We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, but some worries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #10 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good Value, but some worries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good value for a hotel in central Sydney (where hotels are very expensive). Room was generally well equipped but quite small, and lighting pretty dreadful (our room looked in to a well with little natural light, and lighting used eco-friendly bulbs). We stayed in Room 204 which has a permanently barred window - so no escape that way in case of fire in the lobby or landing - rather worrying this!
Room was fairly noisy - some sound from external night clubs - but principal problem was that floorboards were squeaky and door was poorly fitting (you could see light all the way round). I must say staff were very welcoming and helpful. Good laundry facilities.
The breakfast next door - the Bayswater Bru - was excellent and good value. The small Italian to the right out of the front door, and just past the traffic lights, provided excellent food and value. As did the small Thai 'cafe' in William Street (just heading back towards CPD).
Hotel is very well placed for public transport - 2/3 minutes walk to Kings Cross Station, and bus stops just outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney.

We're glad you found The Bayswater Sydney to be great value and well located. I'm sorry to hear you found the room too small for your requirements. Of course, we do have larger rooms such as the Executive King Suites which provide more space than our other room types, with a separate seating area and sofa. These rooms are also lighter being at the front of the building with large floor to ceiling windows that overlook the trees on Bayswater Road.

Thank you for your kind comments about our team, we're very proud of our front office and housekeeping teams, they work very hard and always seem to delight our guests which is fantastic.

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    474
    188
    43
    31
See reviews for
74
438
168
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Excellent value for money at $99 per night in heart of Sydney. Room was modern, and whilst not huge, still had everything you needed and well maintained. staff were friendly and helpful. Added bonus was being able to use gym around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney.

We love it when we get it right. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Tripadvisor. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you at one of the Sydney Lodges again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My booking got transferred to The Bayswater Sydney from Springfield Lodge because the latter was fully occupied.Things look rather trendy here but the small size of the room reduces that appeal somewhat.

We were given the room located way back at the laundry area which was weird yet convenient just the same as we had access to another clean toilet adjacent to the room. The more clean toilets, the better I think. I was there with a friend for only a night and we were really tired from the long flight - so we hardly noticed about the room placement anyway.

That night, the police car in the alleyway stopped exactly outside our room and the lights from the sirens made our room into an impromptu disco. Also, we could hear the sounds of the conversation being made outside which surprised us at first but quite frankly, this made us feel more than safe knowing that the police is just outside the room.

Free internet & sweet cookies were available at the cozy Guest Lounge which is all fine and good. Location is stupendous especially for party people. Reception staff are alert and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatWalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our trendy property, The Bayswater Sydney.

Of course, we do have larger Executive King Suit or Twin Deluxe rooms if you're looking for a bit more space next time, I apologise if these rooms were not available at the time you booked. I apologise for the impromptu police light disco in your room, this must have been a little disturbing, or extremely exciting depending on what mood you were in. I hope this didn't detract from your stay too much.

Thank you for reviewing us, we very much appreciate you taking the time to post your review and pictures for future travellers. We hope to see you at a Sydney Lodges property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Size wise might not be the best rooms, but for the price in a very expensive city... could do.

The train station is very close to the hotel which means it's easy to go around. There was no free internet when we checked in :( and the receptionist was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Bayswater Sydney.

We're glad you found the location convenient and the room comfortable. Of course, we do offer larger rooms than the Small Double rooms such as the Executive King Suites and Twin Deluxe rooms if you require more space for your next visit.

Thank you again for letting us and other travellers know about your stay at The Bayswater Sydney, part of Sydney Lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Small "boutique" rooms but more than adequate for the purpose of a place to rest your weary head.

Location is fantastic if you're up for nightlife as well as great places for brekky.

Reception service was good though perhaps due to check in/check out time, the process seemed to take a little long.

All in all, considering price, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndroidLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your experience at The Bayswater Sydney.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We agree that the location of The Bayswater Sydney is very convenient for visiting parts of the local area as well as some of Sydney's most famous attractions.

I'm sorry to hear you found the check-in and check-out procedure a little time consuming. Of course, our team try to move as swiftly as possible however at times there can be some minor delays. I hope this wasn't too much of an annoyance to you.

Thank you again for leaving your feedback and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the Bayswater Sydney for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked the special they had on offer for $99 a night and it ended up being great value for money, in a city which can be quite expensive. The room had a King size bed, TV, aircon/heater, tea/coffee facilities and a modern bathroom and was the perfect size for the two of us.
Originally I had requested a room with a view, and received a call almost immediately after booking to inform us the rooms used for this offer didn't have a view (the only view was of the grey bricks of the building next door). We appreciated the call, and decided to keep the booking anyway, and I'm glad we did.
Location was great, just around the corner from Kings Cross Station, but we mainly walked into the centre which took about 15 minutes.There's lots of great cafes nearby for dinner as well as many fast food places and a Coles which was convenient. Staff were very friendly and helpful as well.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -Oz_Traveller-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for letting us and others know about your stay at The Bayswater Sydney.

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. It's fantastic to hear that you found the special Winter deals great value. We agree that Sydney accommodation can be extremely overpriced, which is why at Sydney Lodges we try to provide clean, comfortable and most importantly, affordable accommodation in convenient locations.

We pride ourselves on an extremely high standard of customer service. It is so great to hear your experience with our team was nothing short of this. We're very proud of our team, especially when we receive compliments from guests like yourself about their performance.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great. Great location, great staff. Rooms were small but that was expected. Overall a cosy hotel. Shops just downstairs and a nice bar across the street. Train station right near the hotel too. Free internet a bonus too. Recommended. Will stop here again and recommend to friends. Weekends can be a bit rowdy though, but nothing too extreme.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dirty8super
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We're so grateful that you've taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We think it's really important for future travellers to hear from past guests. Who better to tell indicate what kind of experience you can expect at a hotel?

It's so great to hear you found the room comfortable, the hotel located conveniently and the team friendly. It's also fantastic that you were able to take advantage of one of our winter promotions which included free WiFi.

We do have some larger rooms such as the Executive King Suite and Twin Deluxe if you would like a bit more space on your next visit.

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Bayswater Sydney, part of the Sydney Lodges group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Property: The Bayswater Sydney
Address: 17 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing