We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dirtiest place, the ugliest service”
Review of Posh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posh Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I booked ensuite room and paid extra to check in early; but on the day they offered dirty shared bathroom; yuck! When i disputed this; they couldn't accomodate so refunded my money on the day but had withdrawn money back from my bank account later that day (never to leave your card details with this hotel). I disputed this too and instead of apologising and refunding; they blamed a new staff member so to settle the issue they offered a free room instead (ensuite). Upon my return (dont' want to detail their conduct) they charged me for early check in but the room was only available just before 11am. The bathroom in this room was dirty with cockroaches and insects roaming along the walls. I took pictures of these and forwarded to the regulatory bodies and requested a review of thier star rating.

Room Tip: This place is good for backpacking with shared accomdation but I will think twice before leaving my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koshel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 523 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Location is great, floors every dirty - had a shower not only was I showering under a dripping tap once dry and had walked around a bit my feet were as black as the ace of spades. Iron but no ironing board? Dining table but no sink or kitchenette? Doona with no Doona cover sheet? Deluxe king room had a shared bathroom but queen has a personal bathroom?
Staff were very polite and accommodating. Schindler rules.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This place has such a great location right next to central train station & a large bus station. Woolworths just up the road, pub next door, $10 meals on the other side (lovely). On arrival they were very nice people & willing to assist wherever.
Modern place with lovely beds! Was extremely comfortable to sleep in. Big open areas.

Only bad thing I can say is that due to the place having no windows to open it gets stuffy and so can't let in fresh air. Had air con though.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank KSHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling on a limited budget so I stayed at this place after I got a deal via Priceline.com. The location was very convenient to the place where the conference took place (5 min walk). Also, this hotel is only 5 min walk from the central station. The only problem is the shared bathroom issue.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank hammouri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

the hotel is in good location,located next to central station, it's only take us 5 mins to walk to the hotel,there are many shops, 24hours convenient shop,café,restaurant and bar around.

staff was friendly and helpful, we booked a room with shared bathroom, we don't have to wait as there r 3 bathrooms to share. cleaner clean the bathroom regularly,providing everything we need like toiletries,towel,hair dryer...big kitchen and spacious living room

fully equipped kitchen except microwave,hope the owner can get one as it's quite important

the only thing that I want to complain is the pillow,it's not comfy
other than that,everything is nice

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonlcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Shared bathroom! Lousy service! Room was not ready when we arrived and when we finally we allowed in they lost part if our luggage! We did not have our own bathroom, shared shower nearly overflowed. Never again!! Was drying hair in 2 inches of water as shower are water did not drain. Window looked on to brick wall of adjoining place.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank Surfinggig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had a vey plesant time at posh hotel in sydney central! the hotel had great staff and majorly the room prices were very cheap compared to other hotels around the area. think it was $150 compared to 199 around the corner
the room had every thing that you would need but its just alot bigger than tradition hotel rooms and clean!
the beds were really funky and best best bed!
best thing was it was right oppsite the UTS building where i was visiting and close to darling harbour conventional centeres:)

Room Tip: King beds that are huge and cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chreey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#113 of 186 in Sydney
2,036 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#107 of 186 in Sydney
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 186 in Sydney
3,390 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,543 reviews
The Maisonette
#4 of 60 in Sydney
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posh Hotel

Address: 8 - 14 Broadway | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $73 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posh Hotel - a Brand NEW top of the range boutique hotel located in Chippendale, 3.5 self rated hotel right next to Central Station, a perfect position when visiting Sydney. We offer 16 rooms with brand new furniture, facilities and genuine hospitality. Posh Hotel is a perfect place for business and leisure travelers. We are close to Chinatown, George Street, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Markets, Darling Harbour, Universities, bars, cafes and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Posh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing