We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea.”
Review of Jackaroo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jackaroo Hostel
Ranked #29 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we first arrived in Sydney and we didn't enjoy it, possibly because it was our first time in a hostel and we're a bit older.
We stayed in a double room for 3 nights and it cost is £162 which I thought was extortionate!
Our bunk beds were uncomfortable, the room was freezing at night, room service practically barge into your room 5 times per day and the entrance is always crawling with drug addicts and alcoholics.
It was pretty clean though, and right night to the train station which was handy for getting around.
I definitely wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisOwensTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi,
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the review. As our hostel is located in the entertainment district with lots of bars, cafes and restaurants we tend to attract a younger crowd between 20 and 30 but still get the older but young at heart. The 4 bed dorm rooms are $34 per night which include, free breakfast, free internet, free wifi, free BBQ and free wine once a week, so we feel this is reasonable. We have done our research and we there are many hostels more expensive that include none of this. Once again, the area is full of bars and cafes so this will obviously attract people drinking in the area.
Thanks again and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 288 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Jackaroo on our first trip to Sydney. Clientele are almost entirely a younger crowd.

What we liked:
FACILITIES - lots of clean bathrooms (although one or two were a bit smelly) and showers, rarely had to wait for a shower. Free wifi with great signal everywhere too which was a plus!

ROOMS - spacious, clean and tidy. Quiet, even though we were in a loud-ish area. Towels provided.

STAFF - helpful, accommodating, and able to answer questions. No complaints.

LOCATION - yes the location is a bit seedy, but it is also very central. Lots of great food and pubs littered around, it is right next to Kings X station, and a short 15 minute walk downtown. We essentially walked everywhere!

What we didn't like:
STAIRS - We stayed up on top floor and with two pieces of luggage at 29.6 and 30kg (yes, we just slipped by the free checkin luggage weight requirements), it kind of sucked hauling it up/down. Not a big deal though.

WINDOWS - didn't open. Our room was actually fine, but I can only imagine how hot it could get in the summers.

OVERALL - we really really liked this place, and it's central location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urbangecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of August, and found the place clean and quiet. The location is fantastic with it being right on top of Kings Cross station means you can get anywhere quite easily (we used a mymulti the entire time we were there). We opted for a private double room which was small but you didn't need much more space than that. The only bad thing was a lack of places to store things in the room there was a small bedside table with 3 draws and 2 shelves which means you couldn't unpack or hang anything up. There was a fan which we had to have on most times we were in the room because there wasn't any real air circulation in the room making it quite warm. The bathroom was nice and clean and very large on our floor. Unfortunately the 2nd bathroom on our floor was closed for the entire time we were there which meant going up or down to find alternative bathrooms but there seemed to be plenty of them. The free breakfast was a really nice touch and much appreciated. There was toast, cereal, tea and coffee perfect to get your day going before sight seeing. The kitchen was very well equipped if you wanted to cook and plenty of storage space for food. The communal eating area was clean and tidy every morning we went down to have breakfast. The hostel itself was very secure the area was a little bit unsavory but we were expecting that from the reviews we had read. There was access to wifi in the room we were in, it was a little bit slow but you could use it to do some research there was plenty of tourist information bits available in the communal areas. You could also borrow DVDs to watch on the TV that was in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nediamnori87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in a private double room with shared bathroom for 5 nights.

Good

• Clean bedroom and bedding
• Clean towels provided
• Fan included in room
• Fairly clean communal areas & bathroom
• Staff very friendly and helpful
• Free breakfast (cereals, milk, bread, condiments etc) was VERY appreciated
• Well-equipped kitchen
• Free WIFI was great but obviously under heavy use
• Despite being located in a dodgy looking inner city party district (drunks, beggers, adult businesses) the hostel is actually SUPRISINGLY quiet. We had ZERO issues with noise, clientelle or locals. This may have been because of the Winter booking as there were few guests.
• Convientently located RIGHT next door to the station

Bad

• Room could've benefited from some storage/coat hooks
• Hostel itself and area looks dodgy...but don't judge a book by its cover!

Room Tip: Private double is a must with great value. Go during Winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metal_Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at Jackaroo for a week whilst travelling countries with my partner & felt very comfortable here. Although the area it's situated (Kings Cross) wasn't to our taste, it was fine as the hostel is next door to the underground station! It made travelling around the city so easy.
The overall appearance & security of the hostel was great, using security keys to allow only guests upstairs & was always very clean & welcoming. Far better than others in Oz!
The only negatives would be the size of the kitchen as it can get very crowded at meal times & makes it harder to cook. Also as we stayed in a 4 bed dormitory the cleanliness of others wasn't really my thing.
Free breakfast & WiFi throughout whole building makes the stay more of a treat too!
If your after a party hostel, this is the place to book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hostel is situated in maybe the most interesting part of the town. You'll see high people, drunk people, prostiutes, tramps etc. when you walk out of the hostel. The city centre is not far away, it's like a 10 min walk.

The hostel provides free wifi, which is really rare in Australia. The rooms are alright, there is enough space and floors are clean, likewise the sheets. The bathrooms are less clean and they're kind of dated, but the showers work well generally. Breakfast is simple but okay.

Considering your room / floor mates, hope for the best. Our neighbours were very noisy at night, but you have to be lucky with this, like in every hostel I guess. The staff was friendly, but when we left, they forgot we had already paid. So be sure to ask a receipt when you pay in advance.

Room Tip: Mind what we called 'the subway room'. In this room on the first floor, you have a view on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I was there in Aug 2012. Yet again I went back with another group of my friend this year on 31st July till 2nd Aug. I had a few changes of accomd pior to the trip. The staffs are friendly and dun mind me changing. This time round missed the every Friday free wine treat!!! Will recommend for my friends as it just next to King Cross station.. excellent location

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Zing Backpackers
#35 of 145 in Sydney
136 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 145 in Sydney
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 145 in Sydney
301 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#19 of 145 in Sydney
141 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 145 in Sydney
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackaroo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackaroo Hostel

Address: 107-109 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $27 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackaroo Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross, Sydney's newest hostel, The 'Jackaroo Hostel' is more than you could ever expect. Its unique, it’s different. It’s an experience, because we want it that way. The Jackaroo Hostel, located in the hip area of Kings Cross, is a cool haven for the international traveller, in the heart of Sydney Australia.The Jackaroo Hostel is a family run hostel. Owned and operated by best friends and brothers Robert and Jade Smith. We understand that the Jackaroo Hostel will be the centre of your Sydney experience, and we want it to be memorable. We love Sydney, and we want you to love it too.We offer quality affordable accommodation. Double rooms, Twin with ensuite, 4 and 6 bed dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Jackaroo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackaroo Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing