We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living the dream”
Review of EcoTreasures

EcoTreasures
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.24*
and up
Manly Snorkeling Tour and Nature Walk
More Info
$38.58*
and up
Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park Stand Up Paddleboard Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover some of Sydney's greatest natural treasures from majestical marine life to the intriguing wildlife that makes a trip into nature unforgettable. ECOTREASURES offer a variety of tours sure to cater to all tastes, showcasing Sydney's Northern Beaches and Sydney Harbour as well as the famous Blue Mountains west of Sydney. A day spent with ECOTREASURES will not only be fun and relaxing, the informative tours leave you with a better appreciation of Australia’s unique wildlife, culture and heritage.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our guide for the afternoon was Damien, a surfer who started EcoTreasures around three years ago. A clear love of nature, the ocean and eco-tourism, he knows the ins and outs of coastal culture, everything from government laws to where to get the best waves on the northern beaches. He loves surfing so much he even paddles out on a foamy to guide us on the snorkeling tour and it doesn’t take much convincing from me to catch the wave (known as the “bower”) that creeps around the corner of Shelly Beach. Because the beach is protected by the reef, the area is perfect for snorkeling and diving, and on the days that it’s not, Damien tells me, with a huge grin, that he goes surfing. It's so inspiring to meet people who equate their job with "living the dream".

Thank AlexHarmon212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoTreasures-Sydney, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

We did a fun time that day. A bit of rain but still heaps of fun. Yes it is true I'm living the dream when on tour. All our tours are fun activities on the coast myself and and my staff enjoy to do on our days off. We are lucky and privileged to be able to show people around our backyard and pass on some environmental awareness. Sydney and Australia's lifestyle is a lucky one so the better we can protect this natural world, the better chance the future will be brighter and enjoyed for the next generations. We get people from all around the world on our tours who love nature and want to see it protected. So hopefully the globe keeps fighting to keep the world beautiful. Cheers for nice feedback Alex. I hope to see you again on tour this summer. Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

For someone who has never snorkelled before in my life and was a little scared of it was a really good experience, i loved it. It was so cool yet strange to see fish swim by you going about their own business. The guide was really friendly and helped me with any problems that I had and it was a really relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommend it :D
Also other beginners it might be better to book the private tour as i did as then you get all the guides attention and don't have to worry about sucking.

Thank kaiannaable .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoTreasures-Sydney, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

We take heaps of people on their first time snorkeling experience and once you get over the initial fear then it is easy sailing or submerging which would be more appropriate. The fear is only created by yourself so after you realise it is fun and not scary then your life exploring the marine world will begin. You didn't suck and you would go been fine in a group tour so no need to worry. Stoked you enjoyed your first time and we hope you have many more fun times into the future. We are happy to help you and thank you for the kind feedback. Have a good one, Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Ecotreasures was an amazing experience! Damien, our guide was really friendly, knowledgeable and caring which made snorkelling with fish just inches from your face even better. I couldn't find a fault with the whole tour! Highly recommended - for tourists and locals.

Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienEcoTreasures, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

No fault. That's epic. We have worked really hard over the years to make the customer experience the best we can so thank you for your kind words. We will still strive to improve as time goes on so we can ensure we have fun in the sun with our customers. Sometimes the fish almost swim into us out there especially when there are massive schools swimming around. Today was one of those days fish everywhere. Hope to see you again and thank you for your support Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wow. Thanks to Damien for showing us one of the true natural wonders of Sydney!
Nine of us took the walk and snorkel tour and loved every bit of it. The walk was a great overview of the local flora and fauna and offered awesome views up the coast to the headlands of the northern beaches and beyond.
Once kitted up with snorkelling gear however, we were ready to dive into the highlight of the tour and the amazing sea life beneath the surface of Shelly beach. Damien guided us across various sea scapes where we saw LOADs of fish and even a ray. Towards the end a beautiful big blue groper came out to play as well. I had no idea that we would be amongst such an abundance of sea life.
Professional, fun and eye opening. Fit this into any trip to Sydney and the northern beaches. I'll definitely be going back with a snorkel for another look!

Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienEcoTreasures, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Wow is the right things to say. I'm always making noises like a little kid when I see something awesome in the water. There is always something new to see or something familiar to observe in more detail. We are lucky to have protected areas to help conserve our natural environment. Natural treasures are so important to our coastal lifestyle. Thanks for the great feedback about the whole experience. You should brave the winter cold and come for Cuttle fish and Port Jackson breeding season. Clear water with great visibility and no one around. With a full wetsuits it is fine. See you next time and thank you for your support Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I did the EcoTour in early March and had an amazing experience. Damien is very knowledgeable and demonstrated a great understanding on the biodiversity of our beautiful northern coastline. He was also great in assisting us while snorkeling and as it was my first time snorkeling I found him to be a great help. I highly recommend it!

Thank HelenTsitsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienEcoTreasures, Owner at EcoTreasures, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It is always great to hear a customer enjoyed the tour and the knowledge of the coastline we pass on to our guests. We try hard to continually improve our knowledge and customers experience. The idea is have fun and learn a bit along the way which seems to be working a treat. Now you can snorkel around the world as it is a really fun thing to do in so many places. Thanks for your support and see you next time. Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EcoTreasures also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to EcoTreasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing