We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours
Ranked #40 of 239 Outdoor Activities in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Sydney Great Escapes is a family owned and run business. We pride ourselves on being able to provide you with a unique insight and memorable experience. We specialise in smaller, more personalised, boutique tours. Our late model Mercedes sprinters carry a maximum of 14 passengers, they have been uniquely designed with extra leg room, extra height and reclining coach seats, for that more comfortable ride. Our team of tour guides has been handpicked for their vast experience of local knowledge and represent our company with pride. We have guides who are specialised in the Blue Mountains, Hunter Valley, Port Stephens, and Sydney areas. You can be guaranteed that your guide will have a wealth of knowledge on whichever tour you take.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Rob (aka the funny bunny) was entertaining from the get-go. His enthusiasm, energy, and passion for the mountains were contagious. He told us many thing about Australia that we never would have known about, albeit in Rob's own brand of self deprecating humour.

The tour was wonderful. We saw wild kangaroos in the fields, got some fantastic views of the mountains, and a good meal in a historic house. Rob knew exactly where to take great photos and got us moving on time all day without feeling rushed. Due to the small size of the group, we had some flexibility with the itinerary.

I highly recommend this tour to anyone planning a visit to Sydney.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trave1Bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    26
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“better late than never!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We took this tour way back in May 2008. I never got around to making a review and just now was able to find Rob's website... Anyway, he is a fantastic guide. Funny, intelligent, engaging. Everything was A+. Is it a little on the pricey side? Depends on what you want. Do you want an amazing experience that's catered to you? Well, then it's worth it!

Sorry we're so late in writing this Rob!

Will and Kristina

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Herb & Jean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This one-day tour was a highlight of our time in Sydney! Rob is enthusiastic, courteous, personable, entertaining, and full of interesting anecdotes and information. The day was full without feeling rushed. Rob offered options along the way, and he thoughtfully attended to all of our needs and answered all of our questions. Getting to the animal park early in the day was a real plus--we had the whole place to ourselves (the big crowds were just arriving as we were leaving). Other friends had recommended this tour to us, and we're glad they did!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Herb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small group day trip with a great tour leader Rob!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This daytour will fit you if you're looking for
1) non tourist viewing points
2) "exclusive" visit to the featherdale wildlife before everyone else shows up
3) entertaining tour leader who makes it a point to know & engage everyone including the teenagers.

I'm impressed with Sydney Great Escapes service: Prompt & Sincere & Passionate!

Helpful?
3 Thank ongailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was a one day excursion for me into the blue mountains from sydney. Let me just say that it was the best day of my two week Australia trip. Rob is hilarious and very informative. The trip takes you to a small animal park where you can see and interact with the native animals of Australia. You then stop at several look-outs for the mountains and have lunch. The rest of your day is spent hiking in a rainforest. Rob is a wealth of knowledge and doesn't shut up throughout the whole day. Go on this tour. You won't regret it.
See Rob!
Vince

Helpful?
2 Thank Vince9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi Vince,

Thankyou for taking the time to post your review onto Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that your trip to the Blue Mountains was the best part of your trip to Australia! Rob is quite passionate about the Mountains, this obviously came across to you!

Featherdale Wildlife Park is a great place to get up close with Australian native animals, hopefully you managed to get your photo taken with one of their cuddly koalas :)

Maybe we will see you back one day…..

Many Thanks,
Bronwyn
Sydney Great Escapes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Great Escapes - Blue Mountains Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing