We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jackaroo Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$105
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$195
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$270
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$140
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$262
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$184
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
131
78
44
20
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
78
44
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crosstrain stationfree wifibed dormtop floorhome from homeaustraliacleanersharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 290 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Located in the heart of the red light district jackeroo hostel boasts dirty rooms, rude staff, sparodic internet accesss and inedible food. Don't be taken in by its uncharacteristically professional website, boasting it's the 'newest' hostel in Sydney! I've stayed in hostels all over sydney and it's most certainly not. Please do not stay there it's absolutely dreadful.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mapouk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackaroohostel, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Hi,
Thanks for your review. Just to be clear as to why you wrote the seemingly harsh review. After checking in you and your friend stated you would stay 2 nights but only wanted to pay for 1 now and would pay for the other in the morning. We asked if you were sure you were staying both as there is a 24 hour cancellation fee. In the morning you came down to check out, and we advised you that you were not due to check out until the next day. It was at that time you said you wanted to leave. As per our cancellation policy we advised you that you would be charged for the 2nd night. It was at that time that you began to be rude and threaten us by saying ' i am not paying, my dad is a big lawyer in the UK and that we would be receiving a call from him. He will sue you guys'. My brother then intervened asking you to leave and never return. We didnt charge you for the night as you began to cry. Your father did call to threaten us but when we explained the situation, he said sorry and never bothered us again. Your behaviour and review clearly states the immaturity of you and your friend.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

As with any hostel, you get what you pay for! Jackaroo was clean, free wifi in communal areas, centrally located (assuming you want to be in Kings X) and helpful staff. For 100 bucks for a double room on my own with shared bathroom for two nights I can't complain! It got a little noisy late at night but I wouldn't have expected otherwise!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebecks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We had a great time in sydney and you dont have to worry about your things because it is absolutely safe there. And the rooms, bathrooms and also the kitchen area is totally clean.
And if you have any problems, just go to the nice guys at the desk and they will help you.
Although you are in the heart of kings cross, it is quiet in the hostel. And the location is perfect because the metro is just next door. So you reach everything easily.
I would always recommend this one.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

One of the best hostels we have stayed in Australia. Closest one to Kings Cross station. Nice and clean rooms. A lot of activities, Free wine night especially ;). The best and most helpfull staff that did everything and even more to help us when we really need it. We will definitely recommend Jackaroo Hostel to anyone who will ask us where to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WojciechWojcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Jackaroo hostel is honestly the best hostel iv stayed at in australia iv travelled down the east coast and i have stayed in wakeup and base in sydney but they are nothing compared to here!

The hostel is really clean and really friendly and the owners are awesome if you have any sort of problem they will sort it for you straight away! Although i came here with a friend the hostel is small enough that it is great for single travellers everyones really friendly and just sit downstairs for 5 minutes and you will be chatting to someone! The hostel has loads of things planned for everyday (look for trevs list next to the reception...) and free wine friday which is awesome and another way to meet loads of people!

Basically in a nutshell this hostel is awesome and once you get here you will not want to leave (i stayed for 6 weeks and will come back after iv done my farm work!!) its clean, fun and a great place to meet people ...and 2 days in the cross are never the same!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpleridinghorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews