literally around the corner, and there was also plenty of ordinary bus stops and the train station in the same area.

If we are lucky enough to go to Sydney again, we would not hesitate in staying at the Bayswater again!

Room Tip: Request a 'quiet' room, the view's not wonderful, but the peace and quiet is worth it, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bethyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney, and thanks for booking direct also using our own Sydney Lodges website!

It's great to hear you got to take advantage of the $12 shuttle back to the airport on your departure, as well as the hop-on-hop-off bus while you were here. We loved having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#102 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vulcan Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#72 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Property: The Bayswater Sydney
Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing