We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST hostel you will ever stay in!”
Review of Jackaroo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jackaroo Hostel
Ranked #26 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everything about this hostel is awesome! Everyone is so friendly and Everywhere is very clean! Its great that they have the free breakfast, free wifi, free pizza/bbq on tuesdays and of course free wine friday, the best night of the week! All The staff are really friendly and helpfull and the location is great as its so easy to get around from there, Kings Cross can be a little crazy but you always feel safe! Especially as the hostel is very secure.

I would definitley reccommend this hostel to everyone, especially lone travellers as its so social. The entertainments board is a great way to find out whats going on everynight.

Overall an amazing hostel and i would definitley stay there again. Thanks to Jade and Rob for running such a great place and making it everything a backpacker could wish for.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 287 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

hey, i have been travelling for 8 months and stayed in many hostels. Jackaroo is by far the best hostel i have stayed in since iv been in oz. staff are friendly and helpful, and are always up for a laugh.its really hard to leave tho because its soo fun they orginise good nights out and its the best part of sydney to party!!! its very clean which is a bonus :) plus u get free internet and tv room is good :) xxx

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stacey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The best location in Sydney by far!!! Im currently travelling the world and havnt come across a hostel close to it. Its very clean, comfy, friendly and the staff were great. Nothing bad to say about this hostel what so ever. Free wine fridays are a personal highlight... I will definitely be visiting The Jackaroo in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Jackaroo Hostel has made my experience in Australia full of amazing and extremely happy memories. I originally booked in for one week to settle myself, intending to find myself an apartment! Instead I made so many friends, that I ended up staying for 7 months. The owners Rob and Jade are like my surrogate Dad's (don't think they like this title!) and always made me feel welcome. Everything rocks about this place, you won't find any better! Now I have a Jackaroo family and many Jackaroo reunions to occur all over the globe =)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anna-banana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here last summer & it was without a doubt the best place we stayed on our travels through oz.

Location is great, walking distance to opera house etc but in kings cross so plenty going on in the evenings. Good kitchen and great lounge with internet, table football, pool etc all FREE.

The best thing about the hostel is the atmosphere, everyone is really friendly & there are events each night where everyone goes out as a group, including free wine tasting!

Couldn't recommend enough, would go back here in an instant!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at Jackaroo for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year. Got ourselves a double room ensuite. No complaints whatsoever. Lots of events happening day and night. Good location in our opinion, we like walking so it didn't matter that it was in King's Cross, infact i think it added to the experience! I have nothing but fond memories of this place, we met some amazing people and the two brothers were so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nuzzlemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

good kitchen facilities, great fridges but the place was seriously hot as apparently the aircon had gone down and the health and safety nuts had banned the windows being opened, so kind of spoilt the place as very uncomfortable.
Really friendly staff who knew there stuff and gave really helpful and accurate advise on what to do and where to go in our short stay in Sydney, common rooms were roomy (and cooled by great big fans maybe needed bigger ones as still very hot and sweaty! good quality computers also good WIFI

Room Tip: get aircon working!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackaroohostel, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Hi,
Thanks for staying with us. Great to hear you enjoyed our facilities and our free internet and wifi. We are very sorry about the Aircon, unfortunately there was a leak with the aircon unit and it had to be turned off for 3 days to reseal the unit properly. Thankfully it is all fixed and now up and working fine.
We hope to see you again in our nicely cooled hostel.
Thanks and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Summer House Backpackers
#17 of 143 in Sydney
118 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 143 in Sydney
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zing Backpackers
#39 of 143 in Sydney
135 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 143 in Sydney
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackaroo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackaroo Hostel

Address: 107-109 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $26 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackaroo Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross, Sydney's newest hostel, The 'Jackaroo Hostel' is more than you could ever expect. Its unique, it’s different. It’s an experience, because we want it that way. The Jackaroo Hostel, located in the hip area of Kings Cross, is a cool haven for the international traveller, in the heart of Sydney Australia.The Jackaroo Hostel is a family run hostel. Owned and operated by best friends and brothers Robert and Jade Smith. We understand that the Jackaroo Hostel will be the centre of your Sydney experience, and we want it to be memorable. We love Sydney, and we want you to love it too.We offer quality affordable accommodation. Double rooms, Twin with ensuite, 4 and 6 bed dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Jackaroo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackaroo Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing