We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #10 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Picacho, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We actually loved the Bayswater. The staff was awesome. The room was spotless and everything worked. The common areas and free computer access were great! The Kings Cross neighborhood is a funky delight. It would not be for everyone but for these two grandparents it was a hoot. Public transportation is steps away and a wide range of eating places was within easy walking distance. On Friday and Saturday nights this place comes alive and noise from the street could be an issue for some. I'm sure that some who are timid would be concerned for safety, but for us there were no concerns of any kind. If we're ever lucky enough to return to Sydney the Bayswater it will be for us.

Room Tip: Away from the street and higher floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    474
    188
    43
    31
See reviews for
74
438
168
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hockley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at the Bayswater Hotel in March 2012. We loved the location, found some amazing local restaurants as well. Would really recommend this place - its nice to be just far enough away from the centre of Sydney but easy to walk into the City Centre. The staff were so helpful and the rooms were really clean and modern and just what we needed.

Russ, Sally and Daisy from London

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the weekends can get a bit noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyhockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Bayswater Sydney. The hotel is a great value for the flight. Our room was very clean, and maintained well by the staff.
It's location was perfect, bus stops and rain station are both a short walk.
We were most impressed but the friendly and helpful staff. They were never too busy to assist and answer questions. The hotel provided us with a great map of Sydney, which definitely assisted us To find our way around Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I booked The Bayswater online after endlessly looking at options, for a special weekend away in Sydney for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. He has very high standards with accomodation and he loved it, we both loved it; great central location walking distance to many things including 5 mins to the train and a bus stop out the front of the hotel; comfortable modern amenities; and very helpful staff! I would recommend The Bayswater to anyone wanting a nice hotel to stay at in SYdney that doesnt cost an arm and a leg!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great value for money. Compact but doesn't feel like it's closing in on you. Bed is wonderful and the hotel is close to the train station for cheap and easy access to all of the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizetrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had to travel to Sydney for a weekend for a wedding which was being held at Rushcutters bay. Last minute we were hunting for hotels around the area and came across this hotel which seemed reasonable with price and by the photographs like a tidy room. We were pleasantly surprised once we arrived. The room we had was a good size and more importantly the location was outstanding. We wandered around the streets close by and went to the markets as well as a delightful little deli / restaurant that was brilliant! We also wandered in the other direction down to the Yacht club where breakfast was exceptional value with a beautiful view on a perfect day (which we were lucky enough to enjoy). I would go back and stay at the bayswater whenever i am in Sydney next :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demi_dem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Travelled to Sydney with my boyfriend for the first time, we picked Bayswater for the location and we were not disappointed. There was buses that you can take to Bondi, Watsons Bay and also to circular quay right outside the hotel.
The staff are very helpful and the hotel is well kept, rooms small but functional and well equiped. Like other I read the advice on here and asked for a room at the back top of the hotel.
There are plenty of places to eat around the cross and also the walk into town is very easy.
I am due to go back for the last night before I fly back and would not hestitae in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the back as it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Property: The Bayswater Sydney
Address: 17 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing