We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two day stay with groupon voucher”
Review of Posh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posh Hotel
Ranked #11 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2012

room is clean,we didnt get wine on arrival as was advertised,supposed to get two waters and two drinks in bar fridge,only got one, we asked for room to get fresh towels,that didnt happen.The hosts were friendly enough,but a little false advertising..overall not too bad..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 108Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Posh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 459 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The name 'Posh Hotel' is more ironic than I realised, and maybe I didn't read the listing properly when I booked, but I was expecting a hotel room!
What I found was a flashpackers hostel, and although it wasn't what I expected, I was generally pleased with the quality of the facilities.
The room was large, the bed comfortable, and nicely furnished. Outside there was a large, well-equipped communal kitchen and three tiny bathrooms. These are shared by about 8 rooms and there is a similar provision on each floor.
The room, kitchen and bathrooms were perfectly clean, and this is a great option for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Good small hotel near central station. Limited services in hotel butevrything works. Rooms are nice and new. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My recent stay at the Posh hotel was amazing!! It may not look like much from the outside. but the modern decor as you walked into the room made it felt like 5 star rating. Friendly and helpfully staff on entry top off the experience. Great location with easy access to the transport and walking distance to the CDB! Fair priced hotel rates with complimentary champagne on arrival. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The rooms are nice, we had the family room with an en-suit and the room was ok.The room had two double beds. One was big and looked like a long sofa with a matteres on it but it was really a real bed. The other one was a double bed on wheels so it is imposable to situp on a pillow on the wall because the bed would move hotel was to make money NOT make the people staying there happy.There were fees of 50 dollars (AUD) for not keeping the kitchen clean and phone calls locally were 0.66 cents but to a mobile it was $3.50 per min!!! And the worst thing was that a $ 200 deposit had to be made so that you didn't take anything from the minibar but the minibar had: two snickers bars and two ship packets (witch were not for resale!) and water and solo. It would have had cost $15 all together, you d get your 200 bucks back at the end. On the good points the staff were nice and the rooms are ok. Most room do not have an en-suit and the parking is $30 a day and hard to find.
I would not recomend staying here at all!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVIDBOWE300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My parent was came visitor me in February . They stay in Posh Hotel between 26 February to 4 March 2012 . The first day we walk in to this hotel . We was a little worry . Because the external building looks old ! . But after we open the front door , we change our mind ! It looks mordon. There have door bell you need to press . Because they lock door for security reason . We don't know in the first time we walk in , we been lock at outside ! Lol . When we in reception . Start to check in. The stuff are very friendly and kind . Why ? Coz my mum keeping ask they questions ! They smile and try to answer all the questions if they know !! It is ready good for the people's who first time come to Sydney ! After we walk in to our room we feel shock ! Because it looks so mordon and style ready luxury !!! Ready impress me and my parent ! The location in this hotel is ready good ! It is on main street in city and it is close to station and bus stop . So I can take my parent to go anywhere I want ! There have so many restaurants around this hotel. If you like pub there have 3 around this hotel ! Oh~ the room noise resist is ready good ! At night my parent and me have good sleep ! Between the day we check in there have one big iron man walking around this hotel everyday. We went down to reception to ask who is he , they told me it is perfectional security guard . Because there manager think guest safety and quite live is most important ! Not much hotel have it ! It make my parent feel so safe to stay this hotel. Because they went to New York before. When they are in hotel there is stranger walk in the hotel and knock there door to ask for money !! They did call reception . They told them they can't do anything , just wait for police come !! At weekend we saw someone who sleep on the sofa , we thought it is other rooms guest . We ask reception they say it is ready hard to find a room in Sydney at weekend . So there manager told them if someone walk in ask for room but if they don't have . Try to find the space for them . there manager ready think by guest side ! It is ready impress me ! Anyway my parent and I ready enjoy to stay this hotel !! If you ask me . Will I come back this hotel again ? My parent and I will say yes for so sure !!!! Thank Posh Hotel make my parent ready happy. to visit Sydney !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiachingwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This hotel is worth reviewing as it is not like any other hotel I have stayed in. It has some good points but also a number of bad points. Why anyone would let an interior designer go crazy putting white & lime green leather furniture in a lower end hotel room is beyond me. The furniture is quite new but already has a lot of stains & scuffs. It is going to look quite bad in a few months.
I stayed in a King room on level 2 with use of shared bathrooms.

Good points.
Locaton - very handy
Noise - quieter than expected. Double glazed windows work well.
Staff - whilst not always very knowledgeable, were always very friendly & tried to help.
Price - can get cheap internet deals
Bed - big & comfy

Bad points.
Cleanliness - cockroaches in shared bathrooms & in shared kitchen on level 2. I stayed for 6 days & the kitchen didn't seem to be cleaned once - eg) dirty microwave the whole time. Floor on the room I stayed in was sticky from floor cleaner - I cringed before taking off my shoes. Under & behind the bed there was a cm of dust & unused toiletries from other guests.
Television - broke 3 of the 6 days I was there. Got "fixed" each time but then stopped working again.
Windows - unable to open. No fresh air other than exhaust fan that was quite loud. Felt like being in a fishbowl.
Amenities - no soap supplied in shared bathrooms or any way to dry hands (no paper towels or cloth towels). Bathrooms small. No dishwashing liquid or cloths in kitchen.
Kitchens - very close to rooms, any cooking smells come straight into your room.

I wouldn't stay there again. I would pay more to stay somewhere nicer. For people on a budget - it may suit but you need to be prepared for not having all the niceties you may be used to in a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#50 of 178 in Sydney
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 178 in Sydney
4,909 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posh Hotel

Address: 8 - 14 Broadway | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $78 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posh Hotel - a Brand NEW top of the range boutique hotel located in Chippendale, 3.5 self rated hotel right next to Central Station, a perfect position when visiting Sydney. We offer 16 rooms with brand new furniture, facilities and genuine hospitality. Posh Hotel is a perfect place for business and leisure travelers. We are close to Chinatown, George Street, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Markets, Darling Harbour, Universities, bars, cafes and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing