We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Posh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posh Hotel
Ranked #12 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I did leave the booking till late and could only find this hotel. The room smelt of bleach, the joinery unit protruded from the wall, the iron hardly worked, the TV was tiny, no powerpoints, the A/C unit rattled so much there was no use leaving it on. At $300 a night is was a rip off. Ok staff seemed friendly enough but "POSH' it aint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshhotel, Front Office Manager at Posh Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Posh Hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences whilst staying with us.

I have personally investigated the issues raised in your correspondence and have taken appropriate action to prevent the re-occurrence of the incident.

Further to our investigation of your concern, I was notified that you wanted a early check in which will explain the cleaning agents smell.

In reference to the iron it seems to be in working order. Our TV is the advertised size of 32" flat Plasma, the power points also available in many corners of the room especially under the table where there is a multi-plug.

Inside the room, you will find our hotel compendium stating all the facilities we have to offer including all of the above mentioned.

We apologize if you weren’t informed about this upon check in.

I appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback and once again apologise for what happened.

If you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact me. I look forward to ensuring your next stay with us is more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    84
    40
    30
    97
See reviews for
57
106
70
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

small hotel with large rooms! the rooms were really big and for the price we actually got a really big king size bed! price was also affordable so sharing a bath room with oters didnt really matter as there are more than one bathroom ava at all times

paid online do didnt have payment problems like the other guy

room was clean and location was good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshhotel, Front Office Manager at Posh Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Posh Hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences whilst staying with us.

It was lovely to read that you found the hotel room to be clean and comfortable.

We greatly value all guest feedback as I believe this encourages our team to continually improve services and facilities offered to our guests.

Again thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Dreadful! When we checked in the credit card machine didn't work and we were repeatedly asked if we wanted to "pay in cash." When we refused, the credit card payment miraculously went through. The communal kitchen counter and communal bathroom floors were crawling with roaches. At one point as I lay in bed I could see the roaches crawling through the crack under our door (the kitchen was on the other side). The floors of our room, the kitchen and bathrooms were very dirty with large clumps of hair scattered about. It was such an awful experience we left early and found lodging elsewhere that was much nicer for the same price.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCWNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshhotel, Front Office Manager at Posh Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Posh Hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences whilst staying with us.

It saddens me to see for any inconvenience and discomfort that may have been caused to you during your stay.

I have personally investigated the issues raised in your correspondence and have taken appropriate action to prevent the re-occurrence of the incident.

In reference to this problem at Check in, the Telstra land line was interrupted for a period of 3 hours that day, resulting to a EFTPOS terminal without any signal, this was rectified ASAP by the techs.

We have since re altered the housekeeping procedures and rectified the housekeeping faults.

We greatly value all guest feedback as I believe this helps us to continually improve services and facilities offered to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Having read some of if the reviews here after booking thru another site with all rave reviews, we approached our stay with a little trepidation. To counter the flame job below, i am also an industry traveler and am traveling 20+ weeks a year. I'm an elite member if several corp hotel chains, but when i travel for pleasure, i try to
stay somewhere "local".
We were happy to find the reception at the Posh extremely friendly and helpful. We were a little early but as our room was available they checked us right in. The riom was spotlessly clean and as we has booked "ensuite", were happy to find towels bath mats shampoos bodywash and bar soap along with complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste kits. There is even a stocked mini bar. The hotel is very convienently located near central station which provides a free bus (#555) to the ferries at circular quay. The have plug converters at the front desk you can borrow if you dont have the right gear. If you dont pony up for an ensuite room tge shared bathrooms are right next to the elevator so i suppose if sime guest had an issue in there it might temporarily waft into the elevator, but thats just biology and very juvinile of the previous reviewer to try and make it more than it was. For a small hotel i'd give it 4/5. For I'd give it 5/5. Hope you get tge chance to see for yourself.

Helpful?
1 Thank jschirm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
poshhotel, Front Office Manager at Posh Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about the Posh Hotel.

We are happy you found our service very pleasing and location was excellent.

Being close to Darling Harbour, Central Station, Broadway, Fish Markets, Casino and the Universities is one of the main features of our Hotel.

I will refer your pleasant feed back to our housekeeping team and I assure you that it has been a really encouraging review and we will pride to continuously provide quality and clean room at Posh Hotel.

Again, thank you for your stay at Posh Hotel Sydney, we hope to see you at your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Calling itself “posh” could be the hotel’s greatest mistake. It’s neither posh nor a hotel.

Posh Hotel is in fact a hostel. No decent hotel worth its salt would have rooms with shared bathrooms. Fortunately, we booked 2 nights stay at this place with full knowledge of its hostel-like facilities. It probably would fare pretty badly as a hotel, but as a hostel, it’s good enough.

The lady at the reception was friendly, and gave us several suggestions on where to go after checking-in. It is a simple hostel with a small communal area outside the rooms (under-utilized during my stay there), the water dispenser was faulty but that’s not much of a problem. The room itself was spacious but furnished minimally. However, the room was clean and so were the bathrooms. Some hostels’ bathrooms can be poorly maintained, but the ones at Posh Hotel were kept clean (could be due to the low occupancy).

All in all, it was a good stay. And for its great location – just a stone’s throw away from Central station, you could probably give this a try. Just do not expect hotel-level quality from here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed in the king share bathroom and it was huge compared with near by hotels!

clean and straight forward

It was also well priced

receptionest was really nice for letting me leave luggage free till 4pm

did not get what the previous reviews was on about, dont think it is that bad

Room Tip: book earlier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killara989898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

DO. NOT. STAY. HERE.

I had a completely horrid experience at this place. I urge you to NOT even consider it.
Most bad experiences with hotels are unfortunate, but almost always, the hotel staff and/or management does something to alleviate the situation -- but NOT so here (bar one tiny concession). This is the first time i've had such an awful experience, that I've felt compelled to tell others to avoid a place. Unfortunately, this place warrants it.

My background: I travel for work, and am away from home most weeks... For example, have stayed in around 20 or so different hotels in 7 countries in the last year.

This "Posh" "Hotel" was anything but…

* Firstly, money was taken up-front -- no normal hotel does this. Usually, they take an imprint of your card (with perhaps a small hold) and you pay upon check-out. Not so here. It would seem that these "Posh" people take your money straight away to make sure you have no room to manoeuvre later on -- they KNOW how bad their service is, so they take your money to ensure you have little chance to get any of it back.

* Bed -- Was a nightmare; not even a real bed, but some weird quasi-futon-on-the-floor sort of deal; HARD as a rock (left me with little sleep, and constantly cut-off circulation in various limbs). Total deal breaker.

* Pillows -- Really poor, overused, totally uncomfortable, and pretty much the worst I've experienced (the ONLY thing they actually fixed, on the 2nd night -- i.e. the above-mentioned tiny concession).

* Staff -- One or two people were nice; the rest rude, short-mannered and very unprofessional in temper.

* Tea/coffee -- Absolutely, the poorest tea/coffee factilities i've seen in any hotel bar NONE. No milk, not even the fake stuff, nothing to stir with (no spoons, not even a plastic or wooden stick), a couple of powdered coffee sachets and the tea was merely a few loose "Lan Choo" bags stuffed in a glass. I've stayed at a lot of 3-star places, but this kind of "service" is just an insult.

* Chair -- There was 1 rather odd "lounge chair" in the room, but nothing else. No stool, no desk chair, giving nowhere to work.

* Towels -- A couple of bath towels were provided, on the first night. Period. No bathroom mat, no hand towel, no hand washers. Never seen a first-world "hotel" bathroom more scarce.

* Lift -- smelled like faeces. Very unpleasant. Also, said odour emanated through the hallways on my floor. Perhaps due to "public"/shared bathroom next to lift. But it wasn't like this just once, but most times i used the lift.

Absolutely pathetic.

But still, I decide to try and give them a bit of lee-way, and a chance to redeem themselves.

My stay was 4 nights -- after the first night, I asked if I could move rooms or if there was different bedding or anything because I COULD NOT SLEEP. I was told no (apart from the pillows) -- so I told them "I can only to stay here 1 more night". And I booked the last 2 nights of my 4 night trip elsewhere nearby (almost the same price, 10x the quality).

Even though, i told them i was moving after the 1st night i was there, they would not refund me any of the rest of the stay. I was told "if we can sell the room on the last night (right before a long weekend, so no doubt they did) we'll give you *half* the night's charge back. They did not.

And even after multiple emails and calls, the manager couldn't be bothered trying to come to any sort of arrangement or even offer an apology.

Worst. Customer. Service. Ever.

And a generally horrible hotel.

DO. NOT. STAY. HERE.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshNTAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshhotel, Front Office Manager at Posh Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Leisure Inn Sydney Central and for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences whilst staying with us. We greatly value all guest feedback as I believe this helps us to continually improve services and facilities offered to our guests.

I have personally investigated the issues raised in your correspondence and have taken appropriate action to prevent the re-occurrence of the incident.

*In reference to the booking, you have booked online and had taken a early bird booking with a 37% discount on top of the hot deals price. This is a no refundable booking confirmed.

*If any adjustments of dates changes, from your scheduled were to be made, we would appreciate it if it was not notified on the date of check in, as you have booked 2 month in advance. We would really appreciated if you had informed us anytime earlier.

*We were also notified that you had a invalid credit card that was declined at check in.

*Beds at Posh Hotel are fairly new and from other recent reviewers that had not been reflected at all.

*Apologies for the pillows we hope the second contour of the pillow was comfortable.

*Our staff had been retrained to handle matters differently on the day of check in as your requests were unable to be approved by the shift receptionist

*please refer to our hotels manual provided in each room about our complementary tea and coffee facilities as it is all provided on our rooms. We apologize if you weren’t informed about this upon check in.

*In every of our rooms there are cube leather ottomans which are chairs for the tables/desks provide, some room even had a dining table set.

*In our standard room amenities pack there is 2 towels, bath mat, shower gel, shampoo/conditioner and also a tooth brush kit

In regards to the air-conditioning valve, we have inspected the room which you stayed in as soon as you checked out to ensure that this will not happen in the future.

I appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback and once again apologies for what happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,710 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Macleay Lodge Sydney
#24 of 61 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posh Hotel

Property: Posh Hotel
Address: 8 - 14 Broadway | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posh Hotel - a Brand NEW top of the range boutique hotel located in Chippendale, 3.5 self rated hotel right next to Central Station, a perfect position when visiting Sydney. We offer 16 rooms with brand new furniture, facilities and genuine hospitality. Posh Hotel is a perfect place for business and leisure travelers. We are close to Chinatown, George Street, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Markets, Darling Harbour, Universities, bars, cafes and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing