We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and wine”
Review of Porteno

Porteno
Ranked #283 of 5,833 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and wine”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Another great evening in Surrey Hills! The meat was beautiful, empanadas/chimmichurrie sauce better than most i had in Argentina. Even the vegetables were great, and i am no lover of the greens...

The service was also very good, and their wine recommendations on the spot.

Make sure you go for the 8 hr cooked meat!

Expensive like everything in Sydney.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    106
    40
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CRAPTACULAR - Cold, oily, salty, poor service, $$”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Worst dining experience of my life. Originally wanted to eat there for my birthday, got there around 7 and were told we could not dine until 8:30. My traditional father did not agree to waiting that long for a table. Came back the following week just after 9pm and could not be served until 10. They asked if we wanted to wait in the bar upstairs, however we do not drink and my mother walks with a cane due to injury. We waited downstairs, seeing as all the reviews were fantastic. There was this very gracious couple, who gave up one of their seats for my mother. The door staff were pleasant, kept us up to date throughout. It was disappointing when they told us that the 8 hour lamb and pig were finished. Once finally shown to our table and introduced to our waiter Josh, we preceded with haste in ordering our food. Was then old the salmon we wanted had also run out. Ok fine. Beef empanada for 3 at $6.50 dollars a pop. Oily beyond reason, the sauce was nice however. Vitello Tonnato $30 - cold, oozing with capers which made it salty to the MAX on top of the anchovy mayonnaise. Costilla de Asado $40 - meat was cold, oily and quite over salted, served with a rib bone with barely a scrap of meat on it. Calamares Asados $28 - was the only decent meal on the table, tiny portion for the price, served cold yet again. Bife Ancho $40 - cold and steeped in oil, as in KFC pales in comparison. We had to ask the waitress for napkins to literally wipe and soak the oil. This meal is called heart attack on a platter. Don't understand why the reviews are "Fantastic" perhaps customers have been served alcohol for a good hour or so. But for those who are sober, our experience was harrowing. Our waiter Josh was more concerned talking to the gentleman sitting alone waiting for his guest to arrive rather than cater to the other tables. Finding a waiter was harder than finding gold at that point. Yes I understand it is late, but we are no different to those who walked in when the doors opened. My crippled mother had to fetch her own glass of water otherwise she would have died of thirst.Incredibly disappointing. Never again. Want a refund for our $160 odd dollars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jovfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dont judge a book by its cover. Open it up and read the story”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Didn't have high hopes to be honest walking upto this place. ( were going on a recommendation). Holy crap ! We were so wrong! This place is Amazing!!

Annoying you cant make reservations for groups less than 5, however, as a business owner myself, can understand it. And then you'd miss out on the upstairs bar area, and honestly, this was half the fun. The atmosphere here is uber cool. Whoever did the styling, hats off to you! Doorman whisked my coat off and remembered me at the end of the night ( without a coat ticket number, very impressive).
All staff were friendly, willing to help, upbeat and kept glasses full.
Food was amazing. Love the idea of share plates. Whatever the specials are, get them. They were all amazing. The quince pastry for dessert, Ive never had pastry like it. The butter ratio must have been through the roof but I didn't care- it was the best damned pastry I think I've ever had!!

4 of us for dinner, ordered until we were stuffed, plus drinks was $450. Great value considering every aspect was ticked. Great service, great food, great atmosphere.
Just go. And have the lamb. And the pork. And the veal special. ( oh the veal!!!!!)
A restaurant that can
a) convince us to order brussel sprouts
b) actually serve the best tasting brussel sprouts on the planet
deserves a good wrap up! :) Thanks guys, we WILL be back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Seriously a fine dining experience. Great service, great food, great atmosphere and great overall experience! A must visit if only once. Try it, go on, you will probably love it :-D

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enelenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service!! worth to wait for”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We did wait at the bar for approximately 40 minutes till our table became ready....well it was worth waiting for...the food was excellent and the service had just the right timing. Having a table close to the wooden fire is something you might want to ask for it just adds to the experience!
The staff was extremely friendly and genuine. A great evening out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kruemelmonster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porteno also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Porteno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing