We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place ever ! <3 <3 <3” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackaroo Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jackaroo Hostel
Ranked #23 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Rennes, France
2 reviews
“Best place ever ! <3 <3 <3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed there for a few weeks and we can say that it was definitly the best place we ever stayed in Australia ! We had so much fun there ! The owners are very friendly, we'll never forget them and all the good stuff we did thanks to them ! They are always here to help you or to give you some good advice ! You definitly have to go there and to meet them ! Enjoy the "Free Wine Friday" by the way !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline-Fabien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    73
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
6
64
90
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at a Jackaroo Kings Cross on 3 separate occasions, each for a few nights. The staff are always super welcoming, helpful, and keep the place really clean. FWF is obviously a great Friday kick-starter that lends no excuse to not getting involved and meeting your 'neighbours'. Everyone was super chill and easy to get along with.

It's nice and local, so you can explore what the city has to offer on one day and head to the beach the next. It's right next to a major train station and on bus routes that make moving about a breeze. There are also 5 or 6 levels to this place with a sick rooftop level to catch some afternoon rays, beer in hand, catching up on emails on their free wifi network.

It's simply a great all-rounder!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Jackaroo is by far the best hostel i have ever stayed in! I have visited Sydney many times and id never stay anywhere other then than this hostel. Not only is it by far the cleanest hostel with great facilities, quite comfortable bedrooms and spacious clean bathrooms but it has a wonderful atmosphere with great staff. Its very sociable and i have never felt anything but welcome by all the staff and the guests. Its in a great location if you like to party and right above the train station so its easy to get anywhere in the city within a few short minutes.There is also free wifi and i dont know of any other places in Australia which provide not only free wifi but good wifi. Theres free wine on a friday night down in reception, this is always a good night and a great way to get to know the other guests staying in the hostel. I would recommend this hostel to everyone, you will most defiantly enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Without a doubt the best hostel to stay in if you are visiting Sydney. I started my travels here in August 2011. I walked down the stairs to reception a scared 18 year old lone traveller. I left 7 months later with a group of friends I will never lose contact with and enough photos and memories to fill a museum. Some of the funniest and craziest moments in my life so far have taken place in this hostel. And that's thanks to the amazing owners, they are they most laid back and friendliest brothers I've come across. After a week of being here, I began to call it home, even my family In England referred to the Jackaroo as my home. I originally booked in for 3 nights, I stayed for 7 months. Nearly all of my group of friends I made there had done at least 6 months or more in Jackaroo, it's really is a home away from home. The main points that stand out are its cleanliness, brightness, and friendly and crazy atmosphere. The location is perfect, the staff are amazing and the people within the hostel are unforgettable. After moving out of here in January 2012 I continued to travel, the owners still keep in contact to this day to see how I am getting on. I consider Rob and Jade friends and really do miss them. I recommend Jackaroo to every single traveller I meet, there really is no place better to stay in Sydney. Thank you Jacakaroo, you are one of the main highlights of my two years travelling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraTott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in the Jackaroo Hostel twice during my stay in Australia and can’t wait to go back. The location is just perfect if you like to go sightseeing, go out and meet people or hang out on one of the beautiful beaches. It’s next to the Kings cross station where you have supermarkets, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. The city center and botanical gardens are easy to walk and by train its just 2 stops to Bondi. The atmosphere in the hostel is amazing and the staff around the owners Raquel, Jade and Rob are always friendly and help you to arrange trips, get tickets or with any other questions. Everything is spotless and cleaned by the staff daily. You have a large rooftop area with sunbeds, tv room, kitchen, laundry room, computers in the lobby, pool table and many spacious bathrooms. On Sundays most people meet on the rooftop for the free BBQ and the legendary Free Wine Friday is always the best night of the week. If you are traveling alone, it's easy to meet people in the common areas and the hostel has a lot of events and daily nights out to different bars and clubs. I recommended this place to everyone I met and I couldn’t imagine to stay at any other place in Sydney!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed there a month till finding my flat. Was well located to roam in sydney and staff was really lovelly and helpfull and The place was neat
Will stay there next time i pass by sydney for sure.
Thankd guys!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelio-fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My personal experience of Jackaroo was a positive one resulting in me staying there for 8 months

Location is excellent as the hostel is next door to a main train station, has various bus stops near by and there are plenty of shops, supermarkets, bars and the city centre are within walking distance. Living in Kings Cross didn't bother me and I found it entertaining at times people watching and really handy to get home after a night out. However, for someone who is from a small town or easily intimidated it can be a bit scary at first but if your street wise you'll be fine.


Managed well, The 3 owners all siblings bring different personalities and skills to the hostel, Its also good to know that the owners actually work in the hostel majority of the time. If you had a problem there would always be someone you could approach which is reassuring. The team at Jackaroo included backpackers who had cleaning shifts and organised social events. For someone travelling on their own its reassuring to know to can just come along to the events that range from bbq on the roof or trips to the beach as well as nights out and from that you can make friends.


Overall Jackaroo is clean, friendly and affordable and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#13 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#14 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackaroo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackaroo Hostel

Property: Jackaroo Hostel
Address: 107-109 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackaroo Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross, Sydney's newest hostel, The 'Jackaroo Hostel' is more than you could ever expect. Its unique, it’s different. It’s an experience, because we want it that way. The Jackaroo Hostel, located in the hip area of Kings Cross, is a cool haven for the international traveller, in the heart of Sydney Australia.The Jackaroo Hostel is a family run hostel. Owned and operated by best friends and brothers Robert and Jade Smith. We understand that the Jackaroo Hostel will be the centre of your Sydney experience, and we want it to be memorable. We love Sydney, and we want you to love it too.We offer quality affordable accommodation. Double rooms, Twin with ensuite, 4 and 6 bed dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Jackaroo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackaroo Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing