We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth of money”
Review of Posh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posh Hotel
Ranked #11 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

the hotel is in good location,located next to central station, it's only take us 5 mins to walk to the hotel,there are many shops, 24hours convenient shop,café,restaurant and bar around.

staff was friendly and helpful, we booked a room with shared bathroom, we don't have to wait as there r 3 bathrooms to share. cleaner clean the bathroom regularly,providing everything we need like toiletries,towel,hair dryer...big kitchen and spacious living room

fully equipped kitchen except microwave,hope the owner can get one as it's quite important

the only thing that I want to complain is the pillow,it's not comfy
other than that,everything is nice

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonlcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 473 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Shared bathroom! Lousy service! Room was not ready when we arrived and when we finally we allowed in they lost part if our luggage! We did not have our own bathroom, shared shower nearly overflowed. Never again!! Was drying hair in 2 inches of water as shower are water did not drain. Window looked on to brick wall of adjoining place.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank Surfinggig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had a vey plesant time at posh hotel in sydney central! the hotel had great staff and majorly the room prices were very cheap compared to other hotels around the area. think it was $150 compared to 199 around the corner
the room had every thing that you would need but its just alot bigger than tradition hotel rooms and clean!
the beds were really funky and best best bed!
best thing was it was right oppsite the UTS building where i was visiting and close to darling harbour conventional centeres:)

Room Tip: King beds that are huge and cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chreey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel was in a great location and the room was amazing! Huge room with king size bed, table and chairs, sofa bed, wardrobes, plasma and lovely wooden flooring! Although we did not use the kitchen, it looked very modern and clean. There are three shared bathrooms but this was not a problem at all, they were all extremely clean and very modern!

The only bad big point I do have about the hotel is the 200 dollar deposit, if guests have already paid why should we have to then pay a 200 dollar deposit when u get there. Yes I know you get it back but firstly; it is a lot of money and secondly we did not have that money out which meant I had to pay on a card which means yes I get the money back but I also lost £20 in exchange rate fees from my bank! Why should I have to pay that fee for a deposit I'm going to get back, what a waste of money! and for this reason I would recommend people to look elsewhere because this policy is quite frankly ridiculous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shamalamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived & it looked ok but when we entered our room it was terrible. It hadn't been serviced at all & when we complained we were told our credit card was invalid & we needed to leave a $200 cash deposit.....the room had been booked & paid for a month earlier. There was no apology for the state of the room, in fact the receptionist's attitude made me think this was a normal occurance. After reading other reviews before checking in & judging on how our stay was starting out we decided not to stay. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It may be conveniently close to central station & the entertainment center which we needed but its dodgy & not worth the $119/ night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank baxter_bairdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshhotel, Front Office Manager at Posh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi Baxter_Bairdy,

Thank you for your booking with Posh Hotel and for taking time to share your thoughts and experiences.

It was really unfortunate and we sincerely apologies for the situations you back several weeks ago and . I was notified by our staff regarding your conditions and it was simply due to a human error not to check the room before we fulfilled your really early check-in request.

Should you willing to wait a little bit longer for our normal check-in time, we would be able to maximize our service allocations and prioritise your room readiness.

It is our policy to retain a security deposit as you have your credit card invalid at that time. A security deposit is retained for the purpose of in case there are incidentals during your stay. Otherwise, it would be fully refundable upon check-out.

If you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact me. I look forward to ensuring your next stay with us is more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Posh Hotel was nice, but not exactly Posh. The king size bed was chic, and very comfortable. Room was clean, bathroom could have used a good scrub though. It was very close to Chinatown, and a short walk from the nightlife of George Street. Only a couple blocks from train station, too.

At half the cost, this would be a great hotel. But Sydney is expensive. :(

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazman1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshhotel, Front Office Manager at Posh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hi Tazman1099,

Thank you for your recent stay at Posh Hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences whilst staying with us.

It was really lovely to know that you found our hotel is easy to access and close to numerous places. Additionally, we really appreciate your compliment on the cleanness of our room as we do concern about it.

We greatly value all guest feedback as I believe this encourages our team to continually improve services and facilities offered to our guests.

Again thanks for your review, hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was here for 3 days last weekend then come back today to this rude man demanding money when I paid for room way in advance! This guy is ridiculous!! Never had such a unwelcome experience in a hotel in my life! Then when I wanted to leave wouldn't refund the $200 deposit absolute barstard never again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshhotel, Front Office Manager at Posh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at Posh hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences whilst staying with us.

It is unfortunate to hear inconvenience and discomfort that may have been caused to you during your stay.

I regret to reply that its is common for hotels to have all payment fully paid at the time of check in, most payments are actually online prior at the time of booking.

The Hotel will consider your case and possibly notify you next time in advance prior to your check in date.

We greatly value all guest feedback as I believe this helps us to continually improve services and facilities offered to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 179 in Sydney
1,905 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,930 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#36 of 179 in Sydney
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Challis
#50 of 179 in Sydney
725 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posh Hotel

Address: 8 - 14 Broadway | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $63 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posh Hotel - a Brand NEW top of the range boutique hotel located in Chippendale, 3.5 self rated hotel right next to Central Station, a perfect position when visiting Sydney. We offer 16 rooms with brand new furniture, facilities and genuine hospitality. Posh Hotel is a perfect place for business and leisure travelers. We are close to Chinatown, George Street, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Markets, Darling Harbour, Universities, bars, cafes and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing