We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great economical choice”
Review of Posh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posh Hotel
Ranked #11 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2013

For a short stay of a few nighs at most this is a great economical choice within an easy walk to Central train station IF you don't mind a shared bathroom (which are tiny). The rooms are large and spacious and the hotel's decor is modern and bright. However, cleanliness is not the best although I can see that they work at it but fall a little short in execution (e.g. dust bunnies and swept dirt not picked up by dustpan). They offer HDTV reception, good free internet access and free coffee/tea plus a min-fridge in the room. There is a good size common kitchen. Towels are provided but the soap mini-package (hard to open) is useless in the shower as it is watery with minimal quantity so bring your own real soap. The queen size bed was nice but the bed frame was quite funky (modern) and large and I stubbed my toe on the frame a few times as it was oversized ... but it was a great sleep. I had a good size table where 2 or 3 can easily share a meal or work. The front desk was very friendly and tried to be helpful and accomodating. The only complaint I would have is that their hotel room guide says they have electical adapters available from the front desk, but turns out not to be true. They also lied to me and said that a $1 credit card transaction would only be pre-authorization and not a charge ... but it ended up be a charge and refund but each transaction incurs a cost on my card. They should know how to pre-authorize an amount (e.g. $25) without creating a transaction since my room was pre-paid and this was to cover themselves in case I ran out before paying for snacks in my room or telephone calls. In the end, I recommend this property as a value stay for those on a budget with good location - although quite a long walk to the CBD and Sydney harbour, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Posh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 459 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our third trip to Sydney & we decided to book this hotel because it was the only one I could find at the time that was affordable & close walking range in the city. I knew when booking this hotel that we would have to share the bathroom & at the time didn't think it would be so bad but I was wrong! We had to walk across the hall way from our rooms just to go to the toilet & the toilet & shower were located in the same room & it just didn't feel cleaned. While I was in there one time, someone nearly walked in on me cos the door lock wasn't strong enough! The rooms were alright but I thought there were things in there that weren't really necessary like a sofa, table & chairs. I thought they could of used that extra space instead to put a bathroom in the rooms. The floor felt dirty when walking barefoot & I felt like they didn't tidy the room properly. Overall the location was the only good thing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyYem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we decided to book posh hotel our last night before flying back to Italy.CBD quarter is very busy and the hotel is near the central station.I have booked a triple room but when we arrived the forgot to add the third bed.The hotel is really very dirty and old,the room has no window and the staff was really bad.The bathroom was the worst I ve ever seen in my life.The price of the room is crazy.We asked the staff to leave pur luggage as our flight was in the evening and they asked 20AUS dollars for each luggage.I really suggest to avoid this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mesabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two days, they took 200 dollars for bonds. After we checked out they called us and accused of us for using their phone to call a national number, WHICH WE DID NOT DO! We argued over the phone for 10 minutes and the person was very unprofessional and had a very bad manner. They took 5 dollars off our bond without notifying us about it nor did they explained to us in detail what was that 5 dollar was for. We were very unhappy about the issue and we filed a complaint against them to the NSW Fair Trading Office awaiting for a response.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jiciliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here with my friend for 2 nights 2nd week of january. I was trying to find a reasonably priced room with a good location. I was able to get a good rate for $119 for a room with shared bathroom. It was not bad since the room was spacious, clean And modern. The common bathrooms were always kept clean and dry. What i enjoyed the most is the location. Its very near central station, chinatown and george st. Overall its good value and a great find. I might be back on my next trip to Sydney

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great Hotel Guys, loved the stay. room was very clean and great security management. room was full of sun light and best thing is that its right opp UTS where i was visiting, its the most valued hotel around the area as other hotels are just tooooooo expensive.


Cool hotel manager, funny guy!

Room Tip: book early and king beds are really modern
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shishaadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We arrived late to the motel due to our flight being cancelled. Despite this not being our fault and contacting them straight away to tell them this, they would not refund out first nights stay. We had no arguments about this. Upon arrival the motel had a written sign out the front - "HOT SPECIAL". Very tacky and probably used to attract hookers. We then had to ring the bell numerous times before someone attended the door. The price we had to pay was $80 more than what said on the website and when I queried the receptionist he ignored me. We got up to our room and it was horrible. The bed wasn't made properly, floor board floors were not clean (I used a wet cloth to wipe them and they were filthy) and we couldn't have out window open unless you wanted the whole world to see you as they were not tinted. The shared bathroom was barely the size of a change room at a clothing shop. I c alled reception to tell them I was extremely unhappy with the room and all the man could tell me was that his manager was "in a meeting". To have a manager that is not contactable during the day is unacceptable. We then had to wait 3 hours to speak to the manager who was the most inhospitable man I have ever met in my life. He was convinced his motel was "very popular" but then said he would not be able to sell the room if he gave us our money back. These pieces of information were very condescending and when I pointed this out his response to everything is "not my fault". The room was simply unbearable to stay in and we chose to go and pay for another motel. The manager refused to give us our money back. So we paid $400 for accommodation we did not touch. I would expect to pay $90 for the accommodation provided. The fact that the manager was so unhelpful really angered me. Due to basiscally donating $400 to this disgusting excuse for a motel (I'd call it a backpackers) we now are left on a very tight budget for the rest of our 3-day trip. DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO RIPPED OFF AND AFRAID OF GETTING SOME FORM OF DISEASE FROM THE FACILITIES.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristieW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#50 of 178 in Sydney
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 178 in Sydney
4,909 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posh Hotel

Address: 8 - 14 Broadway | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $78 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posh Hotel - a Brand NEW top of the range boutique hotel located in Chippendale, 3.5 self rated hotel right next to Central Station, a perfect position when visiting Sydney. We offer 16 rooms with brand new furniture, facilities and genuine hospitality. Posh Hotel is a perfect place for business and leisure travelers. We are close to Chinatown, George Street, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Markets, Darling Harbour, Universities, bars, cafes and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing